Reviews

Average User Rating
4.8/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 123
  • 4 star 34
  • 3 star 6
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 4

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 168 Reviews
Britta   –  
Germany DE
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Oct 6, 2019

Email Britta  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Best Safari ever
5/5

Safari with Okoa Tours:
We were 3 nights and 4 days with Chef (which means chef) Vitalis and the driver Alifa on the way and it could not have been better, they have a special praise. The smooth email contact in advance was also good.
The only downside, you have to pay the rest of the paid safari in dollars in cash in the office, which led to fees of 45 dollars, because we have no dollar currency in Germany, had to be exchanged in Tazania, which was very awkward on the bank.

Reply from World Tours & Safaris Tanzania
Reply from World Tours & Safaris Tanzania
Posted on Nov 20, 2019

Sorry we also have credit card service in the office at the surcharge of 4% for the Bank transaction. You don't need to carry dollars cash all the way to Africa.

Tommaso Paolini   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Aug 19, 2019

Email Tommaso Paolini  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing Safari
5/5

We had 9-day safari to Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Serengeti, Ngorogoro and Lake Eyasi. We had a wonderful time and great experience. During those days we saw a lot of animals: leons, elephants, giraffes, bufalos, gnus, ghepards, leopards and many others. Our driver Stanley identified the best locations to see animals and He taught us a lot of things. He's a really good driver and guide. Our italian guide Peter, who speaks a fluent italian, was very nice and and prepared. They helped us to see the animals into the savana or jungle and he supported us during the long trip. We learned a lot of things during this trip.
In addition we spent two days in Lake Eyasi and we met the tribes Datoga and Hadzabe. Great experience. We spent one morning in the bush with the bushmans and we followed them during the huting. We learned how the Datoga tribe build the weapons for the hunting and the tribe daily life.

During the trip we spend 5 nights into a public campsites and our cook Socoime served our a good and abundant plates. He was really kindle and he tooke care of the tends and othes our needs.

Special thanks for Richard Kilonzo and his son Ricky, the offer a really good service and competitive price. The organized a tour in a attentive and precise method and they supported us for all our request or special needs. For example, they adviced us on the best destinations into the safari tour and They hired Peter as italian speach guide in order to sodify our request.


Vincent   –  
Hong Kong HK
Visited: June 2018 Reviewed: Jun 30, 2019

Email Vincent  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Friendly, passionate and thoughtful staff, driver guide and chef
4/5

We have joined the 5 days tour to Lake Manyara, Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater and Tanrangire in June 2018. The hotel arranged before the safari is up to standard with friendly staff. The driver guide is experienced when spotting wildlife and explaining the interaction behind them and the food prepared by the chef is generally quite good. It would be better if the chicken is not overcooked. Communication and arrangement with the office staff is clear and they are always helpful.

Mari   –  
Germany DE
Visited: June 2019 Reviewed: Jun 17, 2019

Email Mari  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great wildlife, friendly driver and chef, bad equipment
3/5

We choose the 4-day Safari to Manyara Lake, Ngorongoro Crater and Serengeti and the communication, before the Safari started, was good although it was not possible for us to do the online deposit, but it was possible to pay when we arrived Arusha. Our guide/driver Horas and the chef Vitalis cared really good about everything and did a good job. Sometimes we expected more information of the guide spontaneously which was rare, but he could answer all our questions. So we saw a lot of animals an he gave us enough time to observe them- what was great! And the dinners Vitalis cooked for us were really good!

But we also had a few problems: at the gate of the Serengeti we were not allowed to enter the park because Richard hadn't done the cash transfer or something went wrong (we still don't know). So we waited for three hours and one member of our group had to do the payment with his credit card. After the safari he got the money back from Richard but it was annoying that we had to wait for three hours without knowing what's going on. The second thing were the tents. They are okay but because of the age the zipper is bad/ broken and it's not possible to close them properly. One evening was an short rainstorm and all the water came in on every seam. Furthermore the sleeping bags smelled like hell (sweat of a lot of people) and I would recommend to everybody to take their own sleeping bag! Third and last thing: the car broke down on the third day. The driveshaft of the back wheel broke. It was nobodys fault and they were able to find a solution after 40 minutes - so we drove to the next camp with front wheel drive. The guide drove to the next garage and they fixed it during the night.

So all in all it was a good safari with some adventures.

David   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2018 Reviewed: May 22, 2019

Email David  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great company. Great safari guide. I’d highly recommend
5/5

Everything went very smoothly. We choose to see 4 parks . The pick up avd drop of Arusha was well organized. The cook had breakfast , lunch and dinner ready for us in a timely manner to make each park drive.
Stanley , our guide and driver , was friendly and much better at spotting the animals than I was. We got to see the big 5 plus plenty of elephants, hippos , birds and antelopes.
I’d definitely recommend this company and will use them again if I manage to get back to Tanzania again.

