User Reviews – Chobe NP

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 34 Reviews
Tina   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Sep 23, 2019

Email Tina  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

Too many tourists at the same time; camps are a bit farther;

Karen   –  
Canada CA
Visited: June 2019 Reviewed: Aug 1, 2019

Email Karen  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

There were too many Safari vehicles.

Veronica   –  
Mexico MX
Visited: July 2019 Reviewed: Jul 15, 2019

Email Veronica  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Beautiful park with lots of animals but crowded
Overall rating
4/5

Chobe is a beautiful park next to the river. I saw many animals including elephants, hippos, lions, anthelopes and birds. However, too many cars on the same route. We were like 8 cars chasing two lions and at one point the lion had to go around a car. I felt so bad that we were harrassing the lions...

Kirstie Bankslyon   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: October 2018 Reviewed: Nov 5, 2018

Email Kirstie Bankslyon  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

Much busier than the other area

Marco Valentini   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2016 Reviewed: Oct 26, 2018

Email Marco Valentini  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

The busiest of national Park in Botswana, having day visitors from Kasane; the obliged sectors make sometimes the visit lesse comlete; river boating is fantastic

Louise   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2018 Reviewed: Sep 24, 2018

Email Louise  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

We dropped a star only because , having seen the migration in the Masai, Chobe doesn’t quite offer the huge game herds that can been seen on the savannah. However it is still beautiful and, apart from Cheatah we saw everything we wanted to.

Julian   –  
Germany DE
Visited: October 2017 Reviewed: Oct 31, 2017

Email Julian  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

Good wildlife but unfortunately no rhinos. Plenty of birds and nice scenery

Janette   –  
Australia AU
Visited: September 2017 Reviewed: Oct 31, 2017

Email Janette  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Lots to see but too many people
Overall rating
4/5

We spent two nights near the park at Chobe Bush Lodge which was excellent. We went on a early morning safari drive and an afternoon boat cruise. Others from our group did an afternoon drive as well.
Even though we saw lots of excellent wildlife including two lions stalking some warthogs, it was way too crowded during both the morning drive and the boat cruise. There were often dozens of safari vehicles/boats around a good animal sighting with some vehicles hogging the best spot for ages and we often had to wait. This was mainly for lions (we didn't see anything else really special). And when it came to the sunset part of the cruise, lots of small boats sat in front of our bigger boats spoiling our view - there was plenty of room for them elsewhere. Our boat moved somewhere else to avoid these boats. These experiences spoilt the park for us. We actually saw much more in Kruger and it was less crowded.
However, friends who did the afternoon safari drive said there weren't so many other groups and they had some excellent sightings including the rare wild dog.

Jessica   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2017 Reviewed: Oct 19, 2017

Email Jessica  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

We took a mid-day (motored) game drive and still saw lots of animals, including lions. We took a pontoon trip in late afternoon/sunset and were able to see elephants, crocodiles and hippos up close, which was really special.

hjreitsma   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: March 2005 Reviewed: Jun 10, 2017

Email hjreitsma  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

Lots of hyppo's, elephants and other wildlife (verry close to the hotel)

Average User Rating

  • 4.7/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 146
  • 4 star 34
  • 3 star 8
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 1
Write a User Review