Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 26
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 27 Reviews
Jacky C   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 6, 2022

Email Jacky C  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

An Exceptional Service From Greatest Africa
5/5

We have just arrived home (UK) from a fantastic holiday, organised by Greatest Africa. It had been cancelled twice because of Covid Regulations and each time it was rebooked they kept us up to date and informed and organised everything for us, including transfers. As a result, everything ran really smoothly and efficiently. Our rep, Vanessa, could not have been more helpful, friendly and professional. The hotels and lodges were first rate. We will definitely use them again when we return to Africa and have no hesitation recommending them to others. You will not be disappointed.

Dirk and Bernice   –  
United States US
Visited: April 2022 Reviewed: Jun 27, 2022

Email Dirk and Bernice  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Incredible safari experience - highly recommended.
5/5

We recently (April, 2022) enjoyed a 6-day wild life safari in the African bush. We’re happy to share our impressions of this wonderful experience, especially with anyone planning or considering something similar.
All arrangements, bookings, etc. were made through Greatest Africa. Vanessa Walker was our personal travel consultant, and she provided exceptional service and assistance every step of the way!
We spent 3 nights each at Motswari Lodge and Kapama Buffalo Camp. These are private game parks, separate and independent, located in the greater Kruger National Park area.
Both provided first class service overall, and are absolutely 5 star destinations in every respect. Following comments apply to both/either of these Camps.
Food. Tasty, nutritious, ethnic/local and international cuisines. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks.
Drinks. Wide selection of local juices, wines, beers, and local/international spirits.
Meals were served in beautiful boma type environment.
Game drives. Each safari vehicle (customized Land Rovers) allowed a maximum of 6 guests per vehicle, and was staffed with 2 knowledgeable and experienced rangers/trackers. Each drive (2 per day) was approx 3 hours’ duration, including early morning drives (with coffee and rusks) and sunset drives (with tasty snacks and sundowner drinks, each day an impromptu stop somewhere romantic or idyllic, to watch the sun set over the African horizon.) There are never guarantees when it comes to game spotting, but we were very fortunate to see the Big 5, as well as many other animal species, on numerous occasions. Thank you to the very professional “bush” staff.
Accommodation. Private, secluded, stand-alone, suites (some tented type, and others rigid structures, but all glamping at its best) all with AC, king sized beds, luxury indoor/outdoor bathrooms, mostly thatched roofs and often built in African, rondavel style architecture.
We could ramble on and on describing all the features. But, in summary, this was a memory making experience. Without any doubt our recommendation is to go ahead, indulge yourself, it’s worth every penny spent.
Thank you to Greatest Africa, for your wonderful service and excellent advice.

Micah   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2021 Reviewed: Feb 6, 2022

Email Micah  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great operator who helped us choose the best Safari for our tastes
5/5

We did a 6 day tour through the greater Krugar National park and stayed at two different camps Kapama River Lodge and Motswari Lodge.
Motswari Lodge was by far our favorite as you are deep in the bush and truly feel like you are in the complete wilderness. Overall it was an amazing trip and we can not wait to get back to South Africa!

Reply from Greatest Africa
Reply from Greatest Africa
Posted on Apr 2, 2022

Thank you so much for your review - it is hugely appreciated. I hope you have many happy memories of your trip to SA.
kind regards
Richard Hilton

Rachel   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2021 Reviewed: Aug 4, 2021

Email Rachel  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

If you've ever wanted to go on safari this is the time!
5/5

If you've ever considered going on a safari this is the perfect time. Although South Africa is listed as a "Red Country" it is simply impossible to catch COVID-19 from a wild rhino, leopard, herd of elephants or any of a thousand birds that you will see. We had an amazing time on our trip to Motswari and Kapama lodges which are both located adjacent to Kruger park. Flying from Johannesburg to Hoedspruit is a short flight and was very easy. The lodges are lovely, the food amazing, the game drives life changing. Because tourism is down the game trucks have fewer people in them making for a more tailored experience. Bomas are outside and the only time we were inside was when we were alone by ourselves. South Africa has just opened up vaccinations for everyone over age 35, and staff at the lodges have started receiving vaccines. Remember that everyone over a minimum age has to have a PCR test to travel on international flights, making those flights the safest in the world. We were taken by our game guide into Hoedspruit for our PCR tests for our outbound flights, for roughly 52 USD each with results in a day. Specifically regarding Greatest Africa, I spoke with several safari companies and only Greatest Africa was able to accommodate 1 adult with 3 children. Vanessa from Greatest Africa found accommodations that included two connecting rooms at Motswari and a family suite at Kapama. My children made friends with other children, hung out alone in the main lodge and moved freely around in a way I would never have allowed stateside. This was a life changing experience for all of us and if we should ever be able to return it won't have the same privilege as during this time of COVID. This really is the time to go, you'll remember it forever.

