The reviews below are moderated by SafariBookings.com, not Kusini Safaris.
69 reviews:
5.0 / 5 stars
69 reviews, showing 1-10

By SN on 26 Aug 2021
US | Age: 35-50 | Experience: first safari
Master trip crafter!
Rating:

When I started our family trip to Tanzania in early 2020, I took quotes from two companies including Paul Tickner's Kusini Safaris. I was pretty impressed by Paul's firsthand experience with the lodges and itinerary that he was recommending to us and decided to go with him for our trip. Of course, thanks to COVID, we had to postpone our trip at least two times and finally got to make it in August ... Read more2021. Paul's patience in planning and replanning the trip was commendable at this iffy time. I cannot even count the number of back and forth exchanges we had over these past months and Paul was always available to respond.

As for the trip itself, Kusini had planned it with incredible attention to detail, and it went off without a single hitch including airport transfers, special diets, and the necessary Covid tests. The Nomad lodges that Paul recommended were everything that he had described to us and more, and I'm so glad we went with his recommendations for our itinerary. Each day of the trip was exhilarating to say the least, and we have come back home filled with unforgettable memories and the desire to return someday. I recommend Kusinini very highly to anyone considering a safari trip to Africa.

By Frank on 23 Aug 2021
US | Age: 50-65 | Experience: 2-5 safaris
Paul made sure we had the most amazing EPIC adventure possible. Every day was was extraordinary.
Rating:

Paul just gets it. There is a level of competence, capability, experience, service orientation, communication skills, reliability and detail focus where you know you are in the hands of a consummate professional. We saw more animals than we expected, were in a better position than other tours to see things than many missed or didn't see as well because of his knowledge, experience, connections an ... Read mored ability to bring it all together. It was a great trip and I will be back with Paul as my guide.

By Marv Weidner on 23 Aug 2021
US | Age: 65+ | Experience: 2-5 safaris
Epic Two-Country Safari - Namibia & Tanzania
Rating:

Epic Two-Country Safari!!!

My aspiration was to safari extensively in Nambia, travel back to Tanzania for a second time to see friends at Chem Chem, and spend time on the northern Serengeti near the Mara River for the crossings. Paul converted my dream, my aspiration, into reality. While Paul is clearly a Tanzania expert, I spent two flawless weeks in Namibia at great lodges with outstanding ... Read moreguides tracking desert Rhino and Lion, spotting desert-adjusted Elephants and Giraffe, visiting a traditional Himba village near one of the most remote lodges in southern Africa, and learning about the remarkable conservation efforts in Namibia. In Tanzania, Paul met me at Lamai on the Sarengeti as my private guide where we enjoyed epic game drives, Leopards and Lions nursing cubs, Hippos, Crocs, my favorite bird – Ground Hornbills - and so much more. His exceptional expertise as a safari planner is exceeded only by his abilities as a Tanzanian guide. Paul is simply the best in the business and now a good friend. Thank you! A fantastic safari!

By Mike and Kathryn on 21 Aug 2021
US | Age: 50-65 | Experience: 2-5 safaris
10 Happy Campers
Rating:

From beginning to end this safari exceeded all our expectations! For weeks before we left for Africa, Paul made sure we had all the information we needed to make this a successful trip. Ours was a large group of 10 and our trip was two weeks long. While we're sure at times it felt like herding cats, Paul did a fantastic job of coordinating everything from transportation to camp arrangements and fo ... Read moreod needs. We found Paul to be super knowledgeable not just about the animals, flora and fauna but also about the history, people and customs of the places we visited. Our evening sundowners were a highlight as well as the camaraderie and laughter at the dinner table every evening! Paul's friendly and outgoing personality made the trip of a lifetime just that much more special. We will find a way to get back to Africa and can't imagine using any other company but Kusini Safaris.

By Kathy and Phil on 13 Jul 2021
US | Age: 65+ | Experience: 2-5 safaris
An outstanding experience with Paul Tickner in Zimbabwe...
Rating:

This safari was our fifth time in Africa but our first experience in Zimbabwe. It was a huge success, due in large part to Paul Tickner's expertise and the efforts he put into planning and execution. There were 10 in our group...some were experienced Africa hands and three were on their first safari. Everyone in our group had a five-star experience.

Each of our four camp locations was uniq ... Read moreue but each was characterized by outstanding staff, facilities, and food/beverage. Transportation logistics are often slip-shod on safaris, but that was not the case here...our transportation between venues was outstanding, with no negative surprises. Paul's knowledge of the animals and birds made for an educational as well as entertaining experience, and his affable personality and manner were a plus. Our group of Texan travelers appreciated the fact that he mastered our "Howdy, y'all" form of greeting!

All in all, this was a wonderful experience and represented good value for our dollar. We would recommend Paul Tickner to anyone considering travel in Africa.

