Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 37
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 37 Reviews
Fabian   –  
Argentina AR
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: May 29, 2024

Email Fabian  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Five stars service
5/5

We booked the 17 Days Wildlife Safari Tour with Armaye being our main interest the photography of wild life. The offered tour was a perfect match to our needs. From the very beginning, Armaye provided a lot of information, the communication was fluid all the time, he showed also flexibility to adjust details of the itinerary, giving us a high level a confidence with his knowledge and professionalism. Upon arrival at Addis Ababa Airport, everything run smoothly and attached to the planned schedule. Armaye is a great guide and companion for this kind of challenging safaris, where long distances must to be covered different transports and the visits to remote areas of the National Parks are a must to spot the targeted animals. Our high expectations were surpassed!! The two drivers were great, at Simien Montains National Park, he was an expert animal spotter too. All the local guides, in all places where needed, were very good. At the National Parks, the expert eye of Armaye was invaluable, also his sense of photographer, we enjoyed every minute spent with Armaye.
Regarding the tour organization, it was perfect, and Armaye was all the time checking our particular needs and taking care constantly about them, even talking to the restaurant chefs to adjust the menus for us!.
We think we covered a big part of the most relevant National Parks to spot endemic animals, like Simien and Bale Mountains as the most impressive of them. The long list of mammals to spot were checked and most of the relevant birds too!! In Harar we experienced the early night session with the Hyena men, unbelievable!
The hotels booked had some up and downs but understanding that we were visiting some remote areas with a limited tourism developing, we were overall satisfied, all them were clean and with comfortable beds. Special remarks to Simien Lodge, Haile Resort Awassa and, on top of all them, Doho Lodge, an amazing place.
As a conclusion, the safari tour focus was great, the organization perfect and the value for money more than reasonable. Armaye is an excellent guide and organizer, but even more important he is a great guy!
My recommendation, if somebody wants to visit Ethiopia, is booking the trip with Armaye Tours, with no doubt!

Jen   –  
Qatar QA
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 24, 2024

Email Jen  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

This is an amazing, well set, locally aware team, I was impressed from 1st contact to end of tour
5/5

Armaye tours were courteous, prompt, flexible and knowledgeable in their correspondence from the first contact.
It was simple to put together the tour with their help
They remained in touch until I arrived and was picked up from the airport.
The tour team consisted of Awol, guide - who was respectful, caring, hugely knowledgeable about the area, the fauna and flora and Ethiopia. And his eagle eyes were superb pointing out so much as we walked along. A true diamond
Idris our chef produced hot home cooked food throughout the tour and I remain amazed at what can be produced on a single burner!!
Our porters were polite, cheerful, organised and so efficient.
I was a single white older female and I never felt uncomfortable once
Armaye is a well run, locally respectful tour company and I would recommend them without hesitation. You won't be disappointed

Seishi   –  
Japan JP
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 15, 2024

Email Seishi  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

wonderful tour operator
5/5

I attended in the 2 night 3 days tour of Bale mountain. I could see many endemic wildlives and great views. That was unforgetable experience.

Alexander   –  
Serbia RS
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: May 1, 2024

Email Alexander  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Agile and responsive
5/5

I went to Ethiopia in January this year ('24).
Wrote to Armaye and we arranged a tour quickly, all questions were answered quickly. But then my flight got cancelled and I had to arrive on another day. Armaye was able to reschedule the tour and make trip possible anyway. Respect for that.

The tour itself was great. My guide was talkative and spared lot's of details on local life and nature. Also since people sometimes struggle for height in the mountains he checked my condition often. He also proposed different options for our routs based on my interest and desired difficulty. Provided food was tasty and portions were big, thanks to the chef.

Would recommend travelling in Ethiopia with these guys.

Erin   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 27, 2024

Email Erin  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Above and beyond expectations
5/5

I am a solo female traveler and this was my very first trip to Africa. From the very beginning Armaye was so helpful, flexible and responsive. Once I arrived, Armaye was there to greet me and bring me back to the hotel before a week of hiking in the Simien mountains and then the Bale mountains. I never once felt unsafe and his team was beyond caring and attentive in both the North and the South. Armaye and his team made this trip so memorable and I have so much respect for the people of Ethiopia and my time spent in such a beautiful place. It’s important to me that I used a local company as well, not only do they know the land better then anyone, but all the proceeds go directly to the people that need it most. I highly recommend Armaye Tours, and if I visit Ethiopia again in the future it will absolutely be through his company.

