Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 33
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 33 Reviews
Cliff Hodge   –  
United States US
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Jan 12, 2023

Email Cliff Hodge  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Incredible Customized Birding Photo Safari
5/5

I scheduled a five-day birding photo safari with Nature's Wonderland to take advantage of a trip I was already taking to Kenya. Joseph built a custom itinerary to help me see as many birds as possible and coordinate around the rest of my Kenya itinerary. We built an aggressive schedule and he communicated with me regularly during my planning to make sure I had the right gear in my kit and that I didn't miss any of the planning steps for visa and other travel planning.

Joseph met me at the airport upon arrival (at 11 pm) and dropped me at my hotel for the night. I planned an extra day in Nairobi to allow me to adjust to the time difference (highly recommended) and Joseph took the opportunity to show me the Nairobi Nature Museum and brief me on the birds we would see on the trip. This proved extremely helpful (the museum has over 900 taxidermied specimens) as I was not very familiar with the birds of Kenya before my arrival - we would refer back to these specimens often.

Getting out onto the safari, I was very impressed with Joseph's knowledge of the birds and wildlife in Kenya - there was not a single question from me that he could not answer with great detail and extensive background on the subject. We visited several wildlife reserves at Lake Naivasha, Lake Baringo, and Lake Nakuru with excellent lodgings at each. I was expecting rustic lodges for this journey, but each place we stayed was a high quality accommodation that even my picky wife would have been happy to stay in.

Joseph also stopped at some of his "secret" birding locations, where we saw some hard to find birds - including some that exist in very few other places. All told, Joseph got me out into the field, seeing wildlife up close in great numbers (at one point, so many new birds that we could hardly keep up counting the new species). He also focused (no pun intended) on not just seeing the animal, but also making sure you could get in the right position to get the best possible photograph to capture a studio quality memory of the experience.

Overall, I was extremely happy with my work with Joseph from start to finish. Working with a naturalist who understands, not just the big game, but the birds and other wildlife as well, made this a truly memorable experience for me. Doing the birding safari, where I could hike the trails, hills, and savanna rather than only view from a Land Rover (which we did plenty of as well) was an added treat.

I should also add that Joseph's concern for my safety and security on this trip was even greater than my own - traveling with him was like getting to hang out with your older brother who knew everything and wanted to make sure you stayed safe while you followed him around. I consider Joseph one of my new great friends, and will definitely ask him to help me plan my next trip to Kenya when I hope to bring my wife along for the experience.

I could not recommend Nature's Wonderland Safaris highly enough for the outstanding service, superior knowledge, and excellent pricing compared to the big-name travel companies. My only regret is that I didn't schedule more time - each of the places we visited could have been a week's stay on their own, to fully explore the birds and big game there.

Peter   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: August 2021 Reviewed: Nov 30, 2022

Email Peter  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Nature's Wonderland Safaris is reliable and professional. They have enough fleet for large groups.
5/5

Nature's Wonderland Safaris gave me and my family a wonderful experience during a tour of Mt Longonot. The drivers are knowledgable about various destinations in East Africa and they gave good tips for our trip.

Bindu   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Nov 30, 2022

Email Bindu  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Reasonably priced, knowledgeable tour guides and very responsive.
5/5

Tony, our tour guide was very knowledgeable and intuitive. He was very clued into what our needs were and went over and beyond to ensure that we had the best experience. It was clear he knew what he was doing and his love for wildlife and nature translated into his work. I would highly recommend them.

Stephan L   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 10, 2022

Email Stephan L  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Look no further for the perfect African Safari Tour!
5/5

Amazing, beautiful and breath-taking 3 day tour of Amboseli National Park in Kenya. Joseph Mwangi was our guide. He was knowledgable, insightful, passionate, reliable and a delight as a tour guide. He made sure the entire trip went smoothly and was very flexible with our time schedules. Amboseli was all that and more - vast plains of wildlife from playful hyena pups to the majesty of lions after a kill. Would recommend Nature's Wonderland Safaris without hesitation.

