Reviews

Average User Rating
4.4/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 21
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 1

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 26 Reviews
jingleby   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2006 Reviewed: Dec 19, 2011

Email jingleby  |  20-35 years of age

5/5

Well organised, great guides from Sunway and hooked us up with fantastic local guides, in the Delta and elsewhere (Oliver our game guide in Moremi, Savuti and Chobe was truly excellent!).

joyce   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2014 Reviewed: Jul 28, 2014

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

It was a time that my husband and I will never forget
5/5

My husband and I did a 14 day camping safari with our guide ;Jonathan Clements and Ende. We had the best time,they gave us an experience that we will never forget. All the way from the animals, birds that we saw, to the camping experience, great food,education of the country. If you want to do a safari- request these 2 gentlemen. They were the best.

Rachel Guinee   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: June 2015 Reviewed: Jul 8, 2015

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

From the mighty Vic Falls to the dunes of the Namib and the Okavango Delta -a superb tour
5/5

We have had the most amazing trip that lived up to all expectations and exceeded them. The service provided by Greg and Dee, our guides, was superb; from the food to driving and most of all their experience and sharing of their love and knowledge of Africa. All the communications before the trip were spot on, and during the trip we were looked after perfectly so that the distances covered and array of activities laid on seemed effortless and relaxed. The weather was great (June) with sunshine days and heat and we had been given all the advice on clothes for cooler evenings and mornings so were perfectly prepared- all the information you need is in the itinerary - we just did take more than we needed! Would highly recommend Sunway and this tour to anyone wanting to see a beautiful part of Africa on an accomodated tour.

igor   –  
Australia AU
Visited: July 2015 Reviewed: Aug 22, 2015

Email igor  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

not worth it. not good value for money
2/5

Sunway Safaris is highly disappointing. saying that, we did see majority of the animals, and the main tour guy was great.

disclosure: below is our opinion only, and we communicated it to the company and they promised to address these for the next tours. offcourse, it doesnt help us.

- lunches were predominantly can food. for 1500 Euro per person, one can provide better food.
- the vehicle is too small for 12 people. we were only 9 with an extra guide (3 guides) and it was cramped. one can use bigger vehicles, particularly for these large distances.
- perhaps the most annoying thing is the mus-information. game drive in Krueger, was literally only drive from point A to point B on our route. we didnt really have the game, off the sealed roads as one promised. we just moved up to Zimbabwe, and whatever we saw - that was the game. the game drive in Chobe, was offered to us for 400 Bula, but when we went to reception, suddenly the price went to 320. Finally, there was no option for night safari. we were promised it in Khama Rhyno and Krueger (itinerary based) but we didnt actually have the option when we were there.
In 2 of the camps there was no hot water - although promised (great Zimbabwe and i forgot the 2nd one)

serena, geneva   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: September 2015 Reviewed: Oct 9, 2015

Email serena, geneva  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

highly recommended
5/5

this is the second time I have done a safari holiday in africa and the first time with sunway. I was certainly not disappointed and infact the holiday and accommodaion were far better than I had expected. I did a 2wk 'beach and bush' from johannesburg through swaziland and mozambique. the tour was very well organised, guides farai and william highly knowledgeable on all our questions, either flora or faune, and did their jobs very professionally. the tour included 3 nights in several places, a welcome break from the long days in the truck, which obviously was a big part of the trip. we did several safaris in a couple of parks, and saw loads. the food on the tour was top quality and rarely convenience foods, lunches often picnics on the road sides and dinners usually a fabulous meal around the camp fire. the 'permanent tents' were far from being tents, all with very good sanitary and hot water, and the places we stayed one night in were more 4* than basic. the programme, although it included thousands of kms and long travelling days was...excellent. I think the entire group would agree that there was nothing we would have changed in hindsight. well done to the guides and organisers

Maureen   –  
Australia AU
Visited: August 2015 Reviewed: Oct 11, 2015

Email Maureen  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Highly recommend, an unbelieve experience
5/5

We have recently returned from a wonderful 21 day Sunway Safari from Cape Town to Victoria Falls, August 2015. It was the most amazing adventure we have had in our travels around the world. We were on the accommodated tour and the accommodation was always clean and comfortable and in some amazing scenic spots. Although the first night was at the Sweet Lemon Guest House and we were separated from our group as they were in another guest house, we would have preferred to be together in one location for our first night.
Our guide Chris Z was an expert guide, driver and cook. The food was so delicious and healthy and we all joined in with the preparation of the meals. We would even rate the food better than some of the restaurant meals we had. Chris was such fun to be with and his planning was amazing, he gave us a timetable each day but we did not feel rushed at all. He was so knowledgeable and answered all our never ending questions about the country, animals etc. We were so fortunate to see so many animals and birds and loved watching the animals in Etosha and Chobe National Parks and even saw a large number of animals while driving on the roads. The highlight of our trip would be the elephants coming close to our camp at the Okavango Delta. The most memorable occasion was all the polers singing Beautiful Africa on our return from the Delta. Chris always engaged the locals and we had all the polers in the area singing for us. It was just unbelievable. Chris always ensured that our needs were met even going out of his way to arrange an airport transfer at the best price.
Matthew our trainee guide was very knowledgeable on the regions we visited, animals and birds. We were always putting questions to him. He was fun to be with and had some great jokes. He loved his country and enjoyed telling us about and his experiences.
Overall, the Sunway Safari was one of our best travel experiences ever. We highly recommend Sunway Safaris to anyone who is organising a safari in Southern Africa

