Namibia

- User reviews
User Rating
89 Reviews
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Write a User Review
Rating Breakdown
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
0
1 star
0
Sort by: 1-10 of 89 reviews
By Sterna999 from AustriaAT
| 35-50 years of age | Experience level: 2-5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: October 2014  -  Reviewed: 10 Aug 2017

It is just great. Great animals (big, small, reptiles, ... and of course: birds! great mountains and rock formations, and the clouds added a lot of atmosphere - see my photos to know what I mean!

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By Manami from JapanJP
| 50-65 years of age | Experience level: 2-5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: April 2017  -  Reviewed: 11 Jun 2017

The safari in Namibia is absolute one of the best choices in Africa!

I attended 10-day camping safari conducted by Wild Dog Safari with my husband in the middle of April 2017, which was just before the peak season. Weather was generally good, good sunshine in daytime and a bit cooler in evening. So good for tourist as we just needed light clothes(short sleeves with light jacket).
What I impressed firstly was the special safari truck which is remodelled the 4t truck for camping use. All camping equipment such as tents, cooking equipment, tables & chairs are well packed. Basically the camping life is to look around safari or sightseeing spots by the truck, park camping site, put tents, spend overnight, shut down tents, then move to another location. It was a bit busy, but we could have short rests during driving in the truck, which is one of the advantages to join such a group tour.
As for transportation, Namibia's main roads are mostly asphalt paved (though we passed some rattled roads), it was quite OK even for senior people, over 60 years old. Every two hours, we had a short break for washroom. If there are no proper facilities, we sometimes used bush washroom :)
During these 10 days, we visited the most of major spots. Namibia, not like other African countries, has varieties of beautiful sceneries such as desert, coast, rocky mountain and bush. Especially I was so impressed by the beauty of Namib desert, its colour and scale. We had also some joyful activities. Quad bike and Camel riding in Namib desert, chatting and playing with Himba tribe children and women.
In the middle of 10 days, we lodged at the hotel for 2 nights, that gave us a break to sleep in bed, time for washing clothes and eating in restaurants as all meals during camping are cooked by the camping staff. It was also good for the camping staff to have a rest to survive the rest of camping days.
Our tour main guide and the assistant were wonderful and friendly. All the time, they gave us the sufficient information and lovely chatting. For me or may all tourists, they are almost representative of Namibian as there was less opportunities to talk with local people during the camping tour. It was also benefit to have interactions with the camping tour mates from different countries, then expand network around the world.
... more

Link to this review 1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By Susan from CanadaCA
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
not rated
Visited: February 2017  -  Reviewed: 10 Jun 2017

Skip the rainy season

Andersson's Camp was fine, though the absence of field guide books in the common area was disappointing. The food was good, cabin comfy. The private park around it was good value for animal viewing, despite downpours. Etosha in the rainy season was disappointing at several levels. Few animals, military vehicles speeding down the main road, dismal little museum. It was hard to grasp the history of the place, like which animals are native, which are introduced. Guide seemed reticent to handle questions of context. And be forewarned: there are no meerkats in Namibia.

Link to this review 1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By Auriol Langen from FranceFR
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: March 2017  -  Reviewed: 9 Jun 2017

The grand tour of Namibia

The tour Nature Travel Namibia put together for us was undoubtedly one of the best touring holidays we have ever had, helped no end by the fact that I wasnt doing any driving!
Namibia is a fascinating country of so many contrasts, and stunning scenery. Having lived in South Africa for many years, and understanding weather and drought conditions, it was wonderful to see the country looking so green and lush, and even a river or two with water in them! We also understood why there was so remarkably little game to be seen in the Etosha. (A first time visitor wanting to see game would have been very disappointed) But we also knew when we booked it was not the prime time of year to be coming. I was not convinced about doing the 'Living Desert Tour' but it was the most fascinating and informative morning!
Jakes was in all respects a marvellous guide, safe driver, and so attentive and considerate of all our needs before we even realised we had any. He is passionate about the country, and with his farming background, so knowledgeable and interested in all aspects of ecology, flora and fauna. He is a very interesting dinner conversationalist; we tend to have an insatiable curiosity about countries we visit, not just what we are looking at, but also about the people and their thoughts, politics and attitudes and history.
He is also obviously a very popular guide and visitor to all the lodges we stayed in, Always a great welcome on our arrival, all the staff know him and would go out of their way to do anything for him and for us.
The Belvedere was in all respects far more comfortable than the Hilton, and as we joined up with another guest, we had a most amusing evening at the 'Stellenbosch Wine Bar and Restaurant'
All the other hotels and lodges were excellent, rooms comfortable, food good and all situated in amazing environments.
... more

Link to this review 1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By Maarten Elings from NetherlandsNL
| 20-35 years of age | Experience level: over 5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
not rated
Visited: November 2016  -  Reviewed: 8 Jun 2017

We drove from cape town all along the coast to Namibia. As we left SA behind us trees and bushes slowly disappeared and made place for the vast desert of Namibia. Heading north the scenery changed back again as it became more green.
No matter the landscape you will find wildlife like Oryxes and Zebra’s everywhere.

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By DSNam from NamibiaNA
| 50-65 years of age | Experience level: over 5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: July 2016  -  Reviewed: 5 Jun 2017

For the nature lover there isn't many other destinations that provide it all - wildlife, birding, scenic beauty and the bush experience. A vast country with arid landscape of the Namib, forested areas in the northeast and the unique bush experience of the Kalahari.

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By ronmcbride66 from United KingdomGB
| 65 years of age or older | Experience level: 2-5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: September 2016  -  Reviewed: 8 Jan 2017

The country is vast and sparsely populated. It is SAFE. The road system is good. The country has an amazing diversity with vast sand dunes, coastal experiences along the Skeleton Coast, beautiful mountains and Etosha. Accommodation ranges from camping, guest farms and lodges, some of which are really top-of-the-range: one at Doro Nawas, may have 7 light aircraft on its airstrip. Trips thus can be self-drive or fly-in ... or a personal guide can drive visitors around. The experience is breath-taking. The urban centres of Windhoek and Swakopmund are interesting with a pleasant ambience.

Link to this review 1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By Ben from United KingdomGB
| 20-35 years of age | Experience level: first safari
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: November 2016  -  Reviewed: 10 Dec 2016

Namibia - 3 Day Desert Safari

We did the 3 day desert Safari. Had a fantastic time - this is certainly an experience not to miss. The guides were very knowledgeable and helpful. The food was good. As someone who hates camping, I found this part of the trip tolerable. Shower block was clean.


Link to this review 1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By Eduardo Canut from SpainES
| 20-35 years of age | Experience level: 2-5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: September 2016  -  Reviewed: 8 Nov 2016

Is a country full of contrasts and ideal to make your own self drive dream trip. Best place on earth to see black rhinos (Okaukuejo waterhole, the best waterhole on earth). Other places like Aus (wild horses) or Erindi private game reserve are very very recomendable.

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By mymaroundtheworld from SwitzerlandCH
| 20-35 years of age | Experience level: first safari
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
not rated
Visited: May 2016  -  Reviewed: 16 Oct 2016

Namibia was incredible, the nature is nothing short of spectacular. We loved Etosha National Park and, quite a bit farther south, Walvis Bay, but there's so much more to see. The infrastructure in general is great for Africa, so if this is your first time on the continent, this is a great place to start.

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

SafariBookings Expert Panel

Our panel of 22 experts wrote a total of 969 reviews about the countries and parks we cover.