Erin   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 10, 2022

Email Erin  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Great experience. Great guide. Great safari!
5/5

I booked a safari for group of 6 over a long weekend (3-day, 2-night) to Amboseli. Despite booking at the last minute, everything was coordinated seamlessly. We paid 20% up front to secure the lodge accommodations and the rest at the time of the safari. I selected this group based on reviews online and their comprehensive website, including an online chat feature allowing you to book the same day if needed. We stayed at Amboseli Serena Lodge which was great, with good foot options for meat-eaters and vegetarians. Joseph, the company owner, was our guide and made the experience wonderful. He ensured our safety throughout the trip, was knowledgeable about all wildlife in the park, especially birds, which he studied prior to becoming a guide and starting his own company. We were able to see everything we wanted on the trip, including a cheetah, hyena pups, and lions eating after a kill. In addition to his laid back and jovial demeanor, Joseph has a knack for setting up the perfect photography shot for you as he himself is also a photographer - check out his Instagram (@naturesbirding). I cannot say enough good things about the trip…I would recommend this company to anyone!

Tina Hay   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 1, 2022

Email Tina Hay  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

An Outstanding Experience
5/5

Joseph is an extraordinarily knowledgable and helpful guide. His knowledge of Kenya and its various parks and conservancies was incredibly valuable, and so was his knowledge of the animals and birds we encountered. Both he and Tony also were highly competent drivers and knew how to position the vehicle for optimum photography. Better yet, they were patient and helpful in fielding our many questions and requests. It was clear that their primary goal was to make sure we had the best possible experience — they put us, the customers, first in every respect. I would happily travel with them again.

Lisa St Aubin   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 25, 2022

Email Lisa St Aubin  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent!!
5/5

Joseph was the perfect tour operator. He planned and executed a 15 day photography tour that was designed to highlight wildlife. He and Tony ensured everyone had great opportunities for viewing wildlife and knew the best places for perfect captures with light and behavior of the animals. He also was wonderful about personal requests and and they went out do their way to meet them. Highly recommended!!

Zach   –  
United States US
Visited: December 2021 Reviewed: Dec 31, 2021

Email Zach  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Joseph is an exceptional guide who will ensure your wildlife/birding photo safari is breathtaking!
5/5

My wife and I spent an incredible 10 days in Kenya traveling to multiple sites (Maasai Mara, Samburu, Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Lake Nakuru) on a wildlife photo safari led by Joseph. This was an amazing experience all around and as smooth as could be, from the excellent email/WhatsApp communications, being picked up at the airport, arranging for exceptional lodging and meals, bringing us back to the airport at the end of our safari, even arranging for the COVID test necessary to fly back. Each day was filled with wonderful wildlife and birds, which Joseph spotted with amazing eagle eyes! His knowledge of wildlife is exceptional, and he's a skilled and reliable driver, so we always felt safe. Incredible value for the cost, and so we highly recommend Joseph Mwangi and Natures Wonderland Safaris for your own life-changing experience!

Catherine   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2021 Reviewed: Oct 25, 2021

Email Catherine  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Every detail attended to, even unexpected ones.
5/5

I recently spent 2 weeks on safari led by Patrick, Edwin, Stephen, Emmanuel and Tony. The guys are top of the top in guides, professionalism, friendliness and wow - the knowledge! I cannot imagine experiencing Kenya with any other company. They were able to help with my camera, which really enhanced the experience. I learned so much about Kenya and spent time with the best men in Kenya. Deep gratitude and my highest recommendations. Asante to Joseph for such a perfect itinerary, attention to detail and responsiveness. The variety of wildlife was perfectly designed. If you are considering a trip to Kenya, do not consider any other company!

Doug   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2021 Reviewed: Sep 23, 2021

Email Doug  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

First Class Wildlife and Bird Safaris!
5/5

What a great experience I had on a recent wildlife photo safari with Joseph Mwangi, owner of Natures Wonderland Safaris. From being picked up at the airport, arranging for first class lodging and meals, taking us to spectacular sites to photograph amazing wildlife and birds, sharing with us his extensive knowledge of both wildlife and birds, and delivering us back to the airport at the end of our safari, Joseph took excellent care of all of our needs. Joseph provided us a wonderful experience that we will never forget!! I highly recommend Natures Wonderland Safaris for your own unforgettable experience!!

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 33
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Nature's Wonderland Safaris, not SafariBookings