User Reviews – Nairobi NP

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 27 Reviews
The Third-Eye (very limited INTERNET ACCESS) Visited: October 2014 Reviewed: May 5, 2015

Adventurous
Overall rating
5/5

This is the only Game park within the City of Nairobi,so travelling time is max 30 min where ever you stay in Nairobi town, during my regular visits I have seen almost all the wild life including resident Lions with new born cubs as well, which one can see in major Game reserves apart from Elephants,...very good for birders during rainy season.Sometimes we see many migrant birds as far from Europe.

assad Visited: December 2014 Reviewed: May 5, 2015

A must do while in Nairobi
Overall rating
5/5

Well if you are in Nairobi, then a trip to the Nairobi National PArk must be on the Itinerary. It is preety much the only National park in a city anywhere in the world.
Wild, untouched and well populated, one will always get to see great game from the herbivores, to the big cats and even rhino. Bird lovers will also not go wrong.

An excellent trip for an early morning trip or in the evening. Its easily accessible from the city through the many entrance gates and one can even do it in the standard family car.

Mitchell Klein Visited: July 2014 Reviewed: May 5, 2015

A perfect end to a life changing experience
Overall rating
5/5

My visit to Nairobi National Park came at the end of an 11 day photo safari. The regular tour didn't have this park as one of its stops. I had several hours before leaving Nairobi so I booked a tour. To my surprise, it ended up to be a private tour as no one else signed up.

I found the park to be amazing. My favorite part was when we had a reasonably close encounter with a Black Rhino. That experience took my breath away. All the other animals and birds on this Nairobi National Park tour were very special. I asked my guide if locals visit the park and he said no. He told me most of the visitors were tourists. I was saddened to hear that the locals did not take advantage of such a national treasure.

All together, I found the Nairobi National Park to be very special. It was fascinating that such a park with such beautiful wildlife so close to a large city was available to me any anyone else who wanted to see nature, especially endangered animals before they disappear. It is also wonderful for people who travel on business to Nairobi to have such a beautiful place to experience nature in the wild so close that they can take a few hours between meetings to feast their eyes on real nature.

lindafiona92   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: August 2014 Reviewed: May 8, 2015

Email lindafiona92  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

It was an enchanting experience worth going on several occassions.
Overall rating
5/5

The only park in a capital city Kenya, Africa.. Beautiful scenery,blossoming flowers around with humming birds. Such a great experience under the sunny weather with cool breeze.

vassolov Visited: April 2015 Reviewed: May 10, 2015

Excellent safari!
Overall rating
5/5

n my opinion, when you are in Nairobi you have to visit Nairobi National Park.
The experience is incredible. There are so many animals that you can see, and also there are free on their natural environment, not in a cage as others parks.
Furthermore if you go early in the morning you can see and lions.
I believe that is a safari that you have to do!

Charles Lovely   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2015 Reviewed: Jul 2, 2015

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Nairobi's Backyard Wildlife Park
Overall rating
5/5

Having been to most of Kenya's more well known wildlife parks Nairobi NP equally compares to Kenya's top parks for wildlife viewing and photography. I have been to Nairobi NP a few times. In my experience, especially If your staying in or near the city center, arrive at 6am when the park opens to avoid Nairobi's traffic, to be amongst fewer park visitors, to see active and possibly more wildlife, and to use the morning sunlight for optimal photography. What makes this park unique is that you can be driving along in full view of Nairobi's cityscape in the background and in the next minute the cityscape disappears and you feel like you're in the wilderness or bush, miles from any city. The park has a diverse range of habitat also, from dry scrub savannah to lush riparian areas with giant acacias hovering over a perennial river to scenic gorges and rocky outcrops. Besides the park, other must see destinations that are super close to the park's main entrance are the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and Giraffe Manor—all three can be visited in one day.

missbaxter   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2015 Reviewed: Jul 11, 2015

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

We stayed at the Nairobi Tent Camp in Nairobi National Park. Really nice accommodations. Hot water bottles in the beds and morning french-pressed coffee delivered to tents was a really nice touch. We saw black and white rhino within the first 24 hours of entering the park. Two visits to David Sheldricks Wildlife Trust center in Nairobi was life-changing.

Bob B.   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2012 Reviewed: Jul 22, 2015

35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

An amazing experience with a wide variety of wildlife
Overall rating
5/5

We took a friend's van into the park and drove ourselves all over. As far as I know, this is the only national park in Kenya where this is allowed. Just minutes into our drive, we encountered a large, male rhino that jumped out into the road directly ahead of us. A few turns later, we found ourselves surrounded by a herd of at least 40 African buffalo! We saw many lions, giraffes, baboons, and zebras. The opportunities to see wildlife seemed endless, especially at water holes. Not having a guide, we chose our routes using "dumb luck" and it worked out well for us. We had to plan very carefully, since there are few toilets available and no food in the park. The weather was very comfortable and pleasant. Given the chance, I would definitely return to this park.

Steve   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2015 Reviewed: Dec 6, 2015

Email Steve  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Often described as a good introduction to the wildlife and birds of Kenya, this park is a must see.
Overall rating
5/5

We were originally planning to skip Nairobi National Park in favor of other destinations, but something came up forcing us to remain in Nairobi an extra day. I'm very glad we visited. It's so much more than just the juxtaposition of megafauna in view of the Nairobi skyline. We saw nearly 100 species of birds in a few hours, and we got to see a lot of large mammals easily, including a lion with blood dripping from its mouth, having just come from a kill. You can actually get out of the vehicle and walk around the hippo pools trail -- the park has a guard at the trailhead who will take you for a tip -- which allowed us to see insects, a nile crocodile, and a number of birds up close in the tall acacias there. It was great because visitors aren't allowed to leave their vehicle in many Kenyan parks. If I make a return trip to Kenya, I will make a point to visit Nairobi National Park again.

Melody Lytle   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2014 Reviewed: Dec 7, 2015

Email Melody Lytle  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Nairobi National Park is a wonderful introduction to East Africa - beautiful animals & environment.
Overall rating
5/5

I was pleased to find an area with abundant visible African mammals, birds and reptiles so close to Nairobi. It was easy to arrange transportation and a guide who drove me through the area pointing out large mammals and typical east Africa birds. My rhinoceros sighting in Nairobi National Park was the best of the trip. I also saw zebra, lions, bateleur, and many more often in a nicely photographable setting. I have recommended this area to friends traveling to East Africa and will continue to do so. I hope to return.

Average User Rating

  • 4.0/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 27
  • 4 star 27
  • 3 star 19
  • 2 star 4
  • 1 star 1
Write a User Review