SafariBookings has received complaints from clients about Seven By Far Travel.

Reviews

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 260 Reviews
Alex Doff   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 25, 2024

Email Alex Doff  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

My family memorable vacation
5/5

My family is grateful for making our 6 day hakuna matata safari memorable, To our Guide , Hassan and Sylvester from the office, we are so happy and we pray that you're company will bounce back after the online war that is going on, please remain focused, we are also happy you shared to us, As a family we wish you the very best and count on us on our future travel to Eastern Africa, We strongly recommend Seven By Far

Hilary   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 23, 2024

Email Hilary

Sensational experience the most wonderful holiday combination safari & beach highly recommended
5/5

A wonderful holiday planned with exceptional detail which far exceeded our expectations. we were not expecting the balloon flight or a visit to the Maasai village both fantastic additions. Our guide Evans was like having a driving internet but much more thank you Evans we learned so much about Kenya traditions culture & wildlife. The accommodation at all destinations was excellent and so clean I highly recommend this holiday it may not be the cheapest on the market but it certainly is worth every penny

Ryan   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 8, 2024

Email Ryan  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A perfect honeymoon safari in Kenya and Tanzania
5/5

My wife and I originally booked a trip last year for 6 day safari starting in Tanzania up into Kenya but ended up having to postpone til January of this year. Seven by far was able to rebook everything without any change in price and even able to reverse the itinerary to fit our travel plans.

The trip ended up being the most incredible experience we could have ever imagined. Both drivers, David and Cosmas, were informative, friendly and a pleasure to spend 6 days with. The transportation in a very comfortable toyota land cruiser was relaxing traveling in the parks and between destinations, even on some very rough roads. The highlight of the trips other than the thousands (yes,thousands) of animals we were lucky enough to see were the accommodations that Seven by Far booked for us. We stayed in 4 different lodges/tented camps and every single place, even the tented camp hours into the Serengeti, were equivalent to a 5 star hotels service, amenities and cuisine.

The only issue we ran into was looking for an exact itinerary in advance of our trip but after speaking with our drivers it made sense. The weather plays a huge factor in the optimal areas to see as much wild life as possible. Also the accessibility of certain lodges during heavy rains makes booking months in advance tough. Seven by Far did a great job on putting together a trip of a life time and cant wait to get back!

KT   –  
Poland PL
Visited: June 2023 Reviewed: Dec 30, 2023

Email KT  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Great experience
5/5

It was my second safari with SbF. Again, my experience was nothing short of amazing.
Although there was some minor issues during safari, Sylvester was always there to work things out.
From the start till the end I found Seven by far as a professional, kind and supportive.
Special shout out to our fantastic guide Evans. All the best for you man!

Gaurav   –  
United Arab Emirates AE
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Dec 3, 2023

Email Gaurav  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Gaurav and not that of SafariBookings.
Terrible Experience with Seven By Far Tour Agency - Beware of Scams and Unprofessionalism
1/5

We recently returned from a safari trip to Kenya with Seven By Far Tour Agency, and my experience was nothing short of a nightmare. Having had a fantastic trip with them last year(and gave a glowing review), we blindly chose them again, only to be deeply disappointed this time.

From the moment Sylvester, the owner, received the payment, his behavior turned suspicious and scammy. The originally planned stay at Kempinski Resort in Masai Mara, which I had specifically chosen, was not booked as promised. Despite multiple follow-ups, Sylvester only managed to arrange the flights but messed up the visa process until the very last moment.

To make matters worse, the Kempinski Resort, which Sylvester repeatedly confirmed as booked, turned out to be sold out. He then suggested another hotel, which, upon verification, was never confirmed either. Subsequently, he tried passing off a random lodge as a 5-star property and expected us to pay three times the standard rates. Thankfully, I verified this directly with the hotel and found his claim false.

As a last resort, we contacted the Kenya police, who instructed Sylvester to fulfill the original agreement. We reluctantly settled for Keekorok Lodge, which was far from our initial choice. Sylvester had agreed, in both conversations and with the police, to refund $1080, but upon landing in Kenya, he continually postponed the payment date. In the end, he only paid half, citing a dubious withholding tax for the remainder, which I suspect is a form of financial fraud.

Our tour guide, Hassan, was the only bright spot throughout this ordeal. His professionalism and commitment ensured we had an excellent safari experience despite the agency's shortcomings. He is knowledgeable, can spot animals from miles away, and is always mindful to give them space. I wholeheartedly recommend Hassan to anyone planning a trip to Mara.

In light of these issues, we are filing a formal complaint with the Kenya Police against Seven By Far Tour Agency and its owner, Sylvester. Based on our harrowing experience, I strongly advise fellow travelers to steer clear of this agency to avoid potential scams and unprofessional conduct.

Note: This review is based on factual experiences and is intended as a cautionary tale for other travelers.

