Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 11-20 of 83 Reviews
Maude   –  
France FR
Visited: February 2023 Reviewed: Feb 14, 2023

Email Maude  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Maude and not that of SafariBookings.
Terrible experience, stay away!

I had an unacceptable experience with Okoa tour, don’t ever book with them!! They changed last minute our reservation (2 nights in the hotel planned instead of 2 and one in a new one not chosen) notifying us only at the airport when we reached. Then, Michael drop the agency started raising his voice and was so disrespectful talking to me. He tried to scam me giving me back my change after I paid (giving me less in local money). In the end, the hotel that wasn’t planned keekorok was not satisfying at all, the room was small, dirty it really affected our trip. This agency is not reliable at all please stay away!!!

Reply from Okoa Africa Tours
Reply from Okoa Africa Tours
Posted on Feb 17, 2023

Dear Maude
Thank so much for your review. But your review is not genuine considering that you didn't have any problems with safari after confirming to me Johnson that you had a great game drive with our Masai guide called Gideon and you saw the whole big five animals including Rhino which is rare to see in Masai with few days. You booked your safari with us about 40 days before you landed in Nairobi but never send any deposit to help us reserved the rooms at Ashnil camp However we managed to secure to 2nights for you at at Ashnil camp using our own resources and for the flight to Masai Mara. Despite several requests from Michael to send deposit for rooms reservations at Ashnil camp as per your request eventually we couldn't manage to get requested 3nights without deposit payment due to demand at that time for Valentines day. While Keekorok Lodge with the same rate and location inside the park were available to accommodate us for a night without more deposit wanted. And this information was shared with you before you started the safari and you agreed to take that option. But later after finishing safari you started threatening us to give you 200 usd so you will stop writing negative review. According to your threats on WhatsApp you said if we give you 200 usd you will keep quiet and we can share them here.

Robert   –  
United States US
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Feb 4, 2023

Email Robert  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Super Accommodating and always available to help

I would definitely recommend okoa tours. You definitely get much more of experience than you pay for. Super budget friendly. It was great to meet other travels from all over world. Have already recommended this experience to others. Don't hesitate and just do it!!

Craig   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Nov 27, 2022

Email Craig  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Outstanding service, Great tour!

I can't say enough about the great service and experience that the folks at Okoa provided. Amazing guide, and overall a fantastic experience. I don't write reviews very often, but this tour took me a long time to explore and research as I was looking for something for my mother who was 79 at the time of the tour and myself. We were lucky enough to be the only ones booked during this week, so we ended up with a private tour for just the two of us. Obviously that won't happen to most folks. I highly recommend Okoa and be sure to have Mika organize things for you.

Shanta   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 16, 2022

Email Shanta  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very good service and Martin is the best driver. Mica was also very helpful.

There are too many options online for a safari operator and we were very confused but we just decided to go with Okoa Africa tours and we are really satisfied and happy with their services. My daughter planned the whole trip within a period of not even 3 weeks but it all worked out fine. We took a private safari and had no problem whatsoever. We got in touch with Mica first and Martin is the driver who was with us for the safari. His driving is excellent and he really knows it all. I would highly recommend Okoa for a safari in Kenya. Hope this review will help travelers to find a safari operator.

Yana   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 14, 2022

Email Yana  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Best Experience Ever!

We were absolutely thrilled with our trip, thanks to John and Mika!
We are so grateful for welcoming us and providing the best experience possible, it exceeded all our expectations! We believe we got super super lucky with John as our guide, it was a very sad moment to say good bye as we liked him so very much and we couldn’t wish for a better person to show us around and spend all this time with!
We got to see everything we wanted including the Big Five!
We were lucky to see the leopard, cheetah and lions several times.

We had our flight back late in the evening, they were so nice to take their time and show us around the Nairobi city and booked us an amazing restaurant to try all the unusual types or meats, which was a perfect way to finish our extraordinary experience !!!
Thank you thank you thank you! These guys are the best !!!

