Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 90
  • 4 star 12
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 103 Reviews
Dave Dunlop   –  
Spain ES
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Mar 1, 2024

Email Dave Dunlop  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Dave Dunlop and not that of SafariBookings.
Recent Visit
3/5

The lodge facilities were excellent as was the area surrounding the compex. Fabulous views from the hotel room and an excellent staff who were very helpfull with any requests. The safari was a big disappointment as there is no such thing as the guaranteed viewing of the big 5, there are no leopards. Very view animals to view, 3 giraffes visiable from 200 mtrs, 5 elephants,5 rhino, 1 lion and 3 lioness, 5 hippos, 3 eland and a handful of sprinboks was all that was seen during the 3 days. The animals all appeared be fed by the staff and appeared relatively tame, certainly not wild. The terrain they live in is not really their natural habitat as there is nothing for them to eat or hunt. It you want to see the animals in their natural habitat then go to Kruger or Chobe and see the animals in the real world.

Reply from Gems of Africa Safari and Tours
Reply from Gems of Africa Safari and Tours
Posted on Mar 6, 2024

Dear Mr Dunlop, Trust you are well and thank you very much for sharing your review.
We are very happy to hear that the staff and facilities at Aquila Private Game Reserve were great. Unfortunately, all the safari lodges near Cape Town, 7 in total, have all reintroduced wildlife where some of them once roamed and offer more of a taste of a safari experience near Cape Town if you don't have the time to travel to Kruger National Park. For a first time safari, Aquila Private Game Reserve is perfect but if you have been to Botswana or Kruger National Park before, I would not recommend it. I have personally been to Aquila Private Game Reserve a few times with my 8yr old and Husband and we love it with many guests coming back having enjoyed it. It really depends on the guests and their expectations. These private game reserves don't have the size to accommodate herds and herds of each type of species, and therefore provide a glimpse of these beautiful creatures. We hope to assist you in the future if you ever want to travel to Botswana, Zimbabwe or Kruger National Park. Kind Regards the Gems of Africa Safari & Tours Family

edwin   –  
Singapore SG
Visited: December 2023 Reviewed: Jan 5, 2024

Email edwin  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Responsive
4/5

Mpho Thulo was responsive via email (within same day or within 3 working days) and answered all my queries well. I was presented with good options that catered to a wide range of budgets and needs.

We really enjoyed the service and the safari at Bottlierskop Private Reserve! Got up SUPER close to lions, elephants, rhinos, impalas, elands, and many more. The guides were humorous and extremely knowlegeable. Food was excellent. The lodging was gorgeous.

Only room for improvement would be to have gotten confirmation of the driver pick up timings and contact earlier. We had to call the company for it the day before when we didn't hear anything. That said, the driver was EXCELLENT.

Per   –  
Sweden SE
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Jul 18, 2023

Email Per  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Good organized and very welcoming
4/5

I did a 2 nigit safari and went on an atv tour ond of the afternoons it was a fantastic experience.
Food was good and they also had a good selection of wines

Nicolas   –  
France FR
Visited: April 2023 Reviewed: May 2, 2023

Email Nicolas  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Alright. Serious and great guide
4/5

Very responsive, they organized a garden route circuit for us in a very short time with a top guide.

(automatic translation from French)

Alex   –  
Germany DE
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Jan 12, 2023

Email Alex  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Agency that brokers stays at Game lodges in South Africa
4/5

I was a little late looking for a Game Lodge close to Cape Town and somehow ended up with Gems of Africa.

They were not able to get me a stay at one lodge, but the stay had to be split on two lodges. Due to a storm one of those than had to close for a longer period for renovation and Gems got me an alternative - unfortunately with a 3-4 hour drive instead of 30 min. In the end the drive was not too bad, since I got to see a little bit of the country. Bad thing: I had to pay extra, because the alternative lodge was a little more expensive. Well, it probably also was a little more luxurious.

Gems of Africa handled everything nicely. Thank you!

Daniele Weber   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 17, 2022

Email Daniele Weber  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Knowledgeable
4/5

The safari was great, the animals were beautiful and I loved the opportunity of being as near as possible from them. Thank you Gems of Africa!

Elena   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 22, 2022

Email Elena  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great!
4/5

What a great experience! Very nice resort, great game drives and beautiful spa !

Posh Obk   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: April 2021 Reviewed: May 6, 2021

Email Posh Obk  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Great, very helpful
4/5

Great deals and Janine is very helpful. I loved the fact that they also included a list of what to pack to make sure you are ready for anything and have a great experience too. The lodge was amazing, good welcome by the staff. Overall I had an amazing time, staff takes care of you, whatever you want, they are super nice, just amazing. I'll definitely use Gems of Africa a lot.

Noel   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: March 2021 Reviewed: Mar 31, 2021

Email Noel  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Awesome service and quick response and more affordable than other operators.
4/5

I was very happy from start to finish with all the arrangements.
a few days before we went to Mabula we were contacted again and reminded.
They also hoped that we would have a good break.
That we did indeed! Was a much needed very enjoyable 3nights 4day stay.

look forward to using them again in the future.
regards
Noel

Jacopo Brogiotti   –  
Italy IT
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Feb 18, 2020

Email Jacopo Brogiotti  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

One day Safari + quad bike ride in Aquila Private Reserve
4/5

I experienced the full day activity in the Aquila Private Reserve. The Resort was fantastic, with great food and a nice spa. The safari, though, was not as exciting as I expected, but it's a matter of external conditions.
I had the greatest time with the quad bike ride!
I totally recomment Gems of Africa!

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 90
  • 4 star 12
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Gems of Africa Safari and Tours, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Gems of Africa Safari and Tours are subject to their terms & conditions