(screenshots removed for privacy reasons)

Reply from Seven By Far Travel
Reply from Seven By Far Travel
Posted on Dec 4, 2023

Dear Traveller 
We appreciate your review, though sometimes it's good to be factual, rather than negative energy.

1, Initially, you were booked for Olale mara, and rates for the property changed and on our end we tried to request for a special rate, and this was denied , which we advised you , that an additional  USD 3000 would be required, which you requested us to pay as a favour in exchange for more business , on our side, we were unable to help on your request.

2,Following this , you requested us to reserve for your Keekorok lodge a lower category , and you went ahead and checked the rates online and we billed you everything at net rate, plus transport &  park fee.

3, We also agreed that we will refund the overpayment as you were unable to top up,

4,Refund : was done per below, 
Amount Paid:USD4,039.00 Deductions
Bank charges:USD(20.00)
Transport cost USD(1,000.00)
Park fee USD(840.00)
Accommodation USD(1,152.00)
Service fee : Seven By Far 5% of the total package cost USD(201.95)

Total withheld taxes following income declaration USD(242.34) 

Total expenses USD (3,456.29) 
Total Refundable amount:  done on 2nd Dec23 USD582.71  

5,Please despite the negative trends sometimes its good to fair on your review

7,We are doing all we can to ensure were are back on track fellow traveller 

Liu   –  
China CN
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Nov 29, 2023

Email Liu  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Liu and not that of SafariBookings.
Don’t choose Seven by far as your Kenya tour agency
1/5

This was an extremely disappointing service experience. Shocking, Unbelievable,infuriating and even desperate.
Seven by far is an untrustworthy, extremely unprofessional company that only good at avoiding responsibilities.Complete lack of credit and integrity. I strongly advise everyone to never choose seven by far as your agency to Kenya and Tanzania. They will ruin everything!
Imagine what kind of experience it is when you are in a completely strange environment, in a strange country, without any preparation,BUT can't reach your travel agent.We felt so helpless!They didn’t even pay the accomodation money to the hotel!We certainly had the ability to take the initiative to resolve some of the issues, and in fact we did, under duress, because if we didn't act, our entire vacation plans would go down the drain. But what about our pre-agreed contract? We gave an offer and you accepted it, and since you accepted it, it means that you should have the ability to arrange everything within the budget, right?No one forced you to accept it, we paid for it, but then you played the disappearing act and just left us four girls in a camp that was downgraded without any prior notice. Instead of being able to enjoy our vacation and have fun every day, we have to act as seven by far’s employees and solve THEIR business problems. May I ask if Seven by far will pay us a salary?
The truth is that there was already an sign of this during the pre-negotiation of the trip and budget, and after we paid the deposit, SEVEN BY FAR's attitude took a 180 degree turn, Mr.Sylvester blocked me on WhatsApp,just to intimidate us into thinking that they were going to run away with the money at any moment, what a ridiculously childish act! Unbelievable!
During our travels in Africa, seven by far repeatedly defaulted on payments to our partner companies, drivers, guides, and hotels, causing our trip to be irreparably affected. (FYI this is not the first time seven by far has done this.) There was even fake money involved, I am speechless.Not mention that they downgraded our accommodation many times without any prior notice.
When we finally met with the person in charge of seven by far, the lady promised us that she would compensate us, and then we also negotiated the amount of the payout on WhatsApp (although the amount could hardly make up for our loss), but after all this time we still haven't gotten the money, and Mr.Sylvester would only say over and over again that it's being processed, so please bear with them.
So one of us posted a bad review on safari booking and guess what?Mr.Sylvester quickly contacted us and said no more compensation. Haha! What a shameless and unrepentant businessman!
You are a shame of Kenya.

Reply from Seven By Far Travel
Reply from Seven By Far Travel
Posted on Dec 7, 2023

Dear Travel Partner First, I would like to say thank you for choosing Seven by Far Tours to be your service providers during your safari. We would like to offer our deepest apologies for the trouble you had to experience during your safari with us only of the Tanzania sector . This situation is not ordinary and these incidents are not typical of us. We are very serious when it comes to our client’s satisfaction and have zero tolerance policy in this respect. Please accept our sincere apologies for all the bumps you have encountered during your tour especially in Tanzania, Also, owing to this we have taken measures to ensure this will happen again. In regards to the refund after calculations were done from your BUDGET SAFARI on our end ,we went out of our way to make you happy by upgrading you , and when you choose to cancel and amend a section on the safari while on progress, this cost us a lot, and suppliers passed a 100% cancellation charge on us, while on our end we absorbed the cost hence the reason the refund was recalled recalled Once again, we are sorry following the turn on events, we tried our best to assist

With kind Regards
Hanson

Jenny   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Nov 28, 2023

Email Jenny  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Jenny and not that of SafariBookings.
Updates after previous post: They kept LYING and NO WAY to refund you
1/5

It took us 2 months to back and forth negotiate with Seven by far for the refund after the nightmare trip. After we reached agreement on the amount, they used all the excuses to delay the refund and finally AVIODED our calls/msgs. We shared our experience here with 1 star rating(Refer to our previous Post for the details " For your own safety and money worth, DON'T choose this fraud"), then they IMMEDIATELY send message to us to inform that they CANCELLED our refund because of the 1 star rating post.