Giada   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Oct 7, 2022

Email Giada  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very well organized tour!

the tour went very well, organized with precision and without any problems.
Our guide, Jackson, was truly terrific, his help, his experience and his knowledge of the savannah were essential.
Communication with the okoa staff was always fast and reliable.
The places we slept in were comfortable, sometimes a little basic, but we were always treated with the utmost respect and kindness. We were a vegetarian group, and we had no problem always finding the right food for us, and even in the packed lunches they always worked to make us have a personalized menu.

Evgeniia   –  
Russia RU
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 6, 2022

Email Evgeniia  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The best tour operator ever!

There were amazing 6 days in Kenya with Okoa Afrika Tours!

Our driver John is real professional who made our wishes real as fast as possible and really cared about us during all 6 days. John we miss you and wish you all the best!

We spent the last day of safari in Nairobi with Mika and Johnson. They gave us the excursion, showed shoppes where we could buy some local products and told us the history of Kenya. In the end of our Kenya trip they took us to the Carnivore restaurant where we could try some special types of meat.

Thanks a lot to Okoa Afrika Tours for our amazing Kenya trip! Highly recommend the operator to everyone who wants to make their Afrikan trip the most comfortable and really unforgettable!

Nick   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 1, 2022

Email Nick

The review below is the personal opinion of Nick and not that of SafariBookings.
Don’t select, we were left stranded twice with independent drivers that did not know our itinerary.

We are experienced travelers who generally don’t mind small hiccups or slight plan changes. However, we experienced many issues on this safari that were unacceptable. No matter what tour agency you select, you will see the animals and the landscapes. If you don’t want those memories clouded by stress, uncertainty, and worry, pick a more reputable tour agency. This is not a professional outfit.

We were dropped off at multiple locations that didn’t match our provided itinerary with no Wi-Fi / service to contact the agency. In one instance, the next driver showed up 15 hours late. There was a lack of information and transparency that left us feeling unsafe, vulnerable, and stranded. We paid extra for a 4x4 Jeep but spent half of our time in various small sedans. We were not able to drive to one of the parks due to this.

A flat tire is reasonable and common. However, setting off on a three-day safari in the Serengeti with a damaged, leaking radiator is negligent and unsafe. We were stranded for two hours because the engine overheated and had to make several other stops to check on the vehicle throughout the tour.

Despite paying for an all-inclusive (planned) safari, we had independent or sub-contracted drivers who were not aware of our itinerary —including what parks we were to visit, where we were staying and the logistics of our next (unexpected) hand-offs. These drivers also didn’t have our information and we were forced to trust they were somehow affiliated with the company.

In one specific incident, a driver had no idea what our final destination was or where we were staying. This driver attempted to pick up friends along the way until we demanded to be taken to our accommodation. He didn’t know this accommodation, so we told him to take us to the accommodation we stayed in before we departed for the park where we knew we would have access to Wi-Fi to call for help. We then had to go to the new accommodation that was not on our provided itinerary.

Other issues we experienced:

1. Our accommodations didn’t match those listed on our itinerary and we were never provided with an updated version.
2. None of the jeeps were affiliated with Okoa Tours or the Tanzanian counterpart called Seven Wonders, despite other legitimate companies having branded vehicles.
3. All jeeps’ were older than the pictures provided and the charging outlets did not work as described.

After the tour we reached out to Okoa and they responded “But as far as the Kenya side nothing went wrong” because we arrived at the 3 listed parks.

