Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 88
  • 4 star 5
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-5 of 5 Reviews
Minjie   –  
Singapore SG
Visited: June 2016 Reviewed: Jul 15, 2016

Email Minjie  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

An Adventure with My Parents
4/5

First of all, Giltedge Africa (formerly Southern Africa Travel) was referred to me by a friend, and nothing beats recommendations from sources you can trust. More importantly, i was not disappointed.



Planning and booking - Monique was the best. A comprehensive itinerary which catered to our specific requests resulting in a bespoke trip. Planning phase was overall smooth and good.



On the actual trip itself, Sabi Sabi and Desert & Delta Safaris were very professional operators and the trip was good overall. I had brought my retired parents on this trip, and would say they thoroughly enjoyed it.



Couple of feedbacks would be i) temperatures gets a bit more chilly than expected, and for folks coming from tropical weather, they may not be as well prepared, so some reminder would be helpful; ii) the Victoria Falls segment was slightly rushed and could perhaps have been better with half a day to a day more. In addition, got the impression that Vic Falls would be better seen from Zimbabwe side.



Nonetheless, from Giltedge perspective, it was enjoyable and met our expectations. Definitely worth it and would recommend to friends and family.

Nina   –  
Singapore SG
Visited: August 2015 Reviewed: Oct 5, 2015

Email Nina  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing honeymoon
4/5

The travel agency really pleasantly surprised us with nice hotels one after the other as we made our way along the garden route. They made it a point to put us up in different types of hotels e.g. Rustic, countryside, elegant, beach resorts, etc. For us to experience the different hospitality services that S Africa has to offer. They also told the hotels that it was our honeymoon and we were treated with such love!

Special mention goes to monique who handled our booking. She was flexible and made really good recommendations, open to changing our booking to address our last minute requirements. She was always friendly and prompt to reply and we were thankful for her high service standards.

Bill Bronner   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2015 Reviewed: Apr 9, 2015

Email Bill Bronner  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Excellent itinerary, but could have used better communication prior to travel
4/5

Our itinerary was just right. Suggestions made by Giltedge Africa (formerly Southern Africa Travel) were generally very good.  
All travel connections worked and all guides appeared as planned. Our guides were all quite knowledgeable, well-spoken and very pleasant. I think some of the extras that we incurred should have been included in the package price or more clearly stated, but this was a minor issue.  My only real complaint is that pre-travel communication should have been better.  The information provided was more for appearances than substance. And the wallet provided at landing was embarrassingly short on any substantive materials.
Our hotels were all excellent, except for &Beyond Xudum which suffers from the necessity of a 75 minute drive each way over bumpy roads between the air strip and the lodge.  They also had our poorest guide. Otherwise, the staff and food were very good.
We especially enjoyed Singita Boulders and the Views Hotel, although the food at the Views could be improved. The Harbor House restaurant on the Cape was outstanding.
I'm not sure a guide was needed at Victoria Falls, although he did get us to the falls at a good time of day for viewing which we might otherwise have missed. The river cruise was only interesting because of the wildlife on the banks.
I also want to recommend the Fat Fish restaurant in Plettenberg.  It's a little more casual, but the food was excellent.

Our guides at both Singita lodges were terrific, as were our guides in Cape Town and Joberg.

Overall, we enjoyed a wonderful trip.  

Lawrence   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2015 Reviewed: Mar 11, 2015

Email Lawrence  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Excellent and varied holiday with great accommodation
4/5

We spent a second holiday with Giltedge Africa (formerly Southern Africa Travel) and enjoyed the experience again. All arrangements were made according to our agreements and there were no hiccups and the accommodation in all of the places we stayed were exceptional. An excellent apartment in Camps Bay, a wonderful game park in the Nambiti Hills, an original design lodge at the Zulu war battlefields and a luxury hotel on the coast near Durban were the highlights.
The guide at the Game Park was very experienced and committed and added to the enjoyment of seeing the wide range of animals (including the Big 5).
The tours of the battlefield were interesting although the guide was somewhat outdated in his style and attitude.
Although the whole organisation of the trip was good, the consultant on our previous trip was far more proactive than this time, but nevertheless all worked out very well and the knowledge of good accommodation of Giltedge Africa is second to none

Mr BOIS CHristian   –  
Vanuatu VU
Visited: January 2014 Reviewed: Nov 17, 2014

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Was wonderfull, a fantastique experience, I hope to go back.
4/5

Monique did help me a lot in planning our holidays in S.A early this year.
The hotel, lodges and Safaris that she had recommended where exactly in the range we where expecting.
The Sabi Sand in Kruger Park with the big 5 within 500m from our Lodge (the gourmet food in our lodge and the setting, the rooms and mostly the staff where Magnificent) , and the lodge at Victoria Falls in Livingstone (Zambia) was magic.
Giltedge Africa (formerly Southern Africa Travel) can only be recommended regarding their extensive knowledge of the region and their advice.
I can only recommend them.
Christian

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 88
  • 4 star 5
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Giltedge, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Giltedge are subject to their terms & conditions