Reviews

Average User Rating
4.7/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 5
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-6 of 6 Reviews
Gina   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2021 Reviewed: Jan 28, 2024

Email Gina  |  Experience level: first safari

Best trip of my life - fabulous custom tour!
5/5

I’m a biologist and the safari trip was top of my bucket list. Visiting the Mara changed my life - can’t say enough how amazing it was to be where humanity began and large animals roam free.

I checked with other companies but was impressed with Bright Maasai from the start because it is small and Maasai owned. Good communication, range of experiences and prices, and they let us customize a tour to Kisumu and Lake Victoria and then on to see the last bits of relic rainforest near Kakamega.

At our request, Dickson also arranged for us to visit a local elementary school, where we provided some basic scientific equipment for the students and then had a hoot chatting up some of the most adorable kids I’ve met in a while.

We had a group of 4 adults (and two expert guides at all times), which was perfect for the Land Cruiser. Vehicle had all the extras - pop up top for photographing, plugs for charging electronics, radios and safety equipment, hard windows for our city trips, and our guides knew how to drive that beast on and off the trails. Great guiding and animal spotting - our dude Dickson was so good he even spotted our lost iPhone in the middle of the Mara grass, while driving.

Pro-tip: Pay extra for the off road permit so you can drive right up to where the animals are. Your guide will get a hefty fine if you don’t have that permit - so don’t pressure your guide to follow the other vehicles driving off track. Just pay for the permit.

I most appreciated Brighte Maasai’s custom service, individual attention for our group and our preferences, comfortable accommodations (glamping in the Mara!), tasty food tailored to our various dietary restrictions (our group included a vegan, a gluten avoider, and a severe nut allergy).

Ask for it how you want it and just go- it will be the trip of a lifetime.

Nicola Barton   –  
Canada CA
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Sep 27, 2023

Email Nicola Barton  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Incredible operator providing incredible experience
5/5

This could be a long one as I sing the praises of BRIGHTE MAASAI ADVENTURES, but they are THAT good.

I'm going to preface this by saying this is my 3rd safari (1st in Kenya) so expectations were high. BRIGHTE MAASAI ADVENTURES absolutely blew me away.

From the first emails responding to my laundry list of questions (the team were replying at crazy hours in their timezone) all the way to Whats Ap messages days after our safari ended, these guys know what good communication is.

Upon arrival in Nairobi Dickson, James and Dennis ( all true Maasai warriors) met us to show us the car we'd call home for the next six days and go over everything (great for my travel partner as I had taken care of all the booking and planning with the guys). Then, with James and Dennis at the wheel, we took off the very next day.

I don't think enough can be said about James' depth of knowledge and skill. Hands down the best guide I've ever come across. Not only did he know the best spots for finding the animals, an avid photographer himself, James knew the best angles so I could take the most incredible shots of my life.

The thing that set this team apart, however, was their friendly warmth. The ever smiling Dennis and truly lovable James taught us so much about Kenya, the Maasai, the reserves and animals but in such away that we all felt like one happy quartet of friends. Each morning we were greeted with excitement from James and Dennis along with huge smiles and open arms.

All the while, Dickson would be in contact via what's ap, making sure our dream vacation was living up to expectations. 100% it was.

We loved the ease of travelling to and exploring 3 different parks/ reserves ( Amboseli, Nakuru and Maasai Mara- James' legit backyard) as well as the great accomodation ( ask to include Bella Camp:inside the Maasai Mara reserve as part of your accomodation wishes, but only if you enjoy falling to sleep to the sounds of lions roaring or eating breakfast beside sunbathing hippos).

Absolutely every detail was taken care of by BRIGHTE MAASAI ADVENTURES and every one of my requests - a trip to a Maasai Village, a boat ride on Lake Naivasha , a great pic of a giraffe drinking water were fulfilled...and then some.

Do yourself a favor and book your very reasonably priced safari with BRIGHTE MAASAI ADVENTURES, an outstanding operator that deserves 6 stars!

We miss you James, Dennis and Dickson.

Leng   –  
China CN
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Aug 15, 2023

Email Leng  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Leng and not that of SafariBookings.
A Mixed Experience
3/5

The company was easy to communicate with before the tour, and they met me on time. The price was competitive and that’s what I cared for most. This was my first safari and overall I loved getting close to the animals. The driver got us right up to some lions and I could hardly believe that we were just next to them! The negative is the guide watched a lot of videos on his phone when I wish he could have told me about the animals.

Marilyn Nigro   –  
Canada CA
Visited: June 2023 Reviewed: Jul 26, 2023

Email Marilyn Nigro

Our tour guides were knowledgeable, engaging, entertaining, personable and expertly led our safari.
5/5

We had the pleasure of spending two days with Alpha and David while on safari in Maasai Mara National Reserve. They were both excellent guides who shared their years of expertise. I was extremely impressed with their concern for ethical guiding and recognizing that we are visitors to the Reserve. Alpha and David went above and beyond to ensure that we witnessed every animal in the reserve while enthusiastically sharing their extensive knowledge, making the experience truly remarkable. Thanks to David and Alpha's exceptional efforts, this trip surpassed my expectations.

Anna-Marie   –  
Canada CA
Visited: June 2023 Reviewed: Jul 25, 2023

Email Anna-Marie  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Professional and provided more than expected
5/5

We had a great experience on a 2 day safari. The guide and driver were professional, knowledgeable and provided an unforgettable experience. This adventure were value for money and I can highly recommend the company, driver and tour guide.

Tamara   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2021 Reviewed: Jun 12, 2023

Email Tamara  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

He was extremely knowledgeable about the species.
5/5

Great communication, value, very reliable, and the tour was amazing!!! Life changing!

Average User Rating
4.7/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 5
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Brighte Maasai Adventures, not SafariBookings