T.I.   –  
France FR
Visited: April 2019 Reviewed: May 5, 2019

Email T.I.  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Wonderful 4 day Safari in Serengeti, Ngorongoro and Tarangire
5/5

I joined a 4 day Safari in Serengeti, Ngorongoro and Tarangire and was able to watch most of the wild animals I wanted to see. Simba, the driver and the guide, has an excellent experience and knowlege as a guide and can predict the move of groups of animals in Serengeti. Therefore we were able to visit the right spot to see a herd of elephants and wildbeasts cross the road in front of our Landcriscer. With his great knowledge, Simba an explain the detail of animals and geography of Tanzania. Also Richard, the manager of this company, was very quick to respond my questions for deciding this tour. I strongly reccomend this company.

Dominique and familly   –  
France FR
Visited: February 2019 Reviewed: Mar 20, 2019

Email Dominique and familly  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

nice and practicle for familly
4/5

safari very well organized, nothing to predict more, everything is included
the tents are large, the simple campsites with showers, the meals made by our cook served at the table ...

I could recommend a different visit near lake Manyara because this safari is less interesting because the forest is dense ... why not go pedaling, or visit the maasai market ... outside the park, go for once to the meeting of inhabitants but always accompanied!

Stanley was a Kilimandjaro guide, and now, he is a driver guide with very skills for observing and finding animals !

Richard gives one car for a familly, only familly, he does'nt add an other person ! just us !
... we had a big 6 places toyota land cruiser ... anley is a very good driver guide !

The compagny deserves to be known, a good and experimented place for travel in Tanzania.

I recommand





Peter   –  
Sweden SE
Visited: January 2019 Reviewed: Jan 20, 2019

Email Peter  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great experience
4/5

The guide, Dismas Alex, put a lot of effort to show us as many animals as possible. Some, like the rhinos and leopards were tricky to spot but he waited patiently and helped us finding them. He tried to show us as much as possible but did not explain too much unless we asked, then we always got very good and informative answers. He also wanted us to start a bit earlier in the mornings than other tourists around, which gave us extra time out in the parks and more opportunity to spot animals. Our cook, Vitalis, prepared a lot of great food, especially considering the camping kitchen. We had a bit smaller tents than others but it was not a big deal. Overall, we would recommend this safari trip, it was one of our best experiences.

Amaia sanchez Perez   –  
Australia AU
Visited: October 2018 Reviewed: Nov 21, 2018

Email Amaia sanchez Perez  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A time to remember with Preigod and Sokofo
5/5

We had the best time during our safari experience with Preygod and Sokofo. They were so friendly and assisted us very well during our time in Tanzania. We felt with friends all the time. Preygod was very good guide/driver and encouraged us to enjoy sleeping in the wild. Sokofo’s Food was amazing, being vegetarians he had always lot of options for us.Our experience in Kenya wasn’t that great and they did really changed our perception of the safari and Made us laugh and enjoy the wild of Serengeti and Gorongoro. Thank you for everything!! Amaia and Marco :) xxx

Julian   –  
China CN
Visited: June 2018 Reviewed: Sep 3, 2018

Email Julian  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great driver. Great safari.
5/5

My girlfriend and I went to the Serengeti, Ngorogoro crater, and Tarangire. Ngororo crater was our favorite, Serengeit was great, and Tarangire was our least favorite. It was the last day so were were exhausted, and there were a lot of trees that prevented us from seeing more animals. But overall a great experience. We saw so many animals, and I got some lovely pictures. Our driver (Haleefa) was fun to talk to, and knowledgeable about the area / local people / animals. We learned a lot from him.

I have two small complaints that definitely did not ruin the experience, but I hope it can be addressed in future safaris.

Our vehicle broke down and we were stuck for about two hours. This wasn't a catastrophe, because we were near a rest stop, and got help / spare parts easily. But it definitely made us nervous about if it would break down again. I don't know if this was something that could have been avoided or not, so I can't really blame anyone. I just want to make sure the safari people are using the best equipment on the truck that they can.

Our cook on the safari made great food, and always made the same thing for breakfast- omelettes, with toast, fruit, and pancakes. The omelettes were WONDERFUL. The pancakes.... not so much. In the future I hope the cook can make more eggs and fewer bland pancakes.

Aside from that, I really can't think of anything I would change. The game drive was so much fun, and Haleefa did such a good job of getting us close to the animals.

Here are some of the animals we saw on the safari: lions, hyenas, a cheetah, serval cats, a python, hippos, zebras, elephants, wildebeasts, antelope, gazelle, buffalo, lots of birds, monkeys, giraffes, lizards, and a few others I forgot.

Average User Rating
4.8/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 123
  • 4 star 34
  • 3 star 6
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 4
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by World Tours & Safaris Tanzania, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by World Tours & Safaris Tanzania are subject to their terms & conditions