Great Safari With some minor hiccups by the Driver
First of all, I would like to thank Sylvester for offering us such a fabulous Safari.
The hotels & the plans were spot on. I am also thankful to his recommendations for the safari itinerary, and saving timing by not doing back-tracking.
Our Hotel selection was fabulous for the package that we opted for. And we felt that everything went as per the plan :)
Minor Hiccups (Driver : Pascal):
1. The driver would take unnecessary stops & waste time at Curio shops, expecting us to buy stuff, despite telling him that we didn't want to.
2. There was no WiFi offered by the driver, despite Sylvester confirming that he has the device.
3. There was only 1 pack of 20 1/2ltr bottles being shared by the two of us & the driver, and that ran out on day3 (of our 7 day safari), we had to spend a lot on buying from the hotels.
4. The driver wanted an evening off (on easter eve') on our stay at Naivasha. We were happy to skip our boat ride & allowed him to go back and spend time with the family.
Despite us being considerate, having him join us for meals all the time, offering him wine & beer after all game drives, he fooled us on the last day by making us skip the safari at Amboseli in the morning. Which we later found out made him save a full day's park fee! We kinda felt cheated.
This was discussed with Sylvester on our meeting before the flight, and he agreed to investigate.
Sylvester also mentioned that he will take action against the driver & offered us refunds for unused safari/park fees/resources - if the driver is found guilty - as they have GPS trackers and can confirm his holiday & skipping the game-drive. The investigation led to our facts being True.
But it's been 4 months+, Sylvester hasn't carried out any refunds as promised, even after regular follow-ups.
I feel its a Great experience being in Kenya which in itself is a 5-star experience. I would have given a 5-star rating if the post-safari experience was Prompt & Professional as well.
These minor hiccups surely are something which can be avoided by paying attention to details and making sure the Drivers & Managers don't want to make these minor cost-cutting stunts.
Reply from Seven By Far Travel
Posted on Oct 9, 2017
Hello Ramit ,Thank you very much for the feedback you gave on your experience with our company and the staff.
we are very happy you experience excellent services on your life time experience on African wildlife in Kenya .
Header start'''Great safari,,,,,'' what does this mean?..mean:excellent
We apologize and sorry on behalf of Seven By far that there we some hiccups with our guide ,we take any positive and Negative review to improve the quality of our services to our clients, Sir I want to confirm for you as per earlier discussion before you flew back home , we were investigate the matter , and we didn't find any wrong doing by our guide and below are the reasons
Sir, your review online claiming you did not received water when our cooler boxes mounted in every of our safari vehicle, when that provision is mandatory and our MD PERSONALLY bought 05 dozen of water i.e 12 bottles of 500ml of drinking water , remember your we only doing a safari for 06 days, thus is too much and by the end of the safari no there were 01 dozen left ,thus please and be honest Sir
In regards to wifi owing to the remoteness of most of the parks with the signal being very poor being developing economy which challenge that as a destination all is being worked on, as per of the millennium goals in Kenya and the vision 2030 that we will be developed , this will be a reality .
In regards , to stops , this were basically for wash rooms are for our guide to stretch, and claiming he wanted you to buy items , this is not the case ,please be honest kindly
In regards, the claim that The driver wanted an evening off (on easter eve') on our stay at Naivasha., this is not true as you told him you don't need him that day and you were not interested in doing any thing that day, and at no point did you book a boat ride , as our office would have been aware ,thus this is not true and we kindly request you to be honest
Sir, a claim that our guide went back home for Easter while on assignment is By Far , the most dishonest claim , for a matter of fact our guide's family stays in a small town near Amboseli and none of his family member is in Nairobi nor in Naivasha , and from Naivasha to the small town near Amboseli is 300kms by road one way, which meant that if went he would have covered 600km both ways , how can this happen? there is no airport or airstrip which he could have take a small plane, Sir be honest as other clients know us by far
Sir, in regards to investigation carried our leading to the refund of 120 dollars , we found out that , you entered the park and a receipt was issued , at Amboseli despite checking at the park gate at 1630hrs, Sir,it good to be honest , and out of our professionalism we offered to refund which we did and several time the payment reverted back to us , Sir, this amount sent was less VAT I.E taxes ,amounting to 16% , i.e 120 dollars less 16%, and less transaction fee of 5% , translated to USD 94.00 Dollars,and last when the MD wrote requesting you to share an alternative means of settling you responded saying you don't need it Sir, please be honest Sir as we deliver by far ,, see a review that ,Shared same time after your feedback we deliver by far
Sir, we believe if delivering to our clients, and for your information our driver understand Asian language and understood our your conversations, which you didn't know , please be honest to your feed back as by far delivers
Please we request you to be clear and honest on this,For other travelers to know the truth and Seven By Far .