Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 20
  • 4 star 2
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 22 Reviews
Luba   –  
Turkey TR
Visited: January 2019 Reviewed: Jan 28, 2019

Email Luba  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

We took an awesome 4 days Safari.
5/5

Abraham met us at the Arusha airport, which was very nice. Suggested to take Tarangeti instead of lake Manyara . Glad that we did as we saw elephants , girafs more animals but the most important baobabs. We were really lucky to see the emigration of animals. Chitas hunting. A lot of beautiful colored birds We enjoyed staying in tents.. especially the second day.. Where we could hear the gienas and a lion visiting our camp. Emanuel our driver and guide knows the places very good and has a lot of interesting information about animals. I think we saw the maximum we could see for the 4 days. The way to Serengeti it s a long one but definitely worth it. I would definitely recommend African Travel Tour. Would like to thank Abraham for helping us with the tickets to Zanzibar. Good price.. and best service.. Thank you.

Toby de Mol   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: December 2018 Reviewed: Jan 6, 2019

Email Toby de Mol  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Outstanding 3 day safari with excellent guide/driver and private cook.
5/5

African Travel Tour manager Abraham is a most dedicated person to ensure his customer(s) have the best time. Not only during the safari, but also during the preparation. He is very committed and communication is very quick established via WhatsApp. Abraham comes with different options but he also comes with advices with could be not what expected but is (was in our case) certainly for our best interest. Abraham provided us with an excellent driver/guide for our safari to the Serengeti and the Ngorongoro Valley. He was able to show us the big five. Especially the Rhino was difficult to find. He saw the animals from far distance. Our great cook provided us with great meals in morning and evening but also a great lunch box. After the safari Abraham took the time with us to review the safari and he was also helpful to provide us some activities in Arusha during our stay. We have great memories for life. Certainly thanks to Abraham.

Tom   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: December 2018 Reviewed: Dec 18, 2018

Email Tom  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Professional and personal touch for your Safari and Trekking
5/5


We booked both our 7 day kilimanjaro trek and 4 day safari through Abraham and everything was perfectly organized.

We spent the day of our arrival in Arusha by passing through several booking agencies and informing them. When we met Abraham we immediately had a very good feeling. Everything was explained detailed and we could start the day after with the 7 day trek of the Kilimanjaro (the Machame route)

The same day our guide, Livingstone, came to our hotel to check our gear, and when something was missing or if he had the feeling that it was not good enough, he would arrange it (for us the sleeping bags, mats, poles and just to be sure, ski pants were arranged for the summit night). We did not finish the route in 7 but in 6 days, but there was no pressure from the guides, Livingstone and Moussa. Only at noon itself during lunch in Karanga camp we decided to skip this camp and continue to base camp / barafu camp. During the days they kept a close eye on you, and in the evening you got an extensive briefing about the next day: what can you expect, which layers of clothing should you wear etc. The team of 10 men (2 guides, 1 cook and 7 porters) where very nice, fun and always ready for you. In addition, the food of chef Laurens was really fantastic, better than most restaurants in Arusha. In advance we could not have imagined that it is possible to eat so tasty and varied on the mountain. Every day an extensive breakfast, fresh fruit, different types of soup, tasty stews, pasta, rice and even french fries in our eatery tent or, in good weather, in the open air. So we hardly did not eat the bars and snacks we brought with us.

In short everything was super arranged and I would give as a tip not to book with one of the big 'operators' (mainly Indians and Chinese participants who are not well prepared and on some days only reached camp at half past 10 pm), but with your own 'small' team. This is all about you, you determine your own pace / schedule and you increase your chances.

Because we had done a day shorter about the trekking we also went on safari a day earlier. Which was no problem for Abraham. The next morning our guide for 4 days, Benjamin was waiting for us. We have visited Tarangire, Serengeti and Ngorogoro crater and also here everything was perfectly organized. Benjamin, just like the guides at the trekking, spoke English very well, was enthusiastic and had a lot of knowledge about the animals, parks and culture. We were able to approach the whole big 5 and all the animals on our wish list at a 2 to 5 meter distance, and were able to look at them with ease while Benjamin explained. Also the accommodations arranged by Abraham were well cared for and fully equipped. After the safari we were dropped off at our hotel and Abraham, just as after the trekking, was waiting for us to ask how it was and if there were questions or comments.

The only downside of African Travel Tours is the location of their office. At 100m from Clock Tower is their office, but this is not on the street side but in an office building. The guard at the entrance will show you the way to their office on the left, but this is a bit strange at first. If they could change their location to the street side, many more passers-by could attract. However, do not let this stop you from going past.

We have experienced contact with Abraham and the guides as very professional, pleasant and above all personal. In short, a must!