By Kathy and Richard Kimbrough on 9 Jul 2021
US | Age: 65+ | Experience: over 5 safaris
The Best in the Business
Rating:

In June we traveled with Kusini Safaris to Zimbabwe. This was our second safari with Kusini, our first being in Tanzania. Both Safaris with Kusini have been the absolutely best of the 6 safaris that we have been on. They both surpassed our expectations...the best game, best camps, best gourmet food, and the greatest adventure...all done with meticulous detail. We would never use another operator ! ... Read more!! We Love Paul Tickner!!!!!!

By Annie Graham on 9 Jul 2021
US | Age: 65+ | Experience: over 5 safaris
Amazing Tour Guide
Rating:

My husband and I have had the opportunity to take six trips to Africa. We have gone on safari in six countries. Our latest trip was to Zimbabwe with Kusini Safaries. Paul Tickner is by far the best guide that we have traveled with. His knowledge of the flora, fauna and general history of the areas visited was spot on. His easy demeanor and charming personality made the trip a success. We loo ... Read morek forward to traveling with him in the future!

By Birgit Vilippus on 2 Dec 2019
EE | Age: 35-50 | Experience: first safari
Great experience with great people! Must repeat!
Rating:

We were two families who went first time to Africa. We were extremely lucky finding Paul Tickner who planned us very nice trip to Ruaha and Selous. With his experience and contacts in Tanzania you do not have to worry. About anything. Just wake up when it is told. Our itinerary looked very nice and reality exceeded the expectations. For us, mostly novice in Africa, the web based read ahead package ... Read more was very informative and useful. All in all, the preparations went with ease. And one should not be worried if Paul is not answering quickly. He might be in the bush and there is very limited internet access. Which is good. You can focus on the wildlife.
Ruaha and Selous are hidden gems in Tanzania. There is a lot to see and very few people to see it. Every drive we did was with pumping into something new and had different experience. The vehicles were very comfortable and some snack and cold drink (also some GT or beer) was always available. Just enjoyable!
I will not describe what we saw or what we did not, as this is the main reason to go there and see it yourself! I can tell that there is a lot to see, hear and smell. Day and night.
Another great aspect on our trip was that Paul himself agreed to join us as guide. However, the local people are very trustworthy. It was very easy to establish good relationship with everyone and it felt that you are on the adventure with punch of friends. Every guide had its own stories to tell.
One thing I can suggest is to have honest expectations, tell who you are, where are your standards and surely you will be suggested where to go and which camp to use for accommodation.
By the end of our trip to bush, we were overwhelmed and started to talk when to come back. Moreover, we are waiting when we can host Paul and show him one, 100 years young country he has not visited :)

Reply from Kusini Safaris:

We even send someone to wake you up at the right time Birgit, and they bring coffee! And yes you are totally right, people should not worry if I don't reply quickly, I might be in the bush with my Estonian friends.

You make a great point Birgit about preparations and expectations, we had great discussion before the safari so we could make sure the group got what they wanted and more from the saf... Read moreari. I had a wonderful time and it was really a privilege to meet you all and share Selous and Ruaha with you.

I'm super excited to come to Estonia one day, in the summer though! We'll talk about your next safari then.

By Marc Axelrod on 15 Oct 2019
US | Age: 65+ | Experience: first safari
So many wonderful memories and stories - Thank you Paul Tickner!!
Rating:

Paul Tickner made our vacation animal safari very easy. We just had to show up. At every stop someone was waiting for us to take us to the next place, and those places were all amazing. We saw so many interesting and beautiful animals and experienced the African bush really, really up close. Everyone we met was helpful and friendly. The bush camps that Paul picked for us were all very comfort ... Read moreable and the service friendly and accommodating. Our experience was deeply satisfying and it was no accident - we owed it all to Paul's experience, good taste and desire to share the world that he has come to know and love.

Reply from Kusini Safaris:

Wow, what a lovely thing to say Marc. We're so glad you enjoyed your safari. Hope to see you guys in Tanzania again one day!?

By Elizabeth Axelrod on 28 Sep 2019
US | Age: 50-65 | Experience: first safari
Fabulous safari. Great lodgings and Guides combined with unforgettable animal encounters
Rating:

We had a fabulous trip to Tanzania! Everything worked like clockwork. We were picked up, dropped off, and told of our scheduled times. Everyone was well informed and so welcoming. The accomodations were great..good food, good people and knowledgeble guides. We felt well cared for and welcomed. And we saw an amazing array of wildlife with beautiful sunrises and sunsets.

It is an experience we al ... Read moreways remember.

Reply from Kusini Safaris:

Thank you Elizabeth, that's exactly what we all work for. You're always welcome in Tanzania.