​User Reviews – Waterberg Plateau

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 21 Reviews
Betty v.Hoenning   –  
Italy IT
Visited: February 2009 Reviewed: Sep 4, 2011

Email Betty v.Hoenning  |  50-65 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

Wild area, amazing, biodiversity.

Jofie Lamprecht   –  
Namibia NA
Visited: May 2011 Reviewed: Sep 7, 2011

Email Jofie Lamprecht  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
2/5

This is not a high density National Park, and with some luck you can have a good experience. Game is not habituated to game viewing vehicles. Large parts of the park can seem dull, due to thick bush. Scenically, the drive into the park and through some of the more open and koppie filled parts of the park are beautiful. Only vehicles from NWR (Namibia Wildlife Resorts) are allowed in the park. One trip into the park is sufficient, and if combined with Etosha, this will give you your only chance to see cape buffalo other than in the Caprivi to complete your big 5 in two parks.

AlmostPerfect   –  
Italy IT
Visited: January 2011 Reviewed: Oct 2, 2011

Email AlmostPerfect  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

The other parks offer more wildlife experiences than the Waterburg Plateau

Goulu Visited: August 2010 Reviewed: Oct 9, 2011

Rhinos and Hippos at Wabi Lodge
Overall rating
4/5

We stayed at Wabi Lodge. Their website contains a lot of useful information about the region and its progressive shift from game to eco tourism and wildlife conservation. Rooms are large and nicely furnished, with some reminders of the game period. (Cold) swimming.pool, good meals.
Safari with a very friendly and interesting local black chauffeur and guide, one of our very few constacts with black people in Namibia. He brings some food for the rhinos at the water hole, where we have a close encounter with a family of rhinos and two hippos, the only we saw in Namibia.

Mike Wanliss   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: December 2006 Reviewed: Jan 30, 2012

Email Mike Wanliss  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

We had a brief but enjoyable stay in the Waterberg Plateau Park

John Carthy   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2007 Reviewed: Feb 1, 2012

Email John Carthy  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

I love this place. It's a great place to combine some light beasting with a few days around the pool. Relax on a sunlounger with a cold Hansa whilst banded mongooses fight over the pools of water left behind by the lawn sprinkler. Don't have too many Hansas though - open your room curtains before dawn and you'll probably have tiny Damara Dik Diks playing on your patio. Ace. The plateau itself isn't great for beasts, but definitely make the effort if you're staying over. The safari truck we were in killed more nightjars than it avoided, and we saw a an eland. That was it.

Marleen Horsten Visited: September 2011 Reviewed: Apr 26, 2012

Overall rating
3/5

Beautiful but we didn't see much wildlife.

Emiel de Lange   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: October 2011 Reviewed: Aug 26, 2012

Email Emiel de Lange  |  under20 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

Beautiful plateau and beautiful views. Wildlife is unremarkable though one can see quite a lot.

Pierre   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: July 2010 Reviewed: Sep 11, 2012

Email Pierre  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

Not for safaris but great places..

Jean   –  
France FR
Visited: May 2014 Reviewed: Apr 16, 2015

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

More history than wildlife
Overall rating
3/5

The Waterberg is not as interesting for the wildlife as one could expect, especially when Etosha is so close. However, the dirt roads inside and around it are really pleasant to drive. The cliffs of the plateau are impressive, particularly at sunset. The most interesting about the Waterberg Plateau is that it makes an opportunity to learn about the history of Namibia, as the Herero fought the Germans at this exact place. There is a German war cemetery within the park boundaries. For the rest, Etosha provides much more for the same price (or less).

Average User Rating

  • 4.0/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 8
  • 4 star 6
  • 3 star 6
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review