KORKUT ZAGLI   –  
Turkey TR
Visited: November 2018 Reviewed: Dec 19, 2018

Email KORKUT ZAGLI  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

AFRICAN TRAVEL TOUR-HAPPINESS AND SATISFACTION
5/5

HEY ABRAHAM AKYOO..SALAMA SALAMA RAFIKI..YOU ARE THE BEST FRIEND IN TZ.
EVERYONE WAS VERY SATISFIED WITH THIS TRIP.BECAUSE YOU HAVE DONE YOUR BEST.QUALITY OF THE PEOPLE-NICE HOTEL RESERVATION-COMFORTABLE CARS..WHAT CAN I SAY MORE
GO TO TANZANIA AND MEET WİTH THIS GUY
THANKS ONCE AGAIN BRO.

KORKUT ZAGLI

Given Kaale   –  
Zambia ZM
Visited: May 2018 Reviewed: Jun 6, 2018

Email Given Kaale  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Thank you for the wonderful time, we had with African Travel Tour.
5/5

From getting in touch the first time, Abraham Akyoo responded and was good in proving all information and answering questions. We booked our honeymoon trip to four park parks (Tarangire, Manyara and Ngorongoro and Serengeti ) with African Travel tour including stays overnight at Tarangire Simba Lodge, Burudika lodge, Serengeti heritage Tented camps and mountmeru u hotel in Arusha town .
We were picked up by our driver at Arusha airport and a manager who welcomed us and gave short briefing about the trip. Our driver and guide Benjamin was friendly with a very good knowledge and skills about Animals ,bird ,plants as well as caldera's formation in Ngorongoro. He gave lots of information which we found useful.
The whole trip went really well and we had no problems at all. The wildlife viewing was brilliant overall and we saw every animal we had on our tick list. So a big thanks to Benjamini.
On our arrival in Arusha Abraham came to see us at our hotel to get feedback. That was a nice touch. You get a feeling that African Travel tour really want to give you a special experience.
So thanks to everybody and we recommend them to our friends and family.

Emma   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2018 Reviewed: Mar 20, 2018

Email Emma  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing safari
5/5

We went on a three day safari which Abraham organised to fit exactly what we wanted. We went to both the Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater and had a good amount of time in each place. The driver was amazing and made sure we saw as many animals as possible. We were even lucky enough to see 2 leopards! The food was great and the tents, sleeping bags and mattresses provided were very comfy. I would definitely recommend this company for your safari.

Mehdi   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 1, 2022

Email Mehdi  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Experienced team and great management
5/5

It was a great 3 days safari, we had the chance to see all the animals with our experienced tour guide Ayoubo. The management service by Abraham was fantastic, everything was well organised ( food, transport, lodge and hotel).

Emanuele   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2018 Reviewed: Sep 18, 2018

Email Emanuele  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

In contact with nature. Wonderful experience.
5/5

With my girlfriend we had 3 days of safari with them in the parks Tarangire, Lakemaniara and Ngorongoro. As soon as we arrived at Arusha airport, we were "picked up" by Ali (Abraham's collaborator) and escorted to their office where we had a brief briefing on how the safari would take place. The parks we visited were wonderful, we could see the animals in their natural state, approach them and photograph them directly from the jeep. An extraordinary experience. Everything was made even more pleasant thanks to the support of our very nice Juma guide. The days pass quickly on the jeep, but the rest in the lodges is amazing. I must say that Abraham has been able to choose, for our overnight stay, wonderful structures surrounded by nature. Everything was organized in detail, we did not have to worry about anything. Abraham and Ali are available to solve any kind of problem that may arise.
Thanks for everything.
Surely we will meet again soon.

Emanuele and Giada.

Filip   –  
Croatia HR
Visited: August 2018 Reviewed: Aug 18, 2018

Email Filip  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Memorable moments in Africa
5/5

We contacted African travel tour agency with open request to organize Kilimanjaro climb and Safari tour. Our main contact for the trip was Abraham. Comunication with Abraham was open,fast, timely and concrete. He gave us few possibilities and suggestions out of which we selected the most suitable. Upon arrival we were once again presented with 11 days agenda and at that point we met our guide for Kili climb. For the Kili climb agency works with group of very experienced and professional guides, chef and ports, led by Erastus- most senior and experienced guide (12 years of experience). Erastus and his crew were very supportive during the climb and provided everything we needed (excellent food, constant support, organised aproach and most important positive and cheerful atmosphere).During the Safari part of the trip we shared a car with 4 more people which was fantastic. It was wonderful with beautiful nature, animals and again good atmosphere. Drivers Hussein and Golden showed good knowledge of national parks and provided interesting facts. The food was excellent and same as on Kