Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 13
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 13 Reviews
Salvador   –  
Brazil BR
Visited: July 2024 Reviewed: Jul 10, 2024

Email Salvador  |  50-65 years of age

Awesome City Tour with absolutely great backing of historical facts by conductor
5/5

Yhun Eijgu, general manager of Liyu Ethiopia Tours, provided me with a great experience of visiting main locations in Addis Ababa. It was impressive to be able to learn about the country, the city, the people and the culture. Yhun provided a thorough description of historical facts which helped understand better the sites we visited.

Amy   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 30, 2024

Email Amy  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Passionate and very knowledgeable about ethiopia
5/5

I had the pleasure of joining a half day tour of Addis Ababa with Yihun and it was amazing. His knowledge of Ethiopian history and culture and his passion for sharing it was incredible. I left with so much information, curiosity and a new love for Ethiopia. I highly recommend Yihun and this company for any tours.

Urte   –  
Austria AT
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 17, 2024

Email Urte  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Perfect organisation
5/5

My daughter and I had an outstanding experience due to the fantastic organisation of our customized 8-day trip including Lake Tana, road trip Bahir Dar to Gondar, Simien Mountains, Lalibela, Harar and Addis Ababa). We met so many lovely people on our way and were very impressed by the knowledge of the local guides. We always felt welcomed, safe and more as a family member than a tourist. We highly recommend this travel agency and will for sure come back.

Maria   –  
Germany DE
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 16, 2024

Email Maria  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Fantastic tour operator with local knowledge
5/5

My mother and I had an excellent experience and time with Liyu. They responded super quickly and were very reliable. I asked for customisations to one of their trips, which they were happy to organise for us. The whole trip, which inluded many domestic flights, was organised very well and all guides at each location were excellent. We had a fantastic time visiting the local sights, learning about the history of the country and meeting its lovely people. Would definitely book with them again!

Jennifer   –  
Canada CA
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 12, 2024

Email Jennifer  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The highest quality and ready to share the best of Ethiopia!
5/5

I was traveling solo and Liyu Tours made it one of the best holidays I ever had. The guides were from the region I visited making it sustainable for the local operators. I really appreciate that. The guides were of the highest quality. The hotels and guesthouses all had something special to offer. And, of course, the food! Can I give this company more stars???

Amy   –  
France FR
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 7, 2024

Email Amy  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing tour !
5/5

I went to visit Addis-Ababa only for 3 days so I didn't have a lot of time to visit. I booked the one day tour to visit the city center with Mehammad. The historical and cultural explanations were very interesting, you can tell he is passionated ! We had the chance to share an Ethiopian traditional meal, it was delicious and the coffee was great.
I recommend Liyu Ethiopia Tour and travel because I've contacted them through the website and got some informations very fast. So I could organize my trip and arrive relaxed in the country.
Very professional !

Daniel   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 25, 2024

Email Daniel  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very polite
5/5

Great day in the City, more than what I expected, the tour guides two, were very enthusiastic , & helpful with information
There was so much to see , Mount entoto Park very nice cool place, to be honest, not a dull moment. A Joy full day.

Chris   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 25, 2024

Email Chris  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Just one word is needed "PERFECT"
5/5

My wife and I had a wonderful time with Yhun and his team on a previous visit to
Ethiopia,so it was without hesitation that we asked him to put together a 6 day
trip to the Omo valley, which was the only part of the country that we did not see
on our last visit.
Yhun and his excellent driver Sisay drove us South on a very special adventure
in which we enjoyed wonderful visits to many special places enroute to the main
objective of our trip, which was to visit the various tribes that are scattered far and wide in the Omo valley.
Yhun and Sisay have been there many times before so they knew exactly where
we needed to be at the right time to maximise the time that we spent in the tribal
areas..
In particular we loved our visit to the Mursi's where the ladies wear their distinctive
lip plates and of course the highlight was the bull jumping by the young men of the
Hamer Tribe to prove their manliness.
This is not an everyday event but Yhun and Sisay went to great lengths to make
sure we did not miss this and had a first class seat.
Another highlight was the dugout canoe trip across the Omo river to visit another
Isolated tribal village hidden away in this wonderful part of the world.
All in all another wonderful trip with Liyu Tours, which we could not fault the organisation in any way.
We could not imagine any other company bettering this service.

