Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 64
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 64 Reviews
Andrew   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Sep 25, 2022

Email Andrew  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Knowledgeable, caring and hard working
5/5

I would highly recommend this company. Their attention to detail and reliability was excellent from start to finish. Simon was our guide and he was very knowledgeable and put so much effort into ensuring that we had a great time.

Simon knew the reserves really well and this knowledge ensured that we saw all the animals that we could hope for on a trip like this.

He was careful in his driving which is difficult on the reserve paths and whenever we were out of the vehicle he advised on keeping safe. The breakfast and lunch boxes were always excellent with tablecloths!!!

Simon’s care went as far as ensuring that he did not leave the Serengeti until he knew that we were safely on our plane.

All in all this is an excellent company with top quality guides.

Mike   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Sep 5, 2022

Email Mike  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Brilliant
5/5

We just had a great four days in the Tanangire Park NGorongoro crater and Serengeti with our brilliant guide Sheban who is excellent at spotting all the animals and very educational as well as fun, It is one of our most memorable and fun family holidays would highly recommend it and Masai wanderings, thank you again Sheban

Aditya   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2021 Reviewed: Aug 2, 2021

Email Aditya  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Kindest, most engaging tour guides ever.
5/5

We recently completed our Tanzanian safari through the Ngorogoro Crater, Lake Manyara and North Serengeti for our honeymoon. We're just writing to sincerely thank everyone involved at the Plantation lodge for making our trip such an exceptional experience. They met us with some juice and were able to give us an upgrade for our honeymoon! All the staff were so attentive, friendly, helpful and every single other positive adjective possible.

In particular, we really want to acknowledge our guide - Yunus. Yunus picked us up from the airport, took us around the Crater, Lake Manyara and facilitated our cultural exploration day. He was extremely kind, friendly and was always giving us cool historical facts about every place we went through. His driving got us to see an incredible leopard in Lake Manyara, and his enthusiasm for every animal was extremely infectious.

We've recently returned to life and find ourselves missing Tanzania and the team every day.

Alison Buttigieg   –  
Finland FI
Visited: March 2020 Reviewed: Apr 7, 2020

Email Alison Buttigieg  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Reliable & fantastic company!
5/5

I have travelled with Maasai Wanderings twice and both times I have been extremely pleased with the service & experience. They are very responsive and our trips were all impeccably organized. The guides they use are excellent, ethics and enthusiastic, and they also have very good and well-maintained vehicles. Highly recommended!

Nick   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2019 Reviewed: Jan 7, 2020

Email Nick  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent guide for first safari
5/5

Lake Manyara and Ngorongoro was the first stop on my Wife and I's honeymoon, and it did not disappoint. This is in large thanks to our guide Oltesh, an experienced guide who was born in the region in a Maasai village. He provided incredible insights on the animals, communities, and history of the area that enriched our entire safari experience, all while having fun during a few rainstorms and early mornings. We highly recommend taking a safari with Oltesh!

Natalie Cappellano   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2019 Reviewed: Dec 19, 2019

Email Natalie Cappellano  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great Experience
5/5

We booked through a travel agent and Maasai Wanderings was our guide throughout our trip. I can not recommend Maasai Wanderings enough! They were excellent!!!!!!! We went to Tanzania in Early November, the first 4 nights our guide was Yunus, he went above and beyond every single day for us, we learned so much during our time with him about the animals and the culture. We couldn’t be happier that he was our guide and so thankful. He was full of knowledge and pointed out so much. For the last 3 nights we had Henry in the Serengeti, he was also awesome and we learned so much from him as well! Such great people And made our first Safari experience unforgettable. Everything was well organized

Craig Jackson   –  
Canada CA
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Oct 4, 2019

Email Craig Jackson  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Trip of a lifetime
5/5

Whilst our trip was organised with Rob in the UK we were looked after by Maasai Wanderings whilst in Tanzania. Our guides, Barak and Henry were fantastic, how Baraka spotted some of the animals is beyond me. Both were extremely knowledgable and were a major part of making the holiday a success.

The teams in all the locations were fantastic, friendly and helpful, the meals (both hot and packed lunches) were tasty and plentiful.

An extremely positive experience and I would heartily recommend Maasai Wonderings to anyone.

Michael Gulbrraa   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2019 Reviewed: Aug 12, 2019

Email Michael Gulbrraa  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Best tour operator in Tanzania for photographers
5/5

I have been using Maasai Wanderings now for a few years for my photography trips to Tanzania. They are hands down the best I have used over the last 12 years. All of their guides understand light and importance of positioning the vehicles for the best shot. On top of that every guide I have worked with has been kind, courteous, hard-working, and extremely understanding of what the task for a photographer is. They all speak great English, are extremely knowledgeable of the animals, their tendancies, and their habits. Backing up just a bit, the staff that arranges my trips are detailed oriented, responsive, and extremely helpful with suggestions and recommendation. The camps we've used have been spectacular - awesome locations with superb staff, wildlife sightings, and excellent meals. I've even requested Nachos on one trip to the northern Serengeti near the Mara River and they made it happen! I highly recommend Maasai Wanderings.

Fran and Annie   –  
Australia AU
Visited: June 2019 Reviewed: Jul 5, 2019

Email Fran and Annie  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

We had an amazing safari
5/5

Four of us went on a eight day safari in early June. Yunus was our guide. He could not have been more wonderful. He was the best driver and very safe. He found all the animals for us and tried very hard to get as close as possible. He had a great sense of humour and made every day a fun and exciting experience. The service in all the camps was excellent as was the quality of the food. The safari far exceeded our expectations. We always stopped somewhere interesting to enjoy our lunch. This was an experience we will all remember for ever. Yunus had a hawk eye for finding the animals. We saw the migration along with many other glorious animals.

Laura   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2018 Reviewed: May 24, 2019

Email Laura  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Wonderful Trip!
5/5

My husband and I traveled to Tanzania in August and had a wonderful experience. Our guide Amos was exceptional. He was so patient with us staying as long with each animal as we'd like, and he found them all. He took care of everything for us, and he was so fun spend time with. Also, he's an exceptional driver. We were sad when it came time to leave him. Donna was great to work with when booking. She was very responsive, and set up everything exactly how we wanted.
All of our accommodations were great. I especially enjoyed the nights we spent in tents. It was nice to be right in the middle of it all.
Maasai was recommended to us by our friends, and I would absolutely recommend Maasai Wanderings to anyone looking to go on safari.
We felt safe and well cared for the entire trip.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 64
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Maasai Wanderings, not SafariBookings