Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 127
  • 4 star 4
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 127 Reviews
Holly   –  
Canada CA
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Sep 11, 2022

Email Holly  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing safari experience for our honeymoon!
5/5

Mama Savani safari was amazing. Alex was great at communicating leading up to our trip. Our guide Mustafa was excellent.. he ensured we saw every animal we wanted to see each day, he taught us lots of Tanzanian culture & even some Swahili! Every accommodation was beautiful with great food, service & views. One week was the perfect amount of time. Asante Sanaa Mama Savana!

Waleed   –  
United Arab Emirates AE
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 5, 2022

Email Waleed  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Professional, high quality, positive attitude and ensure making your safari and unforgettable memory
5/5

My family enjoyed a 4 days’ Safari in Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater and Tarangire National Park. Mamma Savanna selected lodges were luxurious, comfortable and top quality. The food offered during Safari was good quality,they always respected our desire for Halal food. It was a great value for money.
Our Safari organizer from Mamma Savanna ( Alex) was friendly, approachable, and a professional organizer who understood our needs as a family with kids below 12 years old. He remained in contact with us all the time during our Safari and spared no efforts to ensure that we had enjoyably experience.
Mama Savanna provided a professional tour guide (Haroun), his knowledge about wildlife, roads, national parks in Tanzania was remarkable. His positive attitude and flexibility, patience and informative explanations made our Safari amazing memory that we will always remember.
Tanzania proved to be a family vacation destination that must be added to the list: safe, unique, wonderful weather and friendly people whose warm welcome will remain in memory forever! we will recommend Tanzanian Safari to our friends, and recommend Mamma Savanna to everyone who thinks about a Safari

Patrycja   –  
Poland PL
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 22, 2022

Email Patrycja  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A successful trip with no surprises
5/5

Before leaving, I obtained offers from several local travel agencies. The Mama Savana offer was the most advantageous in terms of the standard we liked. We chose a 5 day private safari. A separate car with a guide / driver was included in the price. Our guide, Harun, was able to spot animals and had extensive knowledge about them. We slept in very comfortable conditions, in beautiful lodges (Lake Manyara Kilima Moya, Ngorongoro Oldean Mountain, Sound of Siliance Tented). There was poor wifi in the first two places. On the first day we visited Tarangire Park, where a lot of animals live in a relatively small area. We spent the next two days in Serengetti, which is a huge park. The access to it itself takes about 3 hours from the place of accommodation, because the access roads are dirt roads. The Ngorongoro crater made a great impression on us due to its picturesque location and lots of animals. On the last day we got to a local village where we watched plantations of bananas, rice etc. This point of the trip was the weakest. Instead, you'd be better off seeing Lake Manyara Park that was on the way. For us, the 5-day trip was optimal, because each park had a different scenery. If someone decides to go on an individual safari (I think this is a better option, because 6 people in the car is a bit tight, there is nowhere to put your luggage and watch the animals freely), I recommend that you arrange a pickup from the airport and return to the airport. We were afraid that we would not get our flights together and we flew to Arusha the day before and left the next day. It was a waste of time because there is really nothing to do in Arusha. It's a pretty gloomy city. After booking the safari, Mama Savana sent us an invoice by e-mail, on the basis of which we paid the advance. We paid the rest on the spot in cash. They also picked us up at the airport and drove us to the hotel. Everything was in line with the itinerary we agreed on.

(automatic translation from Polish)

Chelsea   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 14, 2022

Email Chelsea  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Experience of a Lifetime
5/5

I don't even know where to begin! I can't possibly say enough good things about Mama Savana and our experience with them. From the very start, which was the planning stage, everything was so easy and smooth. Alex is extremely prompt with his responses and all communications during the planning process. He worked with us to truly customize our own personal safari experience that we wanted from which parks we wanted to visit to where we wanted to stay. Everything is fully customizable to what you want. Once we settled on our itinerary, we wired the money over and received confirmation back from Alex quickly. Upon arrival in Kenya, we started our safari the next day and were picked up by Sammy. Sammy is amazing! He's funny, kind, knowledgeable, and we all had so much fun together. Our first game drive was the best because of him. He found us almost all of the animals we wanted to see all on our first drive. It was incredible! Masai Mara is a place unlike any other. It was definitely our favorite park. When we made it to Tanzania, Harun took over as our guide and he was equally as amazing, funny, knowledgeable, and did everything he could to make our experience the best. Serengeti was amazing and we even got to see the Great Migration! Harun made sure we got to witness the wildebeest crossing the river. Ngorongoro was also amazing. All of the camps and lodges that we stayed at were perfect, too. When we stopped by the office at the end of the trip, Fortuna even gave us beautiful scarves. It was such a nice touch! I could go on and on about how amazing Mama Savana is, but just go ahead and book your safari with them and don't think twice about it! We truly made 3 new friendships (Alex, Sammy, and Harun) that will last a lifetime and we can't wait to return! Thank you, guys for making my dream come true!

Federica   –  
Tanzania TZ
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 11, 2022

Email Federica  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Efficient and reliable
5/5

Alex answered all my questions even during the weekends. He organized everything according to our needs. There was only one hotel change in Arusha but that did not affect our experience. The driver Allen was awesome going above and beyond is duty. Can’t wait to go back for another safari.

Mick   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 8, 2022

Email Mick  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A safari the way you want to experience it!
5/5

We went on a 7 day safari through Kenya and Tanzania. Everything was well arranged, the accommodations were great, the guides spoke good English and they could tell us a lot. The 4x4 with pop up roof was perfect for the safaris. They more than lived up to our expectation!

