User Reviews – Chobe NP

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-8 of 8 Reviews
Markus   –  
Finland FI
Visited: December 2018 Reviewed: Jan 27, 2019

Email Markus  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
3/5

After Moremi and Savuti Chobe (east side) felt a bit like a zoo with More tourists than animals. Still lots to see especially elephants and baboons.

Larry W   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2017 Reviewed: Oct 30, 2017

Email Larry W  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

The park is being eaten alive by too many elephants.

EmilyW   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2016 Reviewed: Jul 13, 2016

Email EmilyW

Well managed but limited game in March
Overall rating
3/5

I enjoyed my drive through the park with our hired guide. We saw many impala, hippos, elephants, baboons, etc. I am not a "birder" so I cannot intelligently comment on the birding, but I did see and enjoy many interesting and unusual birds like the lilac-breasted roller. Unfortunately the lions, zebras and giraffes were difficult to find and it was pretty quiet overall. I understand that this was mainly due to the time of year. I personally enjoyed a boat cruise on the Chobe River that went by the park, more than the game drive, due to the beautiful scenery. I was grateful there didn't seem to be self-drive tourists and everyone on the road was very respectful.

Jennifer Baird   –  
Canada CA
Visited: September 2013 Reviewed: Jun 14, 2014

Email Jennifer Baird  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

I was there at the end of dry season so the real action is at the water.

Monty1978   –  
Italy IT
Visited: June 2008 Reviewed: Oct 31, 2011

Email Monty1978  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

Wildlife going up and down from the forest to the river and vice-versa, with boats and 4x4s "circumnavigting" all the animals.

JacoBrits   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: September 2011 Reviewed: Oct 5, 2011

35-50 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

Excellent variety of game and bird species. Habitat is not very diverse. Very rustic camping sites.

A.Meyer   –  
United States US
Visited: May 2007 Reviewed: Aug 30, 2011

20-35 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

After spending the majority of our time in Moremi, I think we were too spoilt. Chobe has the quintessential safari theme going with the lodges and endless landrovers parading through the park. I was somewhat dissipointed in seeing a single lion with a kill surrounded by 7 vehicles with people leaning out making lots of noise. It felt more like a theme park than a national park. But that is just my opinion. We did see wonderful wildlife and incredible birds. I would not Not go back there, but I don't think it would be my first choice.

Bruceontour   –  
New Zealand NZ
Visited: July 2009 Reviewed: Jul 6, 2011

50-65 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

Just our luck that the setting sun was in the wrong angle ie animals between us and the sun and therefore were backlit. Despite this with more time we would have been rewarded like the other travellers we had met on route including some of our own group who had separated from us the previous day to start another tour and what they saw.

Average User Rating

  • 4.7/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 146
  • 4 star 34
  • 3 star 8
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 1
Write a User Review