Reply from Okoa Africa Tours
Reply from Okoa Africa Tours
Posted on Oct 4, 2022

Dear Nick we are glad to received your comment about your safari which you booked through Okoa Africa Tours and we are glad to hear your opinion about the safari and where we should improve our services especially with our working partner in Tanzania. Although it seems like your comment has some typo error on 15hrs waiting it must be an error you wrote because your safari it was a total of 9 days safari joining group budget camping safari and in Kenya you went and cover bother Masai Mara and Lake Naivasha as per the itinerary and the Tanzania side you went and visited Lake Manyara, Serengeti and Ngorongoro and all these parks you did a game drive as per the itinerary NO park was skipped. So this is why we believe that your comment about 15hrs is an error because if you could have waited for 15hrs you could NOT manage to cover all these parks and since you did visited all these parks in Tanzania side then you could have needed 1 day extra to complete your tour itinerary and since you did not add any extra day and your safari ended exactly on day 9th it is obvious that your comment about 15hrs is error typo on your side. Well during your safari its true you encounter some challenges because of the lack of communication between our Tanzania partner and his driver guides because you started safari with the driver who has the information about your accommodation on the last day in Arusha but due to the group joining safari some were remaining and you were to be drove back to Arusha and you were transfer to another car with another driver who did not have the information about your hotel in Arusha and i really appreciated how you communicated to us about it and we called our partner in Arusha and our partner in Tanzania followed with his driver guide to informed him where they booked for you in Arusha and that was solved within 15minutes after our Tanzania partner communicated with their driver and that the WAITED WE ARE AWARE OF BECAUSE YOU COMMUNICATED TO US ABOUT IT. Another challenge which came and you communicated to us about it and was solved immediately was at the hotel in Arusha for first night when the hotel thought that your room was only booked for bed & breakfast without dinner but again this was communicated by us to correct it and your room was later confirmed to you that is full board meaning included, bed dinner, breakfast. All the misunderstanding which came during your safari you communicated with us and was corrected immediately. On the issue of Wifi THIS WAS BUDGET CAMPING SAFARI AND AT CAMPSITE THERE IS NO WIFI YOU CAN ONLY GET WIFI AT MID RANGE AND LUXURY CAMP OR LODGES AND IF ITS HAPPENS YOU GET WIFI AT A BUDGET HOTEL LIKE YOU DID IN LAKE NAIVASHA THAT IS A CITY HOTEL NOT AT THE PARK. Thank you so much for your comment and advise and we are going to work on the things you recommend we improve on and next time when are you are booking your safari with Okoa Africa Tours you will not have a repeat of such challenges. Thank you so much and we are looking forward see you on your next trip to East Africa in the future.

Ben   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 26, 2022

Email Ben  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Ben and not that of SafariBookings.
Average company lacking transparency

Please note that Okora safaris is part of Big Time Safaris and is simply one of around 12 separate agencies all operating under Big Time Safaris.

We booked a 7 day budget sharing safari in Kenya. What we didn’t realise, and weren’t told, until we turned up at the office on the first day, was that this meant different members of the group are doing different itinerary’s. So for us we had a group of 7, 3 doing 3 days, 2 doing 5 days and the two of us doing 7.

We had assumed “sharing safari” meant we were joining a group of others all on the same trip rather than a private trip for the two of us.

The different schedules therefore resulted in swapping drivers at various points and wasted time dropping people off at inconvenient times and places. For example of day 3, on the way back from Massi Mara, rather than arranging a pick up point for three of the group In Narok, we ended up spending an extra 3 hours in the car as we drove most of the way back to Nairobi rather than going straight from the Masi Mara to Lake Nakuru via the road in Narok.

In Amboseli we were a group of 8 people in the mini van making it very tight for the game drive and with all of the bags. Please note all of the group had been told different things about maximum group size, some were told a max of 4 people some 6 people so 8 wasn’t acceptable to anyone.

The organisation and communication on the whole was poor and whilst everyone in the group appreciated we are in Africa and not Europe, the trip simply did not run as scheduled with all the car journeys taking hours longer than had been indicated.

Our guide was very knowledgeable but wouldn’t volunteer information unless asked and seemed content with doing the minimum required. For example On Day 3 in the Masai Mara, the guides view was that we had a good day on day 2 and saw lots of animals therefore the sunrise game drive that was scheduled for Day 3 was not required. After some awkward conversations he eventually agreed that the sunrise game drive could go ahead on Day 3…not the attitude you are looking for in a guide…He was also late on 2 occasions by over 45 minute late each time meaning we lost valuable sunrise game time in both the Masai Mara and Amboseli.