(automatic translation from Dutch)

Sarah   –  
Saudi Arabia SA
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Jul 30, 2022

Email Sarah  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Incredible journey and great service
5/5

AMAZING. This was the trip of a lifetime to us, and Mama Savana was excellent. Mama Savana delivered to our expectations with their honest communication and high quality service in every aspect:

Planning and communication: right from the start, Alex was very honest, accommodating, understanding, and cooperative. He answered all our questions and listened to all our requests, and built us an amazing custom itinerary to meet all our requirements. The communication started by email, but I would recommend contacting him on whatsapp too especially when confirming the itinerary and cost (for extra security). Closer to the trip start, he kept us informed with the latest entry health checks, forms, visa applications. We were picked up from the airport to the hotel in Nairobi, and Alex called us before the start of our safari to ensure that we were comfortable and had all we needed, and was available on whatsapp for whenever we needed to reach him. There was a miscommunication that led to a change in activities for one day of our safari, and Mama Savana team handled it very professionally and even went as far as to offer us dinner and a city tour after the safari as an apology. Overall, they went above and beyond to ensure that we had the trip of our dreams, and we could not be happier.

Car and driver: Mama savana use 4x4 land cruisers for their safaris. The car fits 7 passengers total, with a fridge for cool water and outlets for charging. The seats were comfortable and our driver never had any trouble navigating the terrain of different parks all over Kenya. Juma (Jay) was our driver during our 10-day trip and we could not have asked for a better driver and guide! He kept the car clean, organized, and smelling fresh despite the dusty game drives. Jay made the long drives very comfortable and fun. He is punctual, respectful, and is taking care of us and accommodating all our requests. We enjoyed his company very much and we already miss him!

Animal viewing: We saw amazing animals during our safari, more than we even expected or hoped to see before our trip! We saw the big 5 and special 5 and had the BEST viewing spots for the river crossing. Jay was a great asset here because of his amazing experience navigating through the parks and spotting animals with unmatched skill. Most times, he’d see the animals from far distances without even needing binoculars. He also made sure to get as close as safely allowed to the animals, and we got AMAZING shots.

Our experience in Kenya has been truly exceptional, and we are very thankful we chose Mama Savana. 100% recommend, you can’t go wrong with them. Ask for Jay!

Ander   –  
Spain ES
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Jul 16, 2022

Email Ander  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excelent
5/5

Perfect 5 days safari with a very good price quality, seeing the excelent lodges we have been to. Alex was very helpful answering to all our messages so fast. Our guide Frank was excelent, very friendly and giving us a lot of information during all the safari. He also drove us to see a large amount of animals, making this experience unique. Totally recommended!

Vahid Valadoost Tabrizi   –  
Iran IR
Visited: February 2021 Reviewed: Jun 24, 2022

Email Vahid Valadoost Tabrizi  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Excellent safari&beach experience with Mama savana
5/5

My wife and I, after our memorable trip to Kenya decided to visit wild life and beach of beautiful Tanzania. I found a lot of travel agencies in safaribookings.com with a broad range of quality and cost. I connected to a few of them and explain our favourites and budget. Finally, I found Mama Savana as a reliable travel agency who are able to meet our requirements with reasonable price. I communicated with Alex Kenga by WhatsApp for arranging our trip itinerary. I sent a lot of messages to him for every details and he answered all the messages very quickly with valuable information. Finally, he arranged a 3 nights beach trip to Zanzibar and 5 nights safari to Lake Manyara, Tarangire, central and south Serengeti and Ngorongoro.
We, as Iranian passport holders needed visa grant before arriving Tanzania. Alex helped us for the purpose and we could receive the visa grant quickly. Because of US sanctions against Iran, we were not able to money transfer before traveling. Alex accepted to receive money in cash in Tanzania. After 3 nights accommodation and tour in Zanzibar and a domestic flight from Zanzibar to Arusha, we met our safari guide/driver in hotel both for reviewing our safari schedule and money payment. Thank you Alex for trusting us.
The most outstanding advantage of our trip was Allen as our safari guide. Allen applied some small changes in the safari schedule for promoting quality of safari . Allen is a very kind and patient guide/driver with excellent knowledge about nature, history, local culture and animals. He drives safely and does his best to find animals during safari. We saw all big 5 and a lot of more animals and wildlife because of high experience of Allen and his high level commitment. Thank you Allen for your efforts.
Quality of all lodges and tented camps was exactly same as our expectation and even more.
Lunch boxes in 5 days safari were same, we expected more variety. But it was not an important issue in comparison with some very positive points of our whole trip.

Laura   –  
Germany DE
Visited: June 2022 Reviewed: Jun 14, 2022

Email Laura  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Once in a lifetime experience!
5/5

WOW! where should we start? From start to end it was one of the most awesome experiences of our life. Organizing the trip with Alex was smooth during all times. He explained everything to us, tailored the trip as we wanted and was always available via WhatsApp to help with every question. We went with the 5 days luxury safari with lodges and tented camps, going to Tarangire, Serengeti and ngorongoro. Mustafa our driver was awesome. Every day absolutely on time, nice and polite and a very secure driver. He has a good knowledge about the flora and fauna and there was not a single question he could not answer. He always accommodated to our needs and wishes. We saw the big 5 and many, many more.
The accommodations were awesome. Kilimamoja exceeded our expectations and sound of silence in the Serengeti was a wonderful place too. The found was always very good and the cold lunch boxes were surprisingly tasty and enough to fill your stomach :) I would highly recommend going on a safari with mama savana.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 127
  • 4 star 4
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Mama Savana Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Mama Savana Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions