Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 50
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 51 Reviews
Max Greenwald   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 25, 2024

Email Max Greenwald  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Matthew & Team bring immense knowledge and love of South Africa and curate a special experience
5/5

Matthew worked closely with us to design a safari experience tailor made to our needs.

For us, as first time Safari-goers, we did not know what to do expect. He patiently explained the nuances of different regions, accommodations, time of year nuances and travel distances to maximize fun and enjoyment.

We ended up doing a 10 day package in South Africa: 1 day driving on the Panorama Route, 3 days inside Kruger in the rustic Olifants camp doing bush walks, 3 days in the private game reserve Timbavarti at Shindzela camp doing game drives and finally at Matthew's own luxury reserve in the south of Kruger, Grace of Africa.

Each showed us different ways that one can safari and we loved it. Matthew was also quite responsive to us wanting to change up the itinerary on the fly and went out of his way to come up with off-the-beaten-path activities like a local waterfall and driving through rural towns

Ange H   –  
Australia AU
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 21, 2024

Email Ange H  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Incredibly knowledgeable with exceptional service
5/5

Where do I even start with how amazing this trip was, thanks to the detailed planning and professionalism of Matthew Grace, from African Safari Guru, and all of the staff we encountered during our three weeks in Kenya, Tanzania and Zanzibar. We did not have to worry about a single thing once we arrived in Nairobi. All the planned accomodation, transportation and activities happened seamlessly. The quality of every camp and hotel was exceptional and Matt was very responsive anytime we needed to confirm details or ask a question, including late at night and weekends!!!

We were able to customise our trip up front with all the specific activities we were looking for. We ventured out on a night safari, visited a Masai village, flew in a hot air balloon over the Masai Mara, and headed out on safari riding a camel, with a Masai Guide, to name a few.

We saw the Big 5 and MANY more animals. Each day on safari was unique and exciting! The safaris were personal, and our guides were very experienced and knowledgeable. Heading back to camp each evening and falling asleep to the sounds of lions roaring and hyenas howling among a host of other animal calls...was truly incredible :).

We will never forget the memories made on this trip. We hope to return again and without a doubt will be calling Matt at African Safari Guru.



Pete Morelli   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 4, 2024

Email Pete Morelli  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Extremely knowledgeable
5/5

I have booked trips to South Africa, Zimbabwe and Zambia numerous times through African safari guru and have always been extremely happy. It is a great company run by the most passionate person I have ever known. His love for animals and Africa is unmatched.
I have got to the point where I just tell him the dates and nothing else and he plans me the perfect holiday. I don't even read the detailed itinerary he sends me anymore because I trust him so much and enjoy the surprise.
I can't recommend this company enough, they are beyond fabulous.

Debbie Rath   –  
Canada CA
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Dec 22, 2023

Email Debbie Rath  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Excellent, knowledgeable and professional service.
5/5

This past September marked our second visit to South Africa and our second time utilizing the services of Matthew Grace - African Safari Guru. We selected Matthew’s business for our initial trip based on his apparent knowledge in making suggestions and offering a custom designed trip that exactly suited our needs. Every step of the process was handled with professionalism and Matthew kept in constant contact with us - answering any questions we might have along the way. Our first trip was such a success we did not hesitate to contract the services of ASG for our family trip in September. We had a fairly extensive “wish list” for this trip an and once again Matthew came through. All our accommodations, transfers, safari’s and day excursions were exactly as booked - he even managed to arrange an additional private safari for us at the last minute! I highly recommend African Safari Guru for anyone’s travel needs.

Charles Nicholas   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2023 Reviewed: Nov 30, 2023

Email Charles Nicholas  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Outstanding service and incomparable attention to detail. Could not be better!
5/5

This was our second safari to South Africa in two years and Matthew Grace, owner of African Safari Guru arranged both. Honest, kind, detail oriented and simply a very good person who loves what he does and does it singularly well. I would love to do another trip with him and am absolutely convinced you cannot find a better person or company to work with.

Charlotte Giggle   –  
Australia AU
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Nov 27, 2023

Email Charlotte Giggle

Absolutely amazing experience, they went above and beyond!
5/5

Look no further! This was the trip we have been dreaming of for ever and African Safari Guru made it happen. The trip was stress free once you know you’re in good hands of someone that will take care of all your needs, wants and desires. Worth every cent, and for the experience you get, you can afford to miss out. We had game drives that blew our minds, and activities that were a big ‘pinch me moment’.

Couldn’t recommend more!

Julie and Chris   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Nov 24, 2022

Email Julie and Chris  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Unforgetable Holiday!
5/5

We wanted a tailormade trip to South Africa and Matt was certainly the man to fix it for us. From the start, Matt made every step easy and was always available via Whatsapp video call to help with any questions or queries. We arranged our own flights to Johannesburg and onward to Hoedspruit where we were met by one of Matt's colleagues and driven to our first lodge 'Jackalberry Lodge' which was just a delight. The Ranger and Tracker were so knowledgeable, we were treated to a fabulous pride of four male lions on our first night out, breath taking! After 3 nights and 6 amazing game drives we were picked up and driven to our next lodge ‘Idubi Safari Lodge in Sabi Sands Game Reserve, Greater Kruger National Park. A very comfortable lodge with our own private pool overlooking the bush route for many different animals, especially elephants, an absolute treat to watch. Again, our Ranger and Tracker were so knowledgeable and capable and made each game drive fun and exciting. The lodge itself was very comfortable, every meal was delicious, the staff were very helpful and friendly which made our stay so enjoyable. We spent 3 nights at Idubi and enjoyed 6 game drives managing to tick off so many of our favourite animals, particularly cheetah, leopard, lion, white rhino and we also saw wild dogs, buffalo, hippo, hyena and so many more fantastic creatures. We were driven to our final lodge ‘Lukimbi Safari Lodge in Kruger National Park. Lukimbi is a pretty spectacular place with individual lodges with beautiful bathrooms and private pools overlooking the park, perfect for game viewing, particularly elephants down by the river. A further 3 days and 6 game drives were filled with amazing wildlife and relaxing days, truly a holiday to remember.
Matt listened to what we wanted and chose the lodges to match our interests; he arranged for our transportation between the airports and lodges and was always at the end of the phone if we had any questions. We would certainly rebook through Matt when we return to South Africa.

