Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 53
  • 4 star 2
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 55 Reviews
Trisha from Vancouver Canada   –  
Canada CA
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Jan 24, 2023

Email Trisha from Vancouver Canada

Provided an Exhilarating Experience
5/5

We had aproximately 25 days in Namibia including our wonderful time in the Chobe River where Thinus met us at Kasane airport in Botswana,
We immediately when on a game drive within 15 min of our lodge and saw most of the big 5. Our adventure in Namibia after Botswana continued through Etosha Park, (we loved the tents camp right outside the lodge with a watering hole in front of our luxurious tent)
We loved Damaraland with its stunning rock formations and night sky. We also adored the Skeleton coast and the colours in the sand and the dunes. We had also an amazing jeep ride along the coast line during low tide with the waves crashing in under us, followed by an amazing drive up and down the enormous dunes. You can do this from Swapomund or Walvis Bay . ( I would suggest hiring your own private guide for this)
Thinus was a great driver and knows how to handle the gravel and sand roads and booked great accomodations for us. We also enjoyed the company of Marcus who was a wonderful and knowledgeable guide while Thinus took a few days off. We loved this trip....it was one of a lifetime and we do plan to come back when time allows. We saw every living creature in Africa and the scenery is spectacular.
trisha from Vancouver

Polya   –  
Bulgaria BG
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 24, 2022

Email Polya  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Everything was perfectly organized!
5/5

Really, really good organization! We made self drive around Namibia. 3000 km for 10 days. Our trip was a combination of B&B and camping in a roof tent on the top of a Toyota car. Thinus has chosen really amazing lodges - small and charming places! Our camping was so beautiful place!
We met Thinus on the day of our arrival. He was very kind. Thinus gave us a marked road map, gave us really helpful advices - about the roads, about the fuel, places to eat, about the camping.
Wе wanted to met Thinus on the last day of our trip to say THANK YOU but we didn't get to see each other one more time. So see you next time, Thinus!
Thanks for everything!!!

Gratefully,
Your first guests from Bulgaria

Chris and Tingting   –  
Thailand TH
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Oct 1, 2022

Email Chris and Tingting  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Thinus, the tour operator was honest, forthright, and engaging. Full of interesting information.
5/5

From our arrival in Windhoek to our departure from Victoria Falls, CrissCross Namibia did an excellent job building the itinerary for my wife and me, with stops at numerous fascinating destinations. We travelled with a guide/driver who arranged all the details of the program and left us with the opportunity to follow our curiosity. The lodges and camps where we stayed ranged from high-end five star to quirky, but comfortable. The food was ample and delicious and out local guide, Markus, was extremely well-informed about the natural history, wild mammals and birds. Some of the drives were long, but the driver was skilled and stops were well-timed. The program combined fascinating wildlife encounters with a significant cultural component. We travelled in Namibia for two weeks, Botswana and Zimbabwe for one week. If I could make any changes, it would only be that to spend more time at several of our destinations.

Initially, correspondence with CrossCross Namibia was hampered by difficulty between our respective email servers. So the amount of discussion pre-trip was less than I would have preferred. But the important points were covered. And any uncertainties we had coming into the program evaporated as soon as we arrived. Experiences exceeded our expectations on almost every level. We especially liked the diversity of Namibia: the dunes and coastline of Namib Desert, the cultural legacy of Damaraland, and the stark beauty and abundant wildlife of Etosha National Park. Next time, we would love to visit the southern part of Namibia.

Highest marks to Thinus, Markus and the Namibian people for an exceptional tour.

Dana and Shimshon   –  
Israel IL
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 3, 2022

Email Dana and Shimshon  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

WELL PLANNED ITINERARY AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICE
5/5

We just came from 12 days self drive safari tour in Namibia organised by CrissCross.
We choose the company on previous online reviews and they did not disapoint.
They organized the tour in a record time and answered promptly to any inquiries we had.
Accommodation and food on the trip were excellent. The lodges (3-5star) were fantastic- interesting locations and unique styles.
We enjoined every minute of our trip.
We already discused with Thinus about next trips in Namibia and neighbouring countries.



Traveller at Heart   –  
Poland PL
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 6, 2022

Email Traveller at Heart

Proffesional service, friendly and experienced guides, flexibility and decent portfolio
5/5

We got professional service from Criss Cross, stuff remained flexible, ready to adjust our trip as per our needs.

We decided to go for self-designed tour through Namibia - we chose the path, Criss Cross helped us with planning the best itinerary for the time we had, booking accommodation on the way, and provided professional guides. Guides were highly experienced and very friendly. Lodges chosen for the trip were good.

