Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 28
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 28 Reviews
Brenda   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 9, 2024

Email Brenda  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Michelle took the time to listen to what we wanted and planned the right package for us.
5/5

We were able to see the Big Five many times. The service at the lodges that we stayed at was excellent and the value was exceptional. English was widely spoken.

Gavin Ip   –  
Hong Kong HK
Visited: December 2023 Reviewed: Jan 20, 2024

Email Gavin Ip  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

We have never travelled with so much ease. The whole trip is nicely arranged by Michelle.
5/5

We are glad to have found Michelle on SafariBookings.com. We went to South Africa (Cape Town) & Kruger National Park at the end of December 2023. We were planning our trip to South Africa just one month before departure. Michelle managed to help us find high quality (quite exclusive) accommodation and quality tours. We faced no problem during the journey thanks to her great effort in planning and organizing the trip with the transfer, accommodation, day tour, and domestic flight service providers.

We understand that luck is a huge factor for safari game drive. We managed to see all big 5 animals during the 5 days of safari in the Greater Kruger area, staying at 2 campsites.

We must also mention that Michelle is very accommodating to our requests for changing some of the itinerary items. She presented us 2 routes for selection, with different hotels and in different areas of the Kruger area, after which she customised with our preference.

Would definitely recommend to anyone going to Africa

Andrew   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2023 Reviewed: Dec 26, 2023

Email Andrew  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Attentive, Careful and Caring
5/5

Michelle at Explore & Travel Africa was the perfect travel guide. She was super friendly and interested in tailoring a bespoke experience based on my interests and budget, as well as her own vast experience. I thoroughly enjoyed my safari experience as well as the lodges she organized. It really couldn't have been a better trip. She even made good when we had a misunderstanding, treating me with respect and going beyond what was necessary to satisfy me. I would work with her again, and again!

Watson Family   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Dec 24, 2023

Email Watson Family  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Michelle created the most perfect bespoke South Africa safari for my family of five
5/5

In January 2023, I used the safari bookings website to help me plan the holiday of a lifetime for my wife, three teenage children and I in August 2023. The website was incredibly helpful for comparing different itineraries and costs. By March I had down-selected three suppliers from safari bookings website to work with to develop a bespoke package for my family. All three were excellent, and I eventually picked Michelle at 'Explore and Travel Africa' .

Michelle arranged a week's safari across two different lodges in the Kruger National Park and all transfers in between, including a day safari around the park itself, rather than just the private game reserves that the lodges were in, and a day trip to three different locations (an animal rehabilitation facility, a boat ride, and (the best ever) Elephant experience). So it was a rather complex itinerary yet Michelle arranged it faultlessly.

I loved being able to speak via whatsapp, so it wasn't just an email exchange. I also loved Michelle's breadth of knowledge of the African safari market for great suggestions. Where Michelle didn't know the answer (e.g. would a hotel configure a bedroom with suitable beds for my three adult-sized teenagers, rather than pull-out beds?), then she went the extra mile of contacting the hotels and confirming back to me. This gave me so much reassurance.

When we landed at the airport, we were met by a driver who ferried us to our first lodge. And from that moment onwards, the itinerary ran faultlessly. Drivers were always on time, lodges were arranged perfectly (and they were beautiful lodges!), and the additional activities were breathtaking (especially the Elephant experience!!).

I wholeheartedly recommend Michelle and Explore and Travel Africa to you for your next African adventure!

Claudia   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Dec 3, 2023

Email Claudia  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very relyable and competent
5/5

We booked a 7-day safari with "explore & travel africa". It was simply fantastic and everything worked wonderfully. Michelle helped us a lot with the planning and catered to our wishes. We wanted simpler accommodation and Mboma Island Camp was exactly what we had in mind. Michelle sent us some suggestions with very detailed information so that we could really choose what we liked. We then booked 2 nights in a more luxurious lodge so that we could also get to know this side, it was also very nice at "Little Sabel" and the guide was also very competent, but not as familiar as at Mboma Island Camp. We also had a very competent guide at Mboma Island Camp and we saw and observed a lot of animals at both places. Michelle even helped us to hire a cheap hire car for our trip from Durban to Cape Town and when we had some problems with the rental company we were able to call her and she spoke to him and took care of everything. We were very grateful. We would definitely recommend explore & travel africa.

Vanessa   –  
Canada CA
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Dec 3, 2023

Email Vanessa  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very helpful! Worked through my options with me, happy to deal with all my questions!
5/5

Michelle was wonderful. Have us lots of good info, and answered so our anything questions. Worked with us to find a place for our desired experience and budget. Followed up just before we left and afterwards as well.

Loic   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: October 2023 Reviewed: Nov 14, 2023

Email Loic  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Expertise and kindness
5/5

A perfectly well organized stay in the wildlife heaven of Greater Kruger in South Africa. Michelle and her team made a splendid job to offer us the best experience possible. We highly recommend their expertise !

Jennifer   –  
Canada CA
Visited: October 2023 Reviewed: Nov 9, 2023

Email Jennifer  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Extremely knowledgeable of the area and our safari was organized efficiently with what we needed
5/5

Dealing with Michelle at Explore & Travel Africa was a delight. She knows the camps and listened to what we were wanting in our safari to Botswana. The camps we chose from the selection she sent were wonderful, Savuti and Tubu Tree each different in character but run in the best way where we were treated so well. Michelle, had a face time talk with us which was very helpful, ensuring she was suggesting the camps that suited our preferences. In both camps the guides were excellent and the game viewing wonderful. Thank you Michelle for making this safari great, everything worked according to plan.

Pat & Michelle   –  
Australia AU
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Oct 31, 2023

Email Pat & Michelle  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

An amazing trip organised by an amazing person - Michelle
5/5

A trip of a lifetime.. Michelle was a legend in organising at very short notice, the most amazing African Safari and visit to Victoria Falls. She was more than willing to jump on a zoom call to work out what we wanted to do and where we wanted to go and then pulled together the most amazing trip visiting Zimbabwe, Zambia, Botswana and Cape Town in South Africa. She worked overtime to lock in our African flights, Safaris and accommodation and at a price that met our budget. We got to see the Magnificent 7 on the Safaris, the majestic Victoria Falls and met some wonderful people along the way. We could not have been happier with the way Michelle communicated with us, the organisation of it was first class and so thankful in the way out trip played out.

Gautam/ Genevieve   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Oct 16, 2023

Email Gautam/ Genevieve  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Perfect in every sense
5/5

We interviewed several travel consultants while planning for our first trip to South Africa. Our connection with Michelle was instant. She was extremely pleasant, knowledgeable and quick to grasp our needs (vegetarian meals cooked without cross- contamination etc). Her recommendations, Simbambili lodge turned out to be way better than our expectations so also Oliver hotel in Nespruit. Transportation were seamless. Michelle made us available at any time of the day and always made us feel that we were talking to a friend. She cared to check on us at every stage to make sure everything was going perfectly smooth. Michelle works at much higher level than your average (travel agent) Joe and experience with her has made us start planning for another trip to different parts of Africa already! No Safari trip is cheap but if one puts the proper price for the service, we feel this was one of the best deals for money spent.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 28
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Explore & Travel Africa, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Explore & Travel Africa are subject to their terms & conditions