Reviews

Average User Rating
4.8/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 35
  • 4 star 3
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-1 of 1 Reviews
Rana   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: July 2026 Reviewed: Aug 7, 2026

Email Rana  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Rana and not that of SafariBookings.
Great trip overall!
3/5

About me: I'm a 24-year-old woman, and this was both my first solo trip and my first safari experience.

Communication: Neema was professional, responsive, and easy to communicate with from the very beginning. She made sure my preferences were taken into account while planning the trip, and the travel dates I wanted for Tanzania and Zanzibar weren't an issue, which made everything much easier. She also checked in with me during the trip, which I really appreciated and made me feel supported.

The only downside was that I ended up staying at a different hotel than the one originally planned, and I wasn't informed about the change until I asked.

The tour: My itinerary included a 3-day safari (Tarangire, Ngorongoro Crater, and Lake Manyara) followed by 7 days in Zanzibar.

The first safari day was absolutely incredible and everything I had hoped for. Unfortunately, the second and third days were much shorter than I expected. Our group left significantly later than the other safari groups, yet I was the first person back at my hotel, arriving shortly after lunch both days. That was disappointing because the safari was the part of the trip I had been looking forward to the most, especially after traveling such a long way to get there.

Zanzibar, however, was amazing and packed with fun activities. I went snorkeling for the first time and saw beautiful fish and yes, even though I can't swim! I also went on a dolphin tour, fed turtles, did a glass kayak photoshoot, and experienced a deep-sea walk. On the way to Stone Town, I visited a spice farm, and later I explored the town and learned about its fascinating history. Towards the end of my trip, I visited Prison Island, where I saw the island's famous giant tortoises, before relaxing at the beautiful Nakupenda Beach.

One unfortunate part of my trip was an unexpected and unpleasant experience with my guide just before visiting Stone Town. Thankfully, Neema apologized for his unprofessional behavior and resolved the situation the very same day, so I was able to continue the rest of my trip as planned. I genuinely appreciated how quickly she handled the issue because, at that point, I wasn't sure if I even wanted to continue with the remaining tours.

Value for money: The shorter safari days and my experience with one of the guides in Zanzibar definitely affected my overall impression and made me question whether the trip was worth the price. However, aside from those issues, I had a wonderful experience overall and made some unforgettable memories. That's why I'm giving this tour 3 out of 5 stars.

Reply from Sunscape Safaris
Reply from Sunscape Safaris
Posted on Oct 5, 2026

Thank you Rana for taking the time to share such detailed feedback. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Zanzibar and that we were able to support you throughout the trip.

Regarding the accommodation, the options initially shared are provisional and subject to availability until the booking is confirmed with payment. The final accommodation details were included in our last emails together with your pre-safari pack, so it appears this may have been missed. We do, however, apologize if the change was not clear enough.

As discussed with our safari specialist during the initial planning, group safaris have less flexibility, as travellers come from different backgrounds, with different preferences and schedules. We understand, however, that the shorter game-drive days were disappointing, particularly as the safari was a highlight of your trip. We wish you had raised this with us while you were on safari, as we would have been happy to discuss the situation with you and explore what could be done at the time.

We also sincerely apologize for the unprofessional experience you encountered in Zanzibar. We’re grateful that you brought it to our attention and allowed us to resolve it promptly.

Thank you again for trusting Sunscape Safaris with your first safari and solo trip. We truly appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve our service.

Average User Rating
4.8/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 35
  • 4 star 3
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Sunscape Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Sunscape Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions