Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 15
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 15 Reviews
Robert   –  
Germany DE
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Nov 11, 2022

Email Robert  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Discovering Ethiopia as country of origin
5/5

My adoptive son (17) and I visited Ethiopia, his birthplace, in October 2022. We didn’t want to be part of a group-tour to get in touch with Ethiopia, the aim was more being on our own – only with guide and driver. Although SimienEcoTours do offer group-tours, the people at SET comprehend our special father-son-situation and therefore expectations for this trip and they offered us a perfect all-inclusive program for a reasonable price. The schedule Addis – Flight to Bahir Dar – Gondar – excursion to Simien Mountains N.P. – Gondar – Lalibela – Flight to Addis was absolutely adequate for a first visit and worked out fine. (Due to the situation in Tigray at that time, Axum wasn’t part of the program.) Judging by the plenty of our impressions of landscape, wildlife and encountering people in Ethiopia we both were totally happy with the program as well with the organization and performance by the SET-staff: Good choice and quality of hotels/lodges, good suggestion of restaurants and lunch-spots. Also to be mentioned: the wide knowledge of our tour-guide about the country and its people and culture. The jeep-ride (Toyota) was comfortable and always safe.

Rolf Hecker   –  
Germany DE
Visited: March 2020 Reviewed: Jun 8, 2020

Email Rolf Hecker  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazingly thought-through & well organized program that allows to focus on exploring the country.
5/5

My positive experience started with proper assistance in planning. I communicated my expectations and SimienEco came back to me with options and suggestions prior to my trip. Once the travel started, I have to say that both the program as well as the different guides were great. As requested, the tour offered a good balance of outdoor activities (like trekking) and cultural program. The guides were all locals and very knowledgeable about the regions/places I travelled to. In the beginning, I was a little surprised that I don't "keep" the same guide/driver for the entire trip (which might be an option if you ask for it), but this also turned out to be very beneficial, since a) you have real locals as guides that - most of the time - were even born and raised in the region - and b) I met more locals that I would have met otherwise, which gives much more insight into the country.

Detlev und Christa   –  
Germany DE
Visited: November 2019 Reviewed: Jun 1, 2020

Email Detlev und Christa  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Perfect Service fron A toZ
5/5

professional service right from the start. very competent advice on all components. Ms. Gerling responded to all of our requests and made an unforgettable journey possible for us. we had very good drivers Hiluf and Abraham and a good guide. a dream trip that could not have been better organized. Flexible changes during the trip were easily made possible. Problems were solved quickly and easily. 1a top service that is unconditionally recommended.

Perta   –  
Germany DE
Visited: November 2019 Reviewed: May 19, 2020

Email Perta  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A fascinating trip to the northern part od Ethiopia organized by SimienEcoTours
5/5

SimienEcoTours is the company that organized our safari trip in a perfect way. The programme of the journey was very impressive. The well-informed guides did their best to show us the highlights of their contry. They gave us enough time to photograph the breathtaking scenic views and told us interesting information about the world famous churches of Lalibela and others. My expectations were fulfilled and I'm looking forward to a trip to the southern part of Ethiopia as soon as it will be possible. - Of course organized by SimienEcoTours again!
Best wishes P.S.

Gerhard M.   –  
Germany DE
Visited: November 2019 Reviewed: May 16, 2020

Email Gerhard M.  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Great insight into the culture and nature of Northern Ethiopia and excellent consultation
5/5

The connections to SimienEcoTours and the consultations before our tour were excellent. Our drivers drove responsible and safely in all situations. They cleaned up the bus every day. The local guides had good knowledge of their subjects and tranfered it very well to our group. Our guide for the entire tour was always open to our questions and he organized the daily programs in a good timing, including the contacts in the hotels. The individual choice of meals during our tour was very pleasant. We had many contacts to the culture of Northern Ethiopia and got a lot of informations about the different regions and their fascinating history. The program was very well planned and we had a great time in Ethiopia. I would highly recommend our tour operator SimienEcoTours. Our expectations were met to a high degree.

Ha-Jo   –  
Germany DE
Visited: January 2019 Reviewed: May 15, 2020

Email Ha-Jo  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Two German couples on a well organized and guided tour to the highlights of Northern Ethiopia
5/5

A good plan is half the success: our plan to go to Ethiopia was detailed and finalized together with Franziska Gerling, an experienced guide of SimienEco Tours with lots of on site know-how about what to see and how to travel. On our trip with a designated and excellent guide and an experienced and safe driver we found out, that our plan was worth a lot in a dynamic and vital environment of such a tour. Our guide and driver had a good feeling to give us the time we needed to see what we wanted to see, to get in tough with the Ethiopian people and to experience the things you need to understand this country. But they had also a clear idea of the overall schedule which finally made this trip unforgettable for us.

Gertrud   –  
Germany DE
Visited: November 2019 Reviewed: May 15, 2020

Email Gertrud  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

I would recommend SimienEcoTours to anyone who is planning to visit Etiopia!
5/5

SimienEcoTours is an organization that makes tourists feel important. The organization offers good services regarding safari tours and tries very hard to meet the expectations of the visitors in the best possible manner. Communications were understandable in both language and resoning. To the best of their abilities the organization fullfilled my expectations.

Alice   –  
France FR
Visited: February 2019 Reviewed: May 15, 2020

Email Alice  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Simien Eco Tours organised a flexible, amazing, adventurous and responsible a-la-carte tour for us!
5/5

Planning our travel with Simien Eco-Tours was an easy and very relaxed process. We had very specific needs and desires for this trip and each of them were looked into with great attention and flexibility. Our trip had to be very condensed and the team worked around our timeframe very well. The guides were amazing (both in Harar and the Simien Mountains), very knowledgeable, relaxed, friendly and pleasant. We always felt safe and were able to enjoy this trip at any time! The choices of accommodation and restaurants were always spot on, and the drivers and cars were very safe. We had been in Ethiopia before so we also know how hard it can be to organise such a complicated trip with our timeframe, but Simien Eco-tours managed perfectly! The safari in the Simien Mountains were the ultimate moment of the trip, our guide was patient and extremely knowledgeable. We loved it!

Katrin   –  
Germany DE
Visited: October 2019 Reviewed: May 14, 2020

Email Katrin  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Professional and perfect organisation with super guide and driver
5/5

To me our trip to Ethiopia has been an adventure in the first place. I didn't have any expectations other than completely relying on SimienEcoTours and their organization. I felt perfectly safe during the trip with our guide Abebaw and the driver Melis and I was well prepared with all the information which we had got before the trip. During the trip we had regular contact with the tour office of SimienEcoTours and had the opportunity to give feedback or ask for changes. Both Abebaw, our guide, and Melis, our driver, were good company during the entire trip and Abebaw did a perfect job as an ambassador for his country. I learnt a lot about Ethiopia and its people and I am sure that I will come back in the future.

Hermann Brugger   –  
Italy IT
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: May 13, 2020

Email Hermann Brugger  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The adventure tour to Ethiopia's highest mountains ranks among the best experiences we ever had.
5/5

We have traveled a lifetime through all continents and most geographic areas of the globe as individual travelers and adventurers. I'd like to say that this adventure tour was one of the best we ever had. Communications ahead of departure and services during the trek and transfers were optimal and came up to our expectations. Agency, guide and staff were terrific and very flexible to comply with our wishes. We want to come back and recommend SimienEcoTours to those who love mountaineering and want to explore culture and peoples of Ethiopia!

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 15
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by SimienEcoTours, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by SimienEcoTours are subject to their terms & conditions