They lied all the time. In the trip, they kept saying whatever missed in the trip, they would refund, but they did not. After the trip, they agreed on the refund and kept saying they were processing it, but they did not. Now just because we were TELLING THE TRUTH to disclosure their terrible service, they were mad on and don't refund us.

Reply from Seven By Far Travel
Reply from Seven By Far Travel
Posted on Dec 7, 2023

Dear Travel Partner First, I would like to say thank you for choosing Seven by Far Tours to be your service providers during your safari. We would like to offer our deepest apologies for the trouble you had to experience during your safari with us only of the Tanzania sector . This situation is not ordinary and these incidents are not typical of us. We are very serious when it comes to our client’s satisfaction and have zero tolerance policy in this respect. Please accept our sincere apologies for all the bumps you have encountered during your tour especially in Tanzania, Also, owing to this we have taken measures to ensure this will happen again. In regards to the refund after calculations were done from your BUDGET SAFARI on our end ,we went out of our way to make you happy by upgrading you , and when you choose to cancel and amend a section on the safari while on progress, this cost us a lot, and suppliers passed a 100% cancellation charge on us, while on our end we absorbed the cost hence the reason the refund was recalled recalled Once again, we are sorry following the turn on events, we tried our best to assist

With kind Regards
Hanson

Jenny   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Nov 24, 2023

Email Jenny  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Jenny and not that of SafariBookings.
For your own safety and money worthy, DON'T choose this fraud
1/5

I and my friends (4 persons) booked the 14 days Kenya&Tanzania trip(Sep 10 - Sep 23), and the whole trip became a nightmare since Day 6 until the end. Below are what happened to us, which might happen on you too. For your own safety and money worthy, NEVER EVER choose Seven by Far.

1. Became the hostage in the wilderness:
Seven by Far outsourced our Tanzania part to the local tour agency without telling us, and had payment issues with the local agency. The local agency refused to provide the service unless they received the full payments from Seven by Far. During the time, Seven by far just left us there. We had to communicate and negotiate with the local agency and pushed Seven to talk with THEIR OWN agency. They had the same payment issues with the Safari camp, the camp hold us there because they also did not receive the full payment. Instead of sending money to the camp, Seven asked us to pay the rest by our own and said they would refund us at the end of trip. This mess last 4 days and we lost 5 safari drives in Serengeti and had to change our rest of trip. In those 4 days, we were sucked there in anxiety and nervous and had to keep calling Seven by Far to resolve their own payment issues, but they just left us there. At the end, the Camp argued with Seven by Far and finally got full payment and allow us leave, and we paid by our own to the local tour agency to move our trip forward.

2. Never notify you when they made change in your trip:
They changed our accommodation from North Serengeti to Central Serengeti without any notification, downgraded from Rive Camp to Ikoma Camp for 2 nights, also downgraded the accommodation from AA lodge(4 stars) to the Kamala camp(1 star) for 2 nights in Amboseli. After we called them, their explanation was the original accommodations were not available. But should you notify the customers in advance instead of directly throwing the customers to a place they never expect?

3. Same story again, suck in any place you never expect:
In last day, Seven by Far booked the local driver to take us to the airport. Same story again that the local driver said they did not receive full payment so they would not provide us the transportation to the airport. We called Seven by far multiples times, they can't resolve it, then we paid our own to catch the flight.

4. Refund?
2 hrs before our flight, they showed us a paper and said they would refund. Since we were back from the trip, we spend 1 month to negotiate with them and finally reached agreement on the refund amount $1857. Then another round battle start, they kept saying they were processing the refund but until today(Nov 24), we did not receive even 1 penny and they become unreachable.

Joseph James   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Nov 23, 2023

Email Joseph James  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

African experience by far
5/5

From the time we landed to the time we were dropped at the airport,we felt comfortable and my daughters were in tears to leave the beautiful east Africa.Hassan special thanks for making my family happy on the Kenya sector. Cosmos the tanzanian safari master my family has the best memory.Value your money by choosing to book with Sylvester and the team.

YANG MENG HAN   –  
Taiwan TW
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Nov 21, 2023

Email YANG MENG HAN  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of YANG MENG HAN and not that of SafariBookings.
Terrible
1/5

I think Seven by Far Tours is a cheat agent. They didn’t apply VISA for me, so I can't get into Kenya. They promised me they would return my money 1795 USD, but they always said they were processing now. It has been three months, I still haven’t gotten my money. If you want to go to Kenya Safari, don’t consider this agent. I think they are cheaters.

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Seven By Far Travel, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Seven By Far Travel are subject to their terms & conditions