Robyn and Bill   –  
Australia AU
Visited: August 2015 Reviewed: Oct 26, 2015

Email Robyn and Bill  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A wonderful experience
5/5

A trip to Africa for most is probably just a dream and maybe one taken with a degree of trepidation . But this trip certainly allayed any concerns. We have done a fair bit of travelling in the last number of years and must say this one was one out of the box. Our guide Chris Z was amazing. He made everyone feel at home, he was interested in all his passengers and did everything to make our trip memorable. His offsider, Matthew, who is learning the game, was also great to travel with.
The places we visited, the things we saw, the variety offered and of course the animals we saw - difficult to explain how fantastic these were. It's hard to imagine camping out in the Okavango Delta and having the campsite surrounded by elephants- but it happened and it was all very exciting!
The places we stayed in varied in quality, depending where we were, but overall were great - all were clean and friendly and some very flash! Food was good, especially the 'home cooked' meals. We were lucky, we had a great group of people who all got on well and who were all willing to dig in, get involved, help out and enjoy the experiences offered!
A trip is what you make it. There was a lot of distance covered but that is necessary to get anywhere ! Our trip took us from Capetown, to Namibia, Botswana and finally Victoria Falls. A wonderful trip which we will never forget. We would recommend Sunway Safaris any time! Well done.

Christina   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: November 2015 Reviewed: Jan 4, 2016

Email Christina

what more could you ask for?!
5/5

What can I say?....if you're reading this in contemplation of going away with Sunway...all I can say is stop contemplating, and book!!

I did the Rainbow Route with 9 others plus our guides Wayne and Mosses
The organisation is fantastic- Wayne and Mosses are true masters in co-ordinating our tour, taking us to stunning places, providing outstanding food, knowing so so much about the wildlife/areas/people we saw (quite incredible)....and being such vibrant characters- they were duly held on a pedalstal by the end of the trip :)

The accommodation was brilliant- very characterful places, often boutique-style. The vast majority was great for cleanliness and facilities, but please remember the places are c. 3 star, some slightly more basic....if you want 5star, this isn't the tour for you.

If you want to embrace adventure, where there are no guarantees (to coin a phrase from the guides!) ...you'll love this trip!

Robert   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: November 2015 Reviewed: Feb 21, 2016

Email Robert  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Disappointing i m afraid though maybe ok for first time visitors to Africa
2/5

We travelled Johannesburg to Victoria falls last November. The truck was full to capacity at 12 plus provisions and was far too cramped. We had two guides, only one of whom could drive the vehicle and he was by far the better at his job. The second guide had preferred clients and was often rude to those not among them; his knowledge was poor, demonstrated at the zimbabwean border crossing when we found his visa advice to be incorrect and more generally in terms of local traditions. Group integration was poor based on our worldwide experience. The farewell event was pointedly only open to those favoured few.

However, the local park-based guides were really good. We saw all the animals we hoped to see and more thanks to them. No complaints about the food either.

Jagoda   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2016 Reviewed: Aug 7, 2016

Email Jagoda  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Exceeded expectations: organized, knowledgeable, fun and that's just the guides
5/5

The Botswana Wild Parks accommodated photo safari offered and delivered on everything we'd hoped for from a first visit to South Africa. True, we didn't see rhino but who can blame them from hiding in the bush? Keeping the group to a manageable size (12 max) meant we all got to know each other and luckily, enjoyed each other's company. Jacques, though young, is very knowledgeable and passionate about wildlife and quite a good organizer. Simba exudes such warmth, kindness, good humor and life-loving spirit that he was a joy to be with. At Moremi, the local guide, Moses, is an absolute treasure. Not only does he have deep, deep knowledge about the birds and animals, he's a fantastic driver, and was willing to share about the culture and economics of eco-tourism as well. On the search for lions, on our last day in Moremi, with the trailer carrying our gear and bags already attached to the 4-wheel drive vehicle, he sighted a lioness and then drove off road to follow her into the bush. We all got National Geographic worthy photos of this gorgeous animal when she finally stopped moving because we were only 2-3 meters from her. The food was delicious and the varied accommodations were part of the adventure. Our favorite was Hyena Pan where we could watch elephants and giraffes and other creatures right from the deck. All in all, a memorable and enjoyable vacation. We would recommend Sunway Safaris to others and would book with them again.

Average User Rating
4.4/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 21
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 1
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Sunway Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Sunway Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions