Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 62
  • 4 star 5
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 67 Reviews
Sheree   –  
Australia AU
Visited: September 2017 Reviewed: Jan 27, 2019

Email Sheree  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

They are absolutely awesome.
5/5

Dunas Safaris is absolutely awesome. We went on Safari in 2017, we worked closely with the Dunas team to work out our Safari and to make sure everything was as we wanted it. It turned out to be even better, everything was unbelievable. The Dunas Team, the Accommodation, The Safari itself was special, JP insisted there were some things we shouldn't miss out on and he was right. Sylvia's recommendations on certain things were also great.
I nearly drove JP mad with changing everything and he was always very helpful and couldn't do enough for us, and guess what, our experience was that good we are heading back to Africa in 2020, but with 6 other friends, we are going to make contact with Dunas again, sorry JP, I promise I wont be as painful as last time. Speak to you soon.

Victor   –  
United States US
Visited: May 2018 Reviewed: Aug 2, 2018

Email Victor  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Helpful preparation, flawless execution!!
5/5

We started with a group of 2 and ended with a team of 8. Some experienced in the African ways, others complete neophytes. Four Canadians and four Germans. Our brief was simple but ambitious: a 3-week self-driving tour of Namibia and Botswana with emphasis on game parks, the Okavango region and the Sossusvlei red dunes. Dunas Safari proposed an initial itinerary and worked with us to adapt it to our requirements, with very helpful insights and advice from João Pedro (owner) and Janine (travel coordinator) - as the size of our group grew, we evolved from one to two 4-wheel-drive SUVs and Dunas managed the challenge of accommodating the whole group in the same lodges along our journey. Dunas Safari managed this extremely well and we ended up with a series of lodges of excellent calibre without breaking the bank. They took care to ensure that each stop afforded the safari experience that we expected with a combination of dawn and dusk game drives and river cruises. During our trip, one of us celebrated a birthday and one of the couples celebrated their 40th wedding anniversary - behind the scenes, Dunas Safari worked with the lodges to provide an unforgettable performance of African dance for the birthday evening and an exquisite bush dinner in the middle of a game reserve for the wedding anniversary. Delightful. At Dunas's recommendation, we booked a hot air balloon ride over Sossusvlei - though not cheap, it is worth every penny, for the unique perspective on this breathtaking landscape. Janine and João Pedro were tireless in their support and constant follow-up of our adventure, maintaining contact, providing guidance along the way and watching over our shoulder to make us feel comfortable and safe. We can't say enough good things about Dunas Safari and highly recommend them for excursions in this magnificent part of the world!!

Paulo Silva   –  
Portugal PT
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Jul 8, 2022

Email Paulo Silva  |  under20 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

professional and caring for customers
5/5

Dunas safari organized my self drive in Namibia for 12 person
suggested a route and accepted the change requests made by us.
all lodges booked exceeded our expectations.
excellent accompaniment during the trip, solving all the unforeseen we had a broken car 700 km from the capital that was replaced within 24 hours
very good travel price
we did 6000 kms in Namibia getting to know a wonderful country
a special word to the founder of Dunas JP and to our assistant Sylvia who were tireless

Sebastien   –  
France FR
Visited: October 2019 Reviewed: Nov 18, 2019

Email Sebastien  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A wonderful Honeymoon
5/5

We asked Dunas Safari to organize our honeymoon.
After contact with the team, we arrived in Windhoek where we were expected by Andrew who would follow us at a distance along the trip.

They had the kindness to come back on Sunday to Windhoek to give us the briefing of the trip, giving us great advice.

The booked hotels were of high quality, and the activities were great. We let ourselves be carried away by the super organization of JP and his colleagues.

Thank you to them for making our honeymoon so special.