Criss Cross has big portfolio of tours: self-driving (they will help you with setting up itinerary, car and lodges booking (in high season you have to do it well in advance, if you've never been to Namibia it's better to check what car is suitable for the path you chose)), guided tours tailored for the customer (you choose the path, duration, and if you want to go for a 3 or 5 star trip), pre-defined tours to choose from the list.

I have already some plans for next trips in Namibia and neighbouring countries, next time I will also reach out to Criss Cross, because we had good experience and I have a feeling that I may rely on their advice.

Charles V.   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Jul 28, 2022

Email Charles V.  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Outstanding agency with extensive experience in Nambian tour planning
5/5

Criss cross organized for our family a 3 weeks trip around Namibia and we really enjoyed our time very much.
The tour was extremely well organized with lots of practical details and very interesting.
Thinus was always very reactive to our questions and helped us to recover some delayed luggage from Lufthansa.
What a beautiful country and beautiful people which will leave us lasting memories.
I'd recommend anyone to contract this agency and will refer some of my friends.

Tony and Juliet   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: June 2022 Reviewed: Jul 26, 2022

Email Tony and Juliet  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Patient, with a well thought out itinerary
5/5

Three years after we booked we finally made it to Namibia. Our itinerary was structured to focus on the things we wanted to do and the places we wanted to see. While structured for us it had clearly been built on considerable experience and detailed local knowledge. Thinus was very patient, reorganising our itinerary several times to accommodate changes and delays enforced by the pandemic. It was good to finally meet him in Namibia after so long in the planning stage.

We had an excellent tour around much of Namibia over a period of 20 days covering 5,500 km. A lasting impression is of vast open spaces with dramatic and engaging scenery, which seemed to get better almost every day. The quality of the lodges was high, much higher than we expected. The wildlife was of course often plentiful and beautiful.

We had a good guide/driver and met many other people who shared their knowledge and passion with us. Namibia must be one of the politest and friendliest countries we have visited.

Some highlights included: a drive along the Angolan border to Epupa, the scenery was incredible, the road rougher than most but passable and the small Himba villages showing us another side of Namibia. A balloon trip at Sesreim was exciting. At the other end of the country Luderitz and Fish River Canyon gave us a completely different view of the country.

Our accommodation was of a high standard. Everywhere the staff were very helpful, friendly and polite – remarkably so. Of special mention Erindi, Canyon Lodge, Sossusvlei Lodge and Epupa are particularly memorable, as much for their location as the quality of service.

Harvey Brooks   –  
Canada CA
Visited: May 2022 Reviewed: Jun 9, 2022

Email Harvey Brooks  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Well planned itinerary with professional and thoughtful personnel throughout the entire experience
5/5

From the outset and my first enquiry, Thinus was very helpful and prompt in organizing my tour, paying close attention to my timing and for the kind of experience that I was seeking. Emails from the company were informative, laying everything out in a clear and complete manner, and when I arrived in Windhoek to start the tour, I was met by both Thinus (the company owner and operator) and my guide, Markus, who was to be with me for the duration of the tour - some 14 days of exploring the heart of Namibia. For the entire time, everything went smoothly - Markus made sure that there were no issues with accommodations, and his knowledge of several languages made a great difference every day. We drove some 3500 kilometers over the two weeks, through both private and national game parks, and he found both big game and plains game for me, enabling some amazing photographic opportunities. We also explored the Skeleton Coast, and the Sesriem/Sossusvlei area - all stunningly beautiful. In short, I had a first-class experience, in good company, and am happy to recommend Criss Cross Safaris to other travelers looking for a unique experience.

Aitor   –  
Spain ES
Visited: May 2022 Reviewed: Jun 4, 2022

Email Aitor  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Changing the itinerary or chossing the restaurant depends on the client. Flexibility
5/5

First of all, thanks to Thinus, Marcus and Randy. Thinus took us through the history and current politics of Namibia. Randy knows the natural parks like the garden of his house and a multitude of animal names. His experience and insistence has allowed us to see a multitude of species, lions, leopards, buffaloes, elephants, ..........
They are good drivers and it is important because the roads are not always easy. If we want to stop at a local bar, no problem. We adapt.
Magnificent hotels with good quality food.
CrissCross makes the trip easy and to your liking

Maya   –  
Egypt EG
Visited: October 2021 Reviewed: Nov 18, 2021

Email Maya  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very well organized and wonderful people
5/5

We had a 10-day customized safari across Namibia and the experience was excellent. Thinus, our guide, really helped us in organizing and crafting the perfect tour for our family for a very good price. We visited the most beautiful places across Namibia: Etosha, Skeleton Coast, Swakopmund, Sossusvlei and Windhoek. All accommodation, leisure & restaurants were perfect for our taste.
It was an overall amazing experience!

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 53
  • 4 star 2
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by CrissCross Namibia Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by CrissCross Namibia Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions