Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 117
  • 4 star 6
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 117 Reviews
Silvia Mayr   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Dec 1, 2022

Email Silvia Mayr  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Very positive experience- Definitely recommend
5/5

I decided quite late to try and book a trip to Akagera, and started comparing prices on Thursday for a tour on Saturday. Frank responded with a quote within an hour from my request. He was very professional and laid out the different options. As there were no groups going out that day, he suggested a private tour. Everything was organized within a day, he was very responsive via phone, and I must say it was excellent value for money. Hotel pick up, water, breakfast, packed lunch, park fees, vehicle and tour guide, everything was included in the $350 fee and I did not have to worry about a thing. The guide, Claude, was absolutely amazing. He was knowledgeable about the animals, was communicating with others in order to identify where they had been spotted, and was just overall a pleasure to hang out with. We were not lucky enough to see lions, but we saw a family of elephants, plus hippos, giraffes, zebras, warthogs, antelopes, monkeys, baboons, crocodiles and a huge variety of birds. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise too, on the terrace of a lodge with a stunning view over the lakes in the park. Only aspect that could be improved: It was not communicated to me that I needed a negative COVID test to enter the park, so when I found out I had to scramble to get one on Friday afternoon. Would be good to mention that in the exchanges next time around, but all turned out fine.

Daniela   –  
Germany DE
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 20, 2022

Email Daniela  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Perfect organization and very knowledgeable guide
5/5

Amazing experience with the 2-day Akagera Nationalpark Safari. Our guide Sam was very knowledgeable and organized everything for us. He made sure we see most of the animals and even turned around so we could still see the lion family. Also everything around the Safari was super organized and convenient, from booking and communication (all our questions were kindly answered before) to accommodation and arriving on time at the airport. Thanks for this amazing adventure!

Helen   –  
Sweden SE
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 14, 2022

Email Helen  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Sam was very nice and knowledgeable. He did his very best to create a great experience
5/5

We loved our day out in Akagera National Park and Golden Rwanda Safaris was a key success factor. Great service and they really made the effort to accommodate all our wishes.
The tour was magical. The respect for nature and the animals was lovely to notice. Our day out was framed by sharing and storytelling to amplify the experience. We can truly recommend Golden Rwanda Safaris.

Ole   –  
Norway NO
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 14, 2022

Email Ole  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Excellent safari
5/5

Had an excellent 1-day safari with Golden Rwanda safari’s and Emile as a guide. Picked up right outside our rented house in Kigali at 4am. Driving through Akagera for about 5 hours in perfect weather and saw a lot of animals.
Highly recommended

Dave K   –  
Canada CA
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 11, 2022

Email Dave K  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent service, really friendly, and knowledgeable guides!
5/5

I came to Rwanda looking for adventure and a once in a lifetime experience. After doing a lot of research of different providers, I met up with Frank at their Kigali tour office. It was a Saturday and I was leaving the following Friday, Frank asked me what I wanted to see and put together a custom trip for me at the last minute that looked fantastic. The next day, I met up with my guide Jean Claude, who took me to the Volcanos National Park. On the first day, we went to see the gorillas, this was a surreal experience! The second day we went back up into the park to see the Golden Monkeys, the trek in is great and there were hundreds of monkeys!
We drove back to Kigali and headed East to Akagera National Park, there was so much of the beautiful country to see along the way. We did a short game drive where we saw a lot of the animals in the park. In the morning we left for an all day game drive, this was an excellent experience as well!
The last day we headed back to Kigali and did a tour of the Kigali Genocide Memorial, something that allows you to understand the history of Rwanda.
I was headed out the next day and they gave me a ride to the airport!
I'd highly recommend Golden Rwanda Safaris to anyone looking for a great adventure with experienced, knowledgeable, kind people! If you're traveling solo (male or female) and wondering about safety, the people of Rwanda are probably the nicest, welcoming people I've ever met.
This was supposed to be a once in a lifetime trip, but I'll definitely be back for another trip!

Fredrik   –  
Norway NO
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 8, 2022

Email Fredrik  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Delivered as described
5/5

We got quick reply on all questions before the tour, was picked up as agreed, had full day of safari in comfortable Land Cruiser with A/C, and dropped off at hotel of own choise in Kigali. As of value for money, we did not check with other operators. However, check if the park entrance fee is included. In our case it was.

Dawid   –  
Germany DE
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 2, 2022

Email Dawid  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Great Experience
5/5

I had a great day heading to Akagera National Park together with Claude from Golden Rwanda Safaris. Everything went very smoothly, was well planned and communicated and we spend a lot of time in the national park.
Therefore I can recommend using Golden Rwanda Safaris if you are looking for a tour anywhere in Rwanda.

Jacqueline Fraser   –  
Canada CA
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 27, 2022

Email Jacqueline Fraser  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Guide Jean Claude Makes Your Safari Extra Special!
5/5

Our 3-day, 2-night safari to Akagera National Park was the fulfilment of a bucket wish list item. And our guide, Jean Claude, made the game drives even more exciting. We did a total of 4 game drives including one night drive led by Akagera National Park guide. Worth the money! Golden Rwanda Safari staff have provided us with a positive, memorable experience, were professional and accommodating, and answered our many questions before and after payment. In fact, the process to make payment is very easy and convenient for the user. Jean Claude, who has a degree in travel and tourism, is well-educated on and willingly shares his knowledge on Rwanda and wild game including the many birds and fauna in the national park. He worked hard and did not give up on helping us find elephants in the North on our last drive. Akagera Game Lodge is a top notch hotel which has kept its guests' needs in mind. The front office and F&B staff are all very friendly, helpful and just want to make sure your stay is not just enjoyable, but memorable!

Stéphanie   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 11, 2022

Email Stéphanie  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Highly service-oriented, customer-centered tour operator
5/5

I had a great time during a one-day tour in Akagera park in Rwanda.
Great tour guide, huge knowledge of the park and wildlife, tried everything to make me see a lot of animals.
I also did the boat tour that can be booked additionally. Definitely worth it!
Only think I would not do again, would be booking the meals. Would just bring or buy it for myself. Don't think the extra price you pay for that reflects the actual price and quality of the food you get. It's no issue at all to bring your own, or buy it in the lodge restaurant.
Otherwise, all was great.

Sean   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 3, 2022

Email Sean  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Reliable and delivered on all services agreed upon
5/5

On a recent trip to Africa we wanted to spend a short period in Rwanda to visit the Gorillas. We utilized Golden Rwanda Safaris to arrange everything from the Gorilla Permits, Hotel and transfers while in Rwanda. Frank and his team were very responsive before and throughout the trip. Our Driver Claude, who was assigned to us the entire time was great and assisted us with getting our PCR tests in time to visit the Gorillas. I would recommend Golden Rwanda Safaris for your time in Rwanda and would use them again. Thank you Frank, Claude, and the rest of your team!
Sean & Robert

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 117
  • 4 star 6
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Golden Rwanda Safaris , not SafariBookings