Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 13
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 13 Reviews
Wendy   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Apr 16, 2024

Email Wendy

Above and Beyond Experience, Service
5/5

We compared notes with other travelers who were staying at the Selous Safari Lodge but were not using Plex as their guide company. And quickly discovered that we not only had the best guide (Michael) for safari but the most smooth experience with the coordination of travel and payments of anyone else. And after looking up who some of the others used, I think we paid a lot less, too!

We had an easy transfer from our Zanzibar hotel to the airport, and our guide was waiting for us when we landed. Our safari experience (2 days in the Jeep, a water safari on the river, and a walking safari and Masai visit) yielded so much--all the animal encounters we could ask for (including a close view of a napping lioness), but more importantly an incredible education. I am a Native American (Ojibwe Nation) and could not have been more thrilled with all of the knowledge that was so freely shared, regarding how the people in this area continue their sustainable agricultural and medicinal practices.

Selous Safari Lodge was amazing. Again, you're way, way far away from an urban center. The entire country struggles with consistent electricity supply. They have a generator but when the grid is on/off/on in minutes, it doesn't kick in. And sometimes generators fail. The little cottages are built to be as comfortable as possible without any electricity. If you absolutely have to have air con on all the time, pretty much anywhere close to the animal action isn't going to be able to provide that, so don't blame the lodge. We loved the food, and they were very accommodating with my food allergies, to the point of preparing a whole separate meal for me one night! Yes, we had to relocate a spider and a couple of frogs because of the way the exterior doors are designed, but it was not a big deal. If you have trouble with the very idea of a spider, traveling in east Africa is probably not for you, anyway. Compared to other lodging options so close to the park, Selous Safari Lodge, with it's pool and top-notch service, was a luxury experience.

Since we were not heading back to Zanzibar but on to Nairobi, Kenya, we ended up flying into Dar Es Salaam. However, the way the flight schedules worked, we had almost an entire day there. Edward at Plex arranged for us to have one of his safari guides, Franklin, take us around the city (he was born and raised there and happened to be in the office). Franklin gave us a day we will NEVER forget, especially the tour meal at the harbor fish market. He didn't shy away from showing us both the wonderful ingenuity and hard work of Tanzanians, and the struggles of the people living in the city.

My husband and I have been all over the world. We cannot thank Plex Africa Safaris enough for making our "bucket list" trip to Tanzania our most memorable and enjoyable trip ever (so far). If we have the ability to return to the region, we will definitely be using Plex again.

MANDANIA & FAMILY   –  
Tanzania TZ
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 31, 2024

Email MANDANIA & FAMILY  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Respective ,Coorporative & excellent service
5/5

Our journey with your team was Very Reliable and Trust worth, we enjoyed the whole trip.

Anna   –  
Sweden SE
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 29, 2024

Email Anna  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Super nice staff with a lot of knowledge about nature
5/5

We went on a 2 day fly in from Zanzibar safari and it was the highlight of our trip! Everything went super smooth - from hotel pickup to airport, flight, safari, transportation to the camp Mazumpiko selous lodge, boat tour, and the journey back. Everyone was super professional and our guide was very knowledgeable - we asked a LOT of questions and there wasn't a single question he couldn't answer! We saw a lot of animals including elephant, zebra, giraffe, wildebeest, buffalo, baboons and more! At night we stayed in a little village, in a bungalow at the Mazumpiko selous lodge. There were some insects but otherwise it was well cleaned and had a fan, mosquito nets for the bed, shower and western style toilet. The food was delicious and the boys working there were sooo nice! We would love to come back!

Nashipay B. S.   –  
Germany DE
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 11, 2024

Email Nashipay B. S.  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

very nice Tour !
5/5

we went to selous, very nioe Safai, good driver, good organized, friendly staff and tasty Lunch.

Julien   –  
France FR
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 22, 2024

Email Julien  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Selous safari
5/5

We did a nice safari with the Plex Africa team in Feb 2024.
4 days (3 nights) including 2 game drives in Selous National Park, 1 bush safari in the forest, 1 boat safari and 1 visit in a Massai village.
Selous Safari lodge was a nice place with swimming pool, good food (some power issues...).
Our driver Franklin was amazing in the park and so nice.
Cars are old so sometimes things happened...
It was a very good experience overall.

