User Reviews – Budongo

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-9 of 9 Reviews
ritabrita   –  
Portugal PT
Visited: August 2010 Reviewed: Aug 24, 2012

Email ritabrita  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A very green paradise!
Overall rating
4/5

Budongo Forest Reserve was a very good surprise i had heard about the conservation efforts for the budongo chimps, but it was better then i had imagined. The tropical forest is amazing, and i had never seen so many butterflies in one place. I arrived with a group o18 people, we had transportation arranged previously but we spent the night before at Masindi, the closest city. Accommodation at the reserve's lodge was basic but comfortable, we had shared showers but everything was very clean, and the lodge was full with our group and two girls doing research, so i didn't have that overcrowded feel. People there were very welcoming, and they are very in-tuned with the conservation projects. We went to see chimpanzees and we were very lucky, we saw a hole group finishing their meal, a lot of vocalizations, and then leaving coming down just a couple of meters from us. I definitely recommend visiting Budongo forest!

Davyth   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Mar 8, 2020

Email Davyth  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Superb
Overall rating
5/5

It took a while but the chimp trek was amazing. After 2hrs 45 minutes our guide heard from the tracker where the chimps were. It took us another half hour walk, then we heard an amazing racket. 30-40 chimps had cornered 3 colobus monkeys. 2 managed to escape but the third was caught, killed and eaten in the tree just above our heads. Our guide said that he had only seen this twice in 3 years.

Yasuyo Tsunemine   –  
United States US
Visited: December 2018 Reviewed: Jan 13, 2019

Email Yasuyo Tsunemine  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

We did chimp trekking. We did not even see their tail. My guide/drive later told me that he took tourist for the last four times, but none of them saw chimps....ummm I wish he told us before we did!

Mezza   –  
United Arab Emirates AE
Visited: December 2017 Reviewed: Feb 25, 2018

Email Mezza  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

There is so much to see and learn about the local vegetation. Plenty of chimpanzees and all sorts of monkeys to marvel over.

Frank   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: April 2017 Reviewed: Apr 23, 2017

Email Frank  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

Same as above

Owor Patrick   –  
Uganda UG
Visited: January 2015 Reviewed: Aug 17, 2015

Email Owor Patrick

Overall rating
5/5

The major attraction here is the large population of chimpanzees which the closet primate related to man. There is also a very rich swamp with other primate species close to the park part located to the community giving visitors a unique chance of mixing with the local s hence spicing up their adventure. Bigodi swamp and community walk is an activity any visitor should not miss if the make a visit to this park. The park also has quite a variety of bird species.

Daniel and Janique   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: September 2014 Reviewed: May 6, 2015

Email Daniel and Janique  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

The weather was not so good. It was pouring during the all visit.

matan   –  
Israel IL
Visited: December 2005 Reviewed: Apr 25, 2012

20-35 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

Not as many colors and diversity as the rest of my trip, but still a very strong felling of virginity. very beautiful trees and alot of bird sounds, but you can't see them.

MW / NL   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: October 2010 Reviewed: Apr 18, 2012

Email MW / NL  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

Budongo Forest Reserve is home of chimpanzees, so with a bit of luck you get to see them in there natural environment. A beautiful forest with good possibilities to see wildlife.

Average User Rating

  • 4.6/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 5
  • 4 star 4
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review