Lesley & Hugh Evans   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Sep 30, 2022

Email Lesley & Hugh Evans  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing Holiday Experience
5/5

Matthew was very efficient and our amazing two weeks away passed seamlessly. He was very good at communicating everything that was going on and his suggestions were all great. The whole trip was of a high standard with good locations and his knowledge of everything to assist us was so helpful. All the transfers and accommodation bookings were of no trouble to us making our holiday seem effortless on our part and very relaxing.

Hugh   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Sep 17, 2022

Email Hugh  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Friendly, efficient and excellent
5/5

One of the best holidays ever - and I've been on many around the world - Matt was extremely communicative before during and after the holiday. His organisation skills were excellent, surpassed only by quality of where he picked - the 2 lodges were beyond anyones wildest dreams. If you want an unforgettable safari experience, look no further.

Brian Kennedy   –  
Qatar QA
Visited: June 2022 Reviewed: Aug 14, 2022

Email Brian Kennedy  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Everything we could have wished for from a tour operator.
5/5

We worked with Matty to plan a 3-week tour of South Africa with 1 week in Cape town and 2 weeks on safari. Matty immediately stood out to me as the person I wanted to work with on the tour by having a very fast response rate and setting up a video conference with me to discuss our wish list and budget requirements. Once our meeting was finished he quickly had a proposal in our hands that blew our minds! I thought there was no way someone would be able to offer a high-quality tour and stay within our budget, but he found a way.

In Capetown, he arranged a beautiful apartment in a very safe and scenic area close to the pier. As for the activities, we really enjoyed the cape fur seal snorkeling and shark dive. Matty chose companies that truly care about the country, the wildlife, and your safety. (Cape fur seal snorkeling is a must! easily our favorite experience in Capetown!) I should mention that Matty admitted that Capetown is not his specialty, but he represented it very well. We will return!

We then flew to Johannesburg and commenced a 2-week safari tour. Matty had arranged 5 camps of changing amenities, each with its own topography and animal specialty. We started at Mosetlha Bush Camp in Madikwe, and what a way to start! (FYI. opt for the bush flight in and out if you can afford it) This is truly a special bush camp. The manager (her name escapes me right now) made us feel like family as soon as we arrived. She showed us to our bush hut and took us through the amazing procedure they have for hot water showers, the well-stocked and priced honesty bar, and the daily itinerary. Guests should know that there is no power or wifi at this camp, don't show up thinking you're going to the Shangrila to be pampered, this is a bush camp after all. The food was home-cooked with locally sourced ingredients, and the staff was all very friendly. As for animals, I think we lucked out! We had almost everything covered in 2 days! But I don't think this was normal.

The second Lodge was a high-end safari lodge named Lukimbi. Everything was amazing here, the food was prepared by an award-winning chef, the wine cellar was fully stocked with local wines, and the game drives and bush walks were conducted by true professionals who were excited to answer any questions we had. I truly cannot say enough good things about this lodge.

Umkumbe Safari Lodge was next. This place was another great spot, just not quite as high-end as Lukimbi, but great nonetheless. What stood out about Umkumbe was the relaxed atmosphere, amazing views from the bar/pool area, craft beer selection from the honesty bar, and the excellent chances to see leopards. right from check-in, we were greeted by 4 lions and 1 leopard on the far bank of the river, and a local hippo that would often make an appearance.

Back to the bush! Umlani Bush Camp is a small family-owned (like most places we stayed) camp that has a very close-to-nature feel. from the hyena and lions that sing you to sleep, to the boma fire that we sat around exchanging stories nightly, this place made you feel like you were a part of something special. The booze was inclusive, the food was great, and the staff was all friendly. I would recommend asking them to take you out and leave you at the tree house for a couple of hours or for the evening, it was an experience not to be missed. The animals act completely different when you are in the tree house because they don't realize you are there, it's so exciting waiting to see what will pop out next! The staff even packed us a cooler of beer and snacks for our tree house visit.

Arathusa Safari Lodge. Matty ended us off with a bang! another higher-end lodge with full amenities and a beautiful spa. The animal sightings were plentiful, and the food and drink top notch. After 2 weeks of twice-a-day game drives our backs deserved the spa treatment they received from the magical hands of the ladies at Arathusa, pure bliss.

To conclude, I would be remiss if I didn't mention the unparalleled support we received from Matty. The nonstop emails, calls, video chats, transfers, and local information we received were second to none (and we've been on lots of safaris, in many countries). He was always available and even took time from his busy schedule to drive us between the lodges. He is a true professional, I dare say that if you put him at the front of a land cruiser he could provide you with as much quality info as any of the lodge-supplied rangers. He's a real gem.

We will be back!

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 50
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by African Safari Guru, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by African Safari Guru are subject to their terms & conditions