Reply from Greatest Africa
Reply from Greatest Africa
Posted on Apr 2, 2022

Dear Rachel,
Thank you so much for your kind review - it is hugely appreciated - hope you are able to return to our beautiful country some day..
kind regards
Richard Hilton

Chris West   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2021 Reviewed: Mar 3, 2021

Email Chris West  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Incredible Experience
5/5

After being required to reschedule our South African Safari trip to Kruger National Park twice due to COVID, we were able to finally go in February, 2021. Vanessa at Greatest Africa made the rescheduling process as seamless as possible, working with the three different resorts (Motswari, Hamilton's Tented Camp, Kapama Southern Camp) on three different occasions to confirm new dates.
My wife and I could not be more pleased with the trip. The game drives at each resort were memorable, as we saw more than anticipated, including the 'Big Five' several times over. The staff, service, food, and hospitality rank at the top of all vacations we've taken. Even the transfer company (Seasons of Africa...if I recall the name correctly) went above and beyond to ensure we were able to get to each location. Heavy rains threatened to delay our departure from Hamilton's Tented Camp for Kapama; however, whereas others who had driven their own personal vehicles were unable to leave Hamilton's that day due to the high water at a river crossing, the staff at Hamilton's (along with Greatest Africa and Seasons of Africa) determined we could still make it out via the private 'game drive' roads. We arrived at Kapama Southern Camp in time for the afternoon game drive.
Thanks to Vanessa and Richard at Greatest Africa for making this a great vacation! My wife and I are already planning on going back to South Africa and adding Cape Town to the next adventure.

Julius Hansen   –  
Denmark DK
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Mar 17, 2020

Email Julius Hansen  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A fantastic trip to South Africa and Mauritius
5/5

Vanessa from Greatest Africa was a great partner, and helped a lot in the planning and the execution of our vacation. We felt safe all the way, and enjoyed here knowledge of hotels and areas.

Graziella   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: December 2019 Reviewed: Feb 6, 2020

Email Graziella  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Amazing experience
5/5

Great communication, help, support, trying to find the best according to my wishes. The accommodations and the safaris were amazing, the people in the camps/lodges also : unforgettable
Also amazing experience in the Vic Falls in an amazing accommodation, amazing scenery.

I want to go back !!

Stacy Hansen   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2019 Reviewed: Feb 3, 2020

Email Stacy Hansen  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Truly mazing!
5/5

I worked with Vanessa and was so greatfull for her personal touch! All communication was as if I was talking to a friend. She followed through with all our needs, budget and crazy flexable schedule! I would recommend anyone using her or Richard as its not easy planning an African Safari from the states and being able to chat with these experts was so helpful! Thanks Vanessa!!!

Robin Rumboll   –  
Jersey JE
Visited: November 2019 Reviewed: Jan 10, 2020

Email Robin Rumboll  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Personal and efficient service.
5/5

Our experience with Greatest Africa was the perfect culmination of a visit to South Africa. The travel arrangements organised by Greatest Africa were seamless - everything working well and on time. The game reserve selected was excellent and we were well received and entertained throughout.

Matt   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: October 2019 Reviewed: Nov 19, 2019

Email Matt  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Special 20th Wedding Anniversary Trip
5/5

This was a special family holiday to celebrate an anniversary and I wanted it to be special - Richard, Vanessa and the team exceeded every expectation.
I gave Richard a rough outline of what we wanted to do/see, a guide budget and they did the rest. The communication with us from start to finish was outstanding; at no time did we feel uncertain about any of the arrangements and we got the impression Richard was really thinking about how he could tailor something exactly for us. The video/online itinerary he prepared was a brilliant way to share with the family where we were going and what we would be doing.
The hotels he selected for us for amazing; exactly what we had hoped for - luxurious, great locations, welcoming and not stuffy; real home away from home. The Cape Grace, particularly, is an amazing place to spend some time; the nicest people who knew our names from the moment we arrived.
The whole time we were in Africa, Richard and Vanessa were on the end of the phone/Whatsapp when we needed them with restaurant recommendations, tips on what do (we had a couple of days when the weather wasn't great and had time to kill), places not to miss etc - Richard is also a great wine lover and can be relied upon for a great recommendation.
All the travel around the Cape was seamless with "Steve The Driver", who is the nicest guy on the Cape, with great knowledge and stories on where were were and where to go.
When we went up to Vic Falls, Richard's knowledge of the trips to do and his organisational abilities were amazing; the Rhino walk, the white water rafting, the helicopter out of the gorge, the sunset Zambezi cruise, where do you stop? The River Club on the Zambezi is fabulous; like nowhere I've ever been - it's like stepping back 50 years, bespoke personal service with a huge smile.
All in all a fabulous holiday of a lifetime, made so much more special with the knowledge and care of Greatest Africa - thank you so much.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 26
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Greatest Africa, not SafariBookings