Doreen Ostrowski   –  
Canada CA
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Mar 11, 2024

Email Doreen Ostrowski  |  65+ years of age

Armaye was extremely helpful, accommodating and professional in planning our tour.
5/5

Our 17 day tour was an experience we would recommend. The tour was well planned and covered many different areas of the country. The hotels were well chosen and comfortable. The guides were knowledgeable and helpful. We could not have made a better choice than Armaye Ethiopia Tours. They went well beyond what was expected. Our arrival was unfortunately delayed by two days. But when we arrived at 1:00am two days late, Armaye was at the airport waiting for us. And our tour had been reworked so we did not miss any of the high points. When I took ill (nothing to do with the tour or country), the guide made sure I got immediate care and treated me like a mother hen. We have traveled for many years to many places, but this would be one of the best tour operators we hav encountered.

Mike   –  
Russia RU
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Feb 9, 2024

Email Mike  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

A wonderful two week trip to Ethiopia
5/5

We had the Ethniopian Mammal Watching tour for 14 days; the initially 12-day program itself was adjusted and extended by two days.
Armaye knows the nature of Ethiopia and its inhabitants very well. Since we were focused on locating and photographing animals, he fully supported us in this task and gave us great assistance in identifying those species with which we had questions. It was very interesting to discuss the animals of Ethiopia with him! It’s great that he implemented his area of interest and knowledge into his own business.
All Armaye team members are friendly and responsible, you can absolutly trust them.
The nature of Ethiopia is very different depending on the parts of the country and is very beautiful and even fantastic.
We also got to know the local cuisine and its specialties.
We will miss the time spent and the company of our new friends on this trip. But I think we will be back in the future!
If you are planning to travel to Ethiopia, I would recommend traveling with Armaye Ethiopia Tours.

Tobi   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Jan 4, 2024

Email Tobi  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Excellent Mammal watching tour
5/5

I went on a 2 weeks private tour with Armaye as my guide in November/December 2023 and the organization was excellent. From the initial enquiry over the last few years! until I was safely back home, Armaye communicated quickly, clearly and accurately. He was very flexible with the itinerary too being open to amendments, which I did twice.

This was my 2nd trip to Ethiopia and it was much better than my first one in 2009. My interest was mostly with mammals and planned my tour accordingly, which took me to Bale Mountains (Harenna Forest, Sannetti Plateue, Gassay), Hwassa, Lake Langano. Awash NP and Alideghe Game Reserve. I found all my key targets and the sightings were sensational. He even knew where to find a pack of the endangered Ethiopian Wolfs! His knowledge on where to find wildlife enabled me to get some great pictures and films.

We had a very nice driver and, for a few days, also a brilliant cook and both spoke excellent English and were really good company. Additional guides with local knowledge were waiting for us where needed.

All worked like a swiss clock and the only time I needed to use money was for some few personal expenses.

I will for sure be back again as the country offers a lot.

I could not recommend Armaye Tours more.

Peter MacKenzie   –  
Namibia NA
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Nov 20, 2023

Email Peter MacKenzie  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Very competent and professional
5/5

My wife and I have just returned from a week in Ethiopia. Our trip was organised by Armaye Tours and we could not have been more satisfied. From the initial enquiry until we were safely back home, Armaye communicated quickly, clearly and accurately. We felt in very safe hands.

It was our first visit to Ethiopia so we kept it short but we will surely be back to see more of this beautiful country. Our interest is birds and we asked Armaye to put together a brief but full itinerary. He recommended three night in the Bale mountains and two at Lake Langano. He certainly knows what he’s talking about because the birds were sensational.

We had a driver and a guide and both spoke excellent English and were really good company. Additional guides with local knowledge were waiting for us both in the mountains and at the lake.

I was particularly impressed that everything was paid for. There were no surprises and the only time we needed to use money was for tips.

Excellent organisation, clear and timely communication and a real personal touch. I recommend Armaye Tours highly.

Alexandra   –  
Brazil BR
Visited: October 2023 Reviewed: Oct 22, 2023

Email Alexandra  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Armaey is an excellent guide!!! I highly recommend it! Very attentive and kind.
5/5


I recommend Armaye Ethiopia Tours.
All the guides were very attentive and knowledgeable about many subjects, especially the history of their country. We made great use of our time, as we only had five days in the country. Best way to get to know Ethiopia!

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 37
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Armaye Ethiopia Tours, not SafariBookings