What was also disappointing was that we confirmed that we could pay by card, accepting a 2.5% charge for doing so. Our quote for the trip was priced in USD. However when arriving at the office the agency said this needed to be converted into Kenyan shillings at the rate that they would then need to convert Kenyan shillings back into dollars. In effect paying two conversation rates on the same payment. We challenged this and the “quoted exchange rate” was reduced albeit this seems completely unreasonable and unnecessary and still cost us almost $100 when compared to the market rate USD to Kenyan shillings rate on the date of transaction. It is my opinion that this is simply a scam so the agency can pocket some extra cash. Having booked other tours with other Kenyan companies priced in USD these “double exchange rate” payment did not exist.

All that being said the beauty of the Masai Mara, Lake Nakuru, Lake Naivasha and Amboseli is amazing it’s just a shame that the tour company were not transparent about what to expect on the trip and that our guide was context with doing the minimum required rather than trying to maximise the time available in these locations to give the best experience possible.

Reply from Okoa Africa Tours
Reply from Okoa Africa Tours
Posted on Aug 29, 2022

Dear Ben
Thank you so much for your comment and we are glad you have done your safari with us safely. The itinerary you requested before booking your safari with us was and is joining group safari and the amount you pay is and was budget joining group safari and NOT private safari we can't afford to operate your safari private if you pay for joining group safari this is because joining safari is affordable than private which is costly and this is why you chose to shared the cost with other travelers. Okoa Africa Tours is NOT Big Time Safaris but Okoa Africa Tours share operation office with other 5 companies and Big Time Safaris is one of them. Is expensive to have office in Nairobi city so Okoa Africa Tours and other companies work at one offfice to help us shared the cost just like you booking joining group Safaris to help you get affordable safari. On the rate of exchange this issue really give us challeges with travellers who don't prefer paying the safari in Cash or online paymeny by card 7 weeks before safari, And prefer paying by card in the office at the office the card payment machine is in Kenya Shllings and if you were to pay by card in the office your dollars payment we will receive it in Kenya shillings because of that card machine at the office is Kenya Shilling account and because of this we will convert your dollar payment with the currect bank rate which is not in our hand but BANKS which KEEP CHANGING SELLING DOLLAR RATE and online selling dollar rate is always lower compare to local bank rate. And atually we always gave you option to pay in cash in dollars to avoid giving banks adavatage of getting extra ksh or pay in dollars by online card payment 7 days before your arrival day

Francesco   –  
Italy IT
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 23, 2022

Email Francesco  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Francesco and not that of SafariBookings.
good tour, but poor communication from the tour operator

5 stars to the experience, amazing landscapes and lots of animals
5 stars to Boniface who went to great lengths to show us the best
5 stars to the group, very nice and friendly people, it was a pleasure to stay with them
4 stars to the accomodations, considering the budget it was good
3 stars to the food, it was good, but always the same, and as vegetarian for lunch bag always boiled eggs
2 stars to Okoa, we had to pay 7% more because we paid by card, and no one had warned us that there were additional charges with the card, otherwise we would have paid in cash. The tour is the same with other tour operators, we were staying in the same van, same hotels, all the same, with people who had booked with other tour operators, but maybe with other tour operators we would have saved money.

Reply from Okoa Africa Tours
Reply from Okoa Africa Tours
Posted on Aug 29, 2022

Dear Francesco,
Thank you so much for your comment, we are glad to hearing back from you and is great you enjoyed your safari. The card charges its not ours but by bank and the charges is less than 5% NOT 7% YOU MENTIONED we believe maybe that was error you wrote

Average User Rating
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 54
  • 4 star 23
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 2
Write a Review


  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Okoa Africa Tours, not SafariBookings