Sheila   –  
Bahrain BH
Visited: October 2023 Reviewed: Apr 25, 2024

Email Sheila  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Best Tour Guide Ever!!!
5/5

If you ever tour Ethiopia, I highly recommend Liyu Ethiopia Tour Company and Yhun Ejigu as your local tour guide and let me tell you why!!!!…..I had some unfortunate mishaps prior to departing on my original tour to Ethiopia over the Labor Day weekend and Yhun did everything in his power to accommodate me during the process. The trip was a birthday present to myself, but unfortunately, due to the circumstances, I was unable to travel. Because of my disappointment, Yhun was so very encouraging and uplifting and he was the first person to wish me Happy Birthday on my special day. I decided at that time that I wanted to reschedule the trip, but I was also looking forward to working with Yhun again as he had already exhibited exceptional, top-notch tour guide expertise.

After communicating my desires to Yhun via text, my role was complete and he took the reign from that point on, he prepared myself and my cousin a well-organized full itinerary for the two days that we were going to be in Addis and the 3 days that we would spend in Omo Valley including arranging our flights and he quoted me a total price which I must say was extremely reasonable that I absolutely could not refuse.

We were met at the airport by Yhun himself with a warm smile and a hearty welcome!!! After dropping our luggage at our lodging facility, our tour begin by having breakfast and coffee at one of the local Ethiopian eateries where the coffee beans were roasted and placed on our table so that we could smell the aroma as we ate and sipped…..Wow!!! What an experience and from there our tour only got better.
Yhun took us to see some of the main attractions of Addis starting with the beautiful view of the city from Mount Entoto, where we were able to take some amazing photos and videos; we toured the St. George’s Cathedral and Museum and purchased memorable souvenirs while there and also meeting one of the monks on duty, we dined at two of the local pubs and was introduced to some very tasty Ethiopian cuisine and we ended the Addis tour by spending the day in Bishofto, there we toured one of the popular resorts, kayaked on one of the most peaceful and beautiful lakes and had lunch as we watched an array of local birds including a large Marabou stork that was so close we could have reached out and touched it.

All-in-all this was a superb tour that we have yet to stop talking about. Yhun was so knowledgeable as he shared Ethiopia’s history and his love for the country was simply beautiful. We can’t wait to go back and take along additional family members. I can honestly say we not only had an AWESOME tour guide, but we made a life-long friend as well. This trip was more than I could have ever imagined thanks to Yhun and another trusted tour guide who we were turned over to for the Omo Valley tribe experience.

Thank you Yhun for the tour of a life-time!!!….We will be back!!! Ethiopia was beautiful in every way and you literally made us feel at home!!!! I recommend this trip to ANYONE who want some lasting memories!!! Bravo Zulu to you….hands down the best tour guide in Ethiopia!!

Barbara   –  
Spain ES
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Apr 25, 2024

Email Barbara  |  50-65 years of age

30 th anniversary in memorable Ethiopia thanks to Liyu Ethiopia Tours
5/5

We spent 18 days in Ethiopia and the tour Yhun organised for us was very memorable thanks to Mohamed and Menber, our 2 guides that made the trip so special.....
First Menber was our tour guide in Lalibela and he was just 10/10…...after seeing all the amazing churches and learning about all the history ...he took us to the wedding of his friend and the next day to his house for lunch....unbelievable experience we will never forget...
In Omo valley and Danakil depression we felt lucky again to have another great guide Mohamed.....he was very fun and very knowledgeable......he even modified the trip in Omo Valley to be able to attend a local event .jumping bulls....where we were among all locals, and 2 instagrammers from Costa Rica ....what we experienced that day was epic...
Danakil was again 3 days full of excitement as we joined other guests who made our trip very unique.....
Thanks Yhun Mohamed and Menber....
We will always remember you

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 13
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Liyu Ethiopia Tour and Travel, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Liyu Ethiopia Tour and Travel are subject to their terms & conditions