Carmel Ni Laoire   –  
Ireland IE
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Sep 1, 2019

Email Carmel Ni Laoire  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Welcoming, Supportive and Helpful before and throughout our self-drive adventure in Namibia!
5/5

Damas Safari were the first to answer a query I sent to a number of operators when I was first interested in going to Namibia. From day one JP was helpful - with suggestions and ideas for our trip. We had left it rather late (June) to start booking lodges for the peak season (August) but JP and his team did their best to accommodate us and planned a really exciting itinerary for our 16 days - starting in Windhoek - Mariental - Soussusviei - Swakopmund - Etosha - Mahango- Okinjima - Waterberg -Windhoek. We would be travelling independently - confdent in our driving skills having had years of experience of desert driving in the Middle East We were met at the airport by Salem who actualy drove our hired car back to the hotel knowig we were tired after our extended journey. Next morning the amazing Dr. Andrew met us (JP also came to say hello) - with maps, tips and a really helpful extended briefing. My luggage had not arrived with me and Andrew immediately took over tracking it. He sorted out the puncture that had appeared in our brand new hired car overnight - made sure we had a sim card- and we were sent on our way with instructions to contact him regularly - and we did! Each day he booked and organised specific tours for us as we requested. He answered our random questions about directions - even though he had marked the map clearly for the journey - colour coded! He supported us through a car breakdown near Outjo. He got our car replaced overnight when our windscreen was shattered in Etosha Park. He personally tracked and ensured that my wayward luggage was finally sent on to Sossusviei. He texted us regularly just to say good morning! He met with us when we got back to Windhoek. All of this with good humour and grace! We were delighted with the personal level of support and service that Andrew and Dunas Safari gave us. As independent and resourceful women we could have manged without support, however Andrew's support meant that we did not have to spend time on any of the everyday organization that it is inevitiable when undertaking such a journey - we drove over 4000 km ! Each day was amazing and there were so many highlights on our trip - Etosha (especially the elephants at the waterhole in Okaukuejo and spotting the African Wildcat!), Okinjima (tracking the leopards - the cheetahs - the Bush Camp!), the combi tour in Walvis Bay - Hippos on the Kavango River...I could go on and on! Namibia, its landscapes and most importantly the hospitality of its people make each day an adventure!

Catarina Farias   –  
Spain ES
Visited: November 2018 Reviewed: Dec 7, 2018

Email Catarina Farias  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Highly recommended!
5/5

Very helpful and resourceful!! Always concerned about us and always responsive to our needs. Highly recommended!

Kananga Spanish travel Agency   –  
Spain ES
Visited: August 2018 Reviewed: Nov 15, 2018

Email Kananga Spanish travel Agency  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Serious company
5/5

We are a spanish tour operatios and all our Namibia tailor made trips for families and couples are confirmed with Dunas Safaris vehicles. Until now they never failed with the contracted services. Very kind people in reservations dept, it is very easy to clarify doubts, confirmed extra details..
Company highly recommended.

Miguel   –  
Angola AO
Visited: September 2018 Reviewed: Nov 15, 2018

Email Miguel  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

top service and reliability
5/5

top service, lots of options, know how to set up a proposal tailored for you

Antonio Silva   –  
Portugal PT
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Dec 21, 2022

Email Antonio Silva  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Never found a better Tour Operator in all my life.
5/5

This was the second tour organized by Dunas Safari for me and my group of nine persons. The tour was fantastic, spetacular, awesome in all aspects. The guide/driver - Andrew-was excelent. Nice, always ready to answer our questions and always with a smile. The tour took us to fantastic places. Walvis Bay, the Namib Desert, Sossusvlei, Dune 45, Sesriem Cannyon, and of course Eticha Park. The Lodges were gorgeous with nices buffets for dinner etc. Summing up: a memorable tour in a very interesting country.

Shien Teo   –  
Singapore SG
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Dec 1, 2022

Email Shien Teo  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Wonderful
5/5

The tour was great, very well planned and smooth. They were even there to support enquiries outside of the tours and really on the ball in replying and sorting last minute booking out. Highly recommended.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 62
  • 4 star 5
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Dunas Safari, not SafariBookings