Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 51
  • 4 star 9
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 60 Reviews
Caterina   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 21, 2023

Email Caterina  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Fantastic experience!
5/5

Incredible experience and organization of the trip. We really enjoyed travelling with Gems of Africa and found the service outstanding.

Mdluli Safari Lodge:
The staff was extremely helpful and professional
Room was very clean and the food delicious
However, we struggled with the electrivity in our room (i.e. there was one light that kept turning the whole tend electricity off if turned on which was not ideal) and the WiFi was quite bad (especially in the room where you could not connect - this was far from ideal given there was no connection in the lodge)
Game drives
Very positive experience especially with the girl with whom we did the 6-12 game drive the second day - she is very outstanding!
Loved the fact that we could stop to have breakfast / drinks
Saw a lot of animals which was great, would have loved to go deeper in the bush vs. normal road but I guess that was also driven by the weather
Once again, amazing organization - we hope to be back!

Melanie C.   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 14, 2023

Email Melanie C.  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Wonderful experience!
5/5

My husband and I used Gems of Africa Safari & Tours to book 2 luxury safari experiences while vacationing in South Africa for 2 weeks. We started planning 6 months in advance. They made the process easy by providing us with various options and laying out all the details. Prior to and during our vacation, they were very communicative and responsive! For the 2 luxury safari packages we chose, the detailed itinerary was planned for us - from pick up, drop off, flights, and lodging (includes game drives). The itinerary was perfect for us! Thank you Gems of Africa & Tours for making our first South African safari experience so memorable!

Alex   –  
Germany DE
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Jan 12, 2023

Email Alex  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Agency that brokers stays at Game lodges in South Africa
4/5

I was a little late looking for a Game Lodge close to Cape Town and somehow ended up with Gems of Africa.

They were not able to get me a stay at one lodge, but the stay had to be split on two lodges. Due to a storm one of those than had to close for a longer period for renovation and Gems got me an alternative - unfortunately with a 3-4 hour drive instead of 30 min. In the end the drive was not too bad, since I got to see a little bit of the country. Bad thing: I had to pay extra, because the alternative lodge was a little more expensive. Well, it probably also was a little more luxurious.

Gems of Africa handled everything nicely. Thank you!

Emily   –  
Canada CA
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Dec 28, 2022

Email Emily

Professional and extremely helpful
5/5

My husband and I were clueless about how/what to book for our Safari honeymoon. I found Gems of Africa online and Janine was so incredibly helpful and patient with us. She provided us with endless options for everything we wanted to do and prompt answers to all our questions. What we ended up booking was so incredible and beyond our expectations. We are so happy with how our trip turned out and when we go back to Africa, we will most definitely reach out to Janine again!

Dea Hoeg   –  
Denmark DK
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Dec 6, 2022

Email Dea Hoeg  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing
5/5

We had the best advice and help we could ask for by booking with Gems of Africa Safari & Tours. I had a million questions since this was our first (but not last) time to South Africa - always mails answering my questions. We can only recommend other travelers to book with Gems of Africa Safari & Tours.

KathInga   –  
Germany DE
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Dec 6, 2022

Email KathInga  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

"Wilderness light" almost close enough to touch
5/5

Round trip was in comfortable minibuses for 10 people. Aquila is a wonderful place if you want to experience the Big 5 in the wild for the first time. Of course it’s not the real wilderness, but it gives you a taste of real safaris. I enjoyed the ride through the grounds in a small group. Our companion Charlie gave us interesting insights into the animal world and guided us very well. Time flew by and I was in a completely different world all day long.

Zivile   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Nov 27, 2022

Email Zivile  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

great help, very clear and very quickly responding, service received exceeded request & expectations
5/5

All the provided service was really of high quality, very helpful, service that we received exceeded request and expectations. For example, car transfer from airport was private instead of group transfer. We were positively surprised, very happy, comfortable, safe and very grateful. All possible instructions and advice was given beforehand the trip, thus we were well prepared. We cannot recommend it more.

Preet   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Nov 26, 2022

Email Preet  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Gems was communicative, flexible, and helpful.
5/5

Visiting Kruger National Park was a must for our South Africa vacation. The logistics, however, were not easy. After significant research, we contacted Gems and within hours had secured ground transportation from Jo'burg, a stay at the Mdluli Lodge, and ground transportation back via the Panorama Route with stops along the way. Our driver was very timely and accommodating. The Lodge was wonderful and thanks to Gems, we secured the full board plan which allowed us to enjoy the magnificent location without worrying about meal plans. I highly recommend Gems for any foreign travelers wanting convenient and safe transportation and lodging.

Thomas   –  
United States US
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Nov 23, 2022

Email Thomas  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Gems of Africa is helpful, prompt in their response, and a group I would use again.
5/5

We submitted a request to Safari Bookings a little over a month in advance of our trip to South Africa. Within a day of submitting the request, Janine from Gems of Africa responded to our inquiry with multiple options available that met our initial parameters. Throughout the correspondence, Janine was very prompt in her responses to me, even with the time change. She was able to provide great insight and I felt like with the information we were provided, we were able to make the right decision for our vacation. Upon booking our stay with Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve, Janine provided us with detailed instructions on where to go and when we needed to arrive at our destination. The experience we had at Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve - staying at the Kuganha Luxury Tented Camp felt like the right price that we were quoted/charged by Gems of Africa. If we return to South Africa in the future and need to book another safari, I will be working with Gems of Africa again!

Daniele Weber   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Nov 17, 2022

Email Daniele Weber  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Knowledgeable
4/5

The safari was great, the animals were beautiful and I loved the opportunity of being as near as possible from them. Thank you Gems of Africa!

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 51
  • 4 star 9
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Gems of Africa Safari and Tours, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Gems of Africa Safari and Tours are subject to their terms & conditions