Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 227
  • 4 star 10
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 10 Reviews
Jan Lisztwan   –  
France FR
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 9, 2022

Email Jan Lisztwan  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Trip organised in a totally professional manner with a high level of efficiency and reliability
4/5

Second trip to Namibia
This has been again a wonderful experience. Visited 4 different locations, which I rate below starting with the best:
1. Little Kulala - fantastic accommodation, super friendly staff, very good food, very knowledgeable guide Markus, Soussusvlei at its best!!
2. Fish River Canyon - breathtaking location, super accommodation, very friendly staff, not much to see accept the canyon. Hike down to the canyon truly challenging and better save your energy to go back up!. Guides really focusing primarily on the canyon hike.
3. Aus Vista lodge Eagle's nest - impressive location of the chalets, though remoteness from the main lodge (7 km) requires driving for every meal - not the best. Very friendly and helpful staff, good food, beautiful hikes and sundowner rides.
4. Kalahari Anib lodge - operation set up for large groups, quick turnover, reasonable accommodation, average food, good for a short stop-over

In the first 3 locations they had no problem do address my daughter's dietary limitations (diary products), at Anib lodge they cared less.

Zofia   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 4, 2022

Email Zofia  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Solo Trip
4/5

I had wanted to go to Africa for a long time but as a young solo female traveller was slightly nervous. I decided to book through a company and Discover Africa were amazing.
I booked in 2019 for a trip in 2020 - then Covid hit. They were great with delaying my trip until 2021 and then 2022.
The trip itself was seamless - I was picked up at the airport and all my transfers throughout my stay were smooth. The locations that were selected for me were amazing.
Adelle was incredibly helpful and responsive whenever I had questions or concerns.
It was brilliant.

Jeff   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2021 Reviewed: Aug 26, 2021

Email Jeff  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Takes care of all the details!
4/5

Discover Africa did a wonderful job in ensuring that all of our trip details were taken care of. Especially with all of the intricacies that Covid-19 placed on our trip, our vacation went extremely smoothly and every connection, pick-up, transfer and communication was well thought out and accounted for. It is rare, in our experience, that there is not at least one "hiccough" in one's travel plans, especially when the itinerary involves travel between multiple countries, each with their own Covid-19 protocols and requirements, but this trip went smoothly and every detail was considered and addressed.

Benno   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: November 2019 Reviewed: Nov 16, 2019

Email Benno  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

very good
4/5

good communication but cessna flight infos and buffet food style were not so detailed. Safari and staff very excellent

ag   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2019 Reviewed: Apr 2, 2019

Email ag  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Helpful and hands off
4/5

She was very concise and helpful in communicating, not being too naggy or giving too much information. I think In terms of living up to expectations, the safari location was a little more beaten up than we had anticipated and the food wasn't great, but the staff were very nice and we saw a ton of wildlife which was great.

Wasén   –  
Sweden SE
Visited: November 2017 Reviewed: Dec 1, 2017

Email Wasén  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Nice but to noisy and shaking.
4/5

Tree day Safari tenting two nights in Etosha.Nice idea which can be made better. All was excelellent,views, animimals(lions,rhinos,a chheta,elefants, camping sites,lovely swimmingpools at the fist two stops, but No one did take a swim in the last pool -green and slimy(namutoni). The food good, explanations of animals and nature ok for me..BUT...the vehicle. I would like to recommend the Wild dogs as their safari was not so expensive but I would not go again.The vehicle without ac, was extremely noisy on the way to and from Etosha..,You had to put Your earplugs in. And on the gravel roads we several times asked ourselves,"how can the suspension stand this jumping and shaking."The right answer was" that there were no suspension to be broken" we joked with each other.
Imagine a much more comfortable ride from and to in that case one could have stand the shaky ride..I want to be ernest with You,I do think that people will hesitate before they go with this company again(Wild dog) if the will have to travel in that kind of a noisy vehicle

MelissaMH   –  
United States US
Visited: May 2017 Reviewed: May 18, 2017

Email MelissaMH  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great set up and trip!
4/5

Megan was great at putting together trip options when we were first starting out search. I loved how she laid out the options and worked with us based on our priorities (game drives!). The links that she sent us were pretty good at laying out the properties and such, but the itinerary (down to the nitty gritty) was a little confusing. We weren't entirely sure how many activities we'd have each day at each location. We were a little surprised that the days leading up to the event we didn't hear from anyone from the lodge group or from Discover Africa - everything worked out great, but we were a little nervous as we'd never been to Africa and weren't quite sure what to expect. The other point of confusion was that our trip was always quoted to us in USD and we were told that if we booked by a certain date we'd be guaranteed that rate, however when we were actually charged on our credit card it was charged in ZAR so through the exchange rate it came out higher than what we had been quoted in USD. I understand why this needed to happen, but I think it should have been clear that the quote was actually in ZAR and that the exchange rate would obviously fluctuate.

The trip itself through Sanctuary Retreats was phenomenal! They really took care of us starting from when we stepped out of the airport in Zambia. I love how each of their properties had different activity options so you could do more than just game drives (even though those were the show-stoppers) - but I really enjoyed the mix of water/boating activities as well. We saw all of the Big 5 on our trip and loved how we had the same guide for the duration at each camp. Also be prepared that you will be VERY well fed!

Thomas   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: January 2017 Reviewed: Feb 3, 2017

Email Thomas  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Friendly contact and quick responses
4/5

After the initial booking, the agent contacted me quickly with a few follow-up questions. Shortly before the booked stay, we had to change our schedule, that also worked very well with the support of the agent!

Patti Legg   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: August 2015 Reviewed: Sep 17, 2015

Email Patti Legg  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Trip of a lifetime to Serengeti and Masai Mara
4/5

Our service from Carel at Discover Africa was outstanding. His recommendations on the timing of our trip, the lodges we should book, communication and overall assistance ensured that our trip went off very smoothly and that we were in the right place at the right time.
Discover Africa would certainly earn 5 stars from us, if their back office support in Cape Town was as good as Carel's service when we needed their assistance in Kenya.
I would happily recommend Carel Verhoef and his excellent service anytime. Thank you for a fantastic trip.

Billy   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: November 2014 Reviewed: Dec 11, 2014

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Well planned safari and good service
4/5

Discover Africa planned our safari to East Africa and we were certainly in the right areas at the right time, our itinerary was well designed to maximize time with the migration and related sightings - logistics ran smoothly and all in all we feel that it was well worth it working with Discover Africa.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 227
  • 4 star 10
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Discover Africa, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Discover Africa are subject to their terms & conditions