Bruno LEFLEMME   –  
France FR
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 7, 2024

Email Bruno LEFLEMME  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Effective
5/5

Amazing day. The plane trip without waiting, 50 minutes then you find yourself in the 4x4 heading to the park and the animals. Coffee and tea stop mid-morning then we continue to look for the animals left in their wild environment then a simple but good lunch. Return by plane to Zanzibar. Magnificent decor, animals in perfect condition, in short, a good day

(automatic translation from French)

Corinne Maillard   –  
France FR
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Nov 23, 2023

Email Corinne Maillard  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Perfect
5/5

Mikumi safari day was a wonderful day
Great and unbeliveable
Good organisation
Driver was Perfect and all people have attention for you and for your sécurity
We are lucky to see all the animals

Marc Littlewood   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: October 2023 Reviewed: Nov 10, 2023

Email Marc Littlewood  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Plex Africa Safaris were Amazing - Hands down the best operator we saw while on safari
5/5

Me and my two teenaged kids did a 3 day game drive safari in Nyerere Selous Game Reserve with return flights from Zanzibar, Tanzania. From start to finish Plex Africa Safaris were great. Edward handled all aspects of booking the safari, he was always reachable and responded to all my queries promptly and the itinerary promised was exactly what was delivered. Plex Africa Safaris also have a secure and safe way of receiving online payments, which was very easy to do. Our hotel to airport transfer driver Moris was on time, polite and friendly and helped us check-in for our flight from Zanzibar.
Once we arrived at Selous Game Reserve we were met by our guide Aree and this man was hands down the best operator we saw while on safari. He made the safari so much fun and he made sure we set the pace and went to areas within the reserve that had the best opportunities to see the wildlife we were most interested in seeing. We saw so much in the 3 days with the highlights being the lion's, hyena's and Serval. Aree made this safaris special for us and I would highly recommend Plex Africa Safaris. Their 4x4 vehicle was a well maintained Land Rover Defender and with Aree's exceptional driving skills could take us anywhere. The vehicle was well stocked up with water and other beverages plus it had a UK plug socket to charge phones, cameras etc. At night we stayed at the Selous Safari Lodge, which was well presented, clean, comfortable and with friendly helpful staff. Rooms are a good size and feel newly furnished. Facilities include a swimming pool, wifi and the food was good.
I was so happy we chose Plex Africa Safaris as they were truly the most professional operator. During our safari our guide Aree helped fix another operators vehicle which was having problems and also our third sighting of a lion he re-laid the location to another operator however their driver was not skilful enough to navigate to that location so they missed out on seeing potentially a once in a life time opportunity. You could see the disappointment on their customers faces. The other thing I noticed was that the majority of the other vehicles in the game reserve were from just one operator and all their vehicles seemed to stick together on a set route where as with Plex Africa Safaris we could head off away from everyone else. This made it feel extra special as most of the best encounters we had were with no one else around making us feel truly connected and immersed in nature. Thank you Plex Africa Safaris - HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Hawa Nzota   –  
Tanzania TZ
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Sep 20, 2023

Email Hawa Nzota  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Punctual, customer satisfaction oriented and great value for money.
5/5

The operator planned and accommodated my needs, the communication with my assigned agent was smooth , the driver who is also a guide was knowledgeable of Ngorongoro crater and the animals which was fun for the kids who were eager to learn. The transportation offered was reliable.

M. O’Rourke   –  
Ireland IE
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Sep 12, 2023

Email M. O’Rourke

Top class
5/5

Unique chance to experience Tanzanian people,friendly service, respect for everyone safari, Zanzibar, Indian Ocean islands and swimming. Deep honest history, respect for different religions and people, a ubiquitous spirituality and tolerance, a wonderful young beautiful population, infrastructure development commenced, a new world of opportunity. sorry not enough time to finish….

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 13
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Plex Africa Safaris, not SafariBookings