Etosha National Park

- User Reviews
User Rating
87 Reviews
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Write a User Review
Rating Breakdown
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
0
1 star
0
Sort by: 1-10 of 87 reviews
By Sterna999 from AustriaAT
| 35-50 years of age | Experience level: 2-5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: October 2014  -  Reviewed: 10 Aug 2017

I saw so many impressive animals in such a short time it is just incredible! I hardly got any sleep, not wanting to miss any movements around the moon-lit waterholes at the camps in the NP. Also on the road, you never knew what surprise would come next...

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By Maarten Elings from NetherlandsNL
| 20-35 years of age | Experience level: over 5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
not rated
Visited: November 2016  -  Reviewed: 8 Jun 2017

A multiday adventure in Namibia

When visiting Etosha, try to plan your stay for several days. the park has multiple camps (with bungalows and tent places) from where you can discover the wild life of Etosha.

The Etosha N.P. has several waterholes which, during drought, are roamed by zebra's, giraffes, lions, rhino buffalo, leopards and so on. All these waterholes are near the roads making this is almost a guarantee to see a great variety of animals.

I was in Etosha for 4 days and stayed for the first days at the Okaukuejo camp. On the campsite is a large swimming pool and small stores where you can buy food, drinks and books about the park and animal recognition.
During the day I joined various safari's where you follow the dirt road at slow pace and hold at every waterhole.
This campsite also has its own waterhole. My advice is to visit it after sunset. Its easily accessible and the spectator area is on a rocky hill giving a beautiful overview of the waterhole and area.<br /> This was our first encounter with a leopards who came for a drink.

My second destination was the Halali-camp which also has its own large waterhole. During the day I (obviously) went on safari where we found a pride of Lions. In the evening we went on a 3
5-hour night safari where you go off the road with jeeps and red flashlights.

Overall I enjoyed my stay and will go there again in the future.
... more

  • Black Backed Jackel at Etosha
  • View from Dune45
  • Oryx near our cottage
  • Deadvlei
  • Lioness at Etosha
  • Hyena

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By DSNam from NamibiaNA
| 50-65 years of age | Experience level: over 5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: July 2016  -  Reviewed: 5 Jun 2017

Abundance of wildlife in a vast arid landscape - a unique setting for a nature lover.

The Etosha National Park remains one of the largest natural habitats with a large variety of animals and birds. The scenery is unique with the Etosha Pan (dried lake) to the north and variety of habitats along the southern shoreline. Sunny weather through most of the year provides travelers (and particularly photographers) with great viewing opportunities. Luxury accommodation to basic camping facilities are available. Opportunity to self drive and pace ones trip is an added bonus.

Link to this review 1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By maevagam from FranceFR
| 20-35 years of age | Experience level: first safari
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: June 2016  -  Reviewed: 17 Apr 2017

Etosha is wonderfull !

I stayed 2 days in Etosha national park including 2 nights at one of the campings. It was wonderfull, we saw a lot of animal, elephants, girafes, lion, ... the waterhole at the camping was one of my favorite places in Namibia !

Link to this review 1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By Sas & Rikske from BelgiumBE
| 35-50 years of age | Experience level: 2-5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: February 2017  -  Reviewed: 21 Mar 2017

Fine park must see!!!

We went in the wet season and there were less big animals, I think it’s better in the dry season because they have to come to the water holes.

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By ronmcbride66 from United KingdomGB
| 65 years of age or older | Experience level: 2-5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: September 2016  -  Reviewed: 8 Jan 2017

Etosha National Park, with its waterholes, is a wildlife experience, ideal for a self-drive holiday

Etosha is a vast National Park with 4 lodges within the park (Dolomite; Okaukuejo; Halali and Namutoni, travelling west to east) and a handful just outside the gates. The lodges are government-run and are not at the luxury end of accommodation. The largest is Okaukuejo with its iconic illuminated waterhole. In September we found it to be fairly busy: the accommodation, however, was very good with air conditioning. We were close to the camp site and only a short walk to the waterhole. The food is generally fine and the staff were always pleasant and helpful. The only mild criticism would be that the shop is poorly stocked and geared to campers. We could park our 4x4 right outside our chalet door. Most visitors were self-drive but there were a few huge trucks with 12 or so people on the camp site. Those who didn't wish to drive through the Park took advantage of the various guided tours. In terms of service in Etosha in general, one has to be tolerant. The service in the modern-looking restaurant at Halali was hopeless. It is the wildlife, however, that visitors come to see.

There is no point looking for hippos or crocs: there are none. Leopards and cheetahs are more or less impossible to find without a guide but the herds of elephants; zebra; wildebeest and oryx are superb. Solitary male lions and prides are a great sight, let alone rhinos slowly joining giraffes, elephants, jackals and springbok at the waterholes. The oryx, kudu, impala, Hartebeest and hyenas add to the rich tapestry. Driving along the road there are frequent sightings of Pale Chanting Goshawks; bee eaters and eagles (including the Martial Eagle).

A great thing about Etosha is that traffic is light. At the Goas waterhole there two other vehicles where we watched some 200+ zebras and around 80 kudus drinking: an amazing sight. There was a caracal, but I couldn't spot it. One aspect, rarely mentioned, is the silence at a waterhole: to hear the sound of hooves on stones as zebras approach or the splash of water, the snorting, is enchanting. The roar of a lion is something else! At the waterholes it is so marvellous to see the giraffes, elephant and rhino in particular slowly approaching, unhurried. This is especially so at sunset with the sun behind (the best for this Okaukuejo as night driving is forbidden and proximity to accommodation is vital). The illuminated waterhole at Okaukuejo is amazing at night. The hierarchy of 'rights' can be fascinating. Giraffes take a long time to have the confidence to drink but there was no panic as the roar of a lion filled the air: they stood up, faced one direction with ears pricked and slowly moved off as the lions approached.

The scenery in Etosha is nothing spectacular, of course, being fairly flat. The salt pan can be very dramatic with, perhaps, a dozen ostriches crossing the blazing white salt. There are many areas of bush and of light woodland in which one might suddenly come across a herd of 100 or so zebra: this type of vista is as compelling as seeing a herd in the open. To drive for ten minutes seeing little and then to see a male lion under a thorn bush or indeed a rhino is amazing. There is a degree of luck involved, of course as they can easily be missed. The herds of elephants are dramatic. In some areas they are very dark coloured, in others almost white from dust from the salt pan.

Amazingly, there a few small saloon cars around. A 4x4 would be the norm, giving height and ability to cope better with the rougher roads (the roads around the Goas waterhole were very rough but OK in a 4x4). The Park is so dramatic that after a 3 night stay, we stayed outside the eastern gate and re-entered it for another half day. If visiting Namibia and doing 'the circuit' over a fortnight, do finish the trip with Etosha rather than begin it ... leave the (fantastic) country on a high.
... more

  • Elephants at Okaukuejo
  • Rhino at Okaukuejo
  • Goas waterhole, Etosha

Link to this review 1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By Eduardo Canut from SpainES
| 20-35 years of age | Experience level: 2-5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: September 2016  -  Reviewed: 8 Nov 2016

Best place on earth to see black rhinos. Okaukuejo waterhole is the best waterhole on earth (saw 3 of 5 big 5, lion, black rhino and elephant). Clear routes. Depends on the time you drive, is hardly to see good sightings. Possibility to see rare sightings like Rock Monitor Lizard.

Link to this review 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By mymaroundtheworld from SwitzerlandCH
| 20-35 years of age | Experience level: first safari
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
not rated
Visited: May 2016  -  Reviewed: 16 Oct 2016

Outstanding Experience

Etosha National Park is quite a unique place - we got to see a lot of animals in their natural habitat. One morning when we left very early (6ish) from one of the camps we even saw a leopard perched on a tree, enjoying the scenic view (or maybe eyeing a kudu ...). We can really recommend staying several days in the camps, as there are water holes at each camp and animals do really show up at those. We even saw two rhinos at a waterhole at night (around 9pm) so patience really pays off.

Link to this review 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By Dr Aurelio Ruiz from Puerto RicoPR
| 50-65 years of age | Experience level: first safari
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
not rated
Birding
Visited: September 2016  -  Reviewed: 15 Oct 2016

Wild life as a best; jiraffes, zebras, wildbeasts and antilopes . Only place to see rhinos

Hotels are not prepared for kind services, specially in the restaurants.
The Park is a large one with more than 74 holes, manmade and naturals, where are the best places to see wildlife.
It was my first Safari, but I am looking to compare this one, with information in the web with Kruger National Park in South Africa and the Serengetti y Gorongoro in Safari of Kenya and Tanzania. All have its peculiar enchantments. If you are looking to obtain a real african experience in the wilderness, this is one of the places

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By Huali from United StatesUS
| 50-65 years of age | Experience level: first safari
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: August 2016  -  Reviewed: 28 Sep 2016

A wildlife paradise

First and foremost, the types of wildlife I saw in Etosha Park were greatly varied. To list, there were many zebras, giraffes, elephants, rhinos, kudu, springbok, steenbok, wildebeest, red hartebeest, oryx, and ostriches. As it was wintertime, there was a scarcity of water around the park, so it was easy to see lots of animals gathered at the watering holes. I was told that there are also many leopards and lions in the park, but as I only spent two days there, I did not have enough time to see them.

I stayed at Halali camp, which was at the center of the park. It was at a good location with a waterhole nearby, but the rooms, especially the bathroom facilities, were old. I heard from others that there are better accommodations near the entrances of the park.

The park offers "game drives" twice a day, for 3 hours, for 500 Namibian dollars. These are very convenient, and you can make reservations for them upon arrival.

Link to this review 1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

SafariBookings Expert Panel

Our panel of 22 experts wrote a total of 969 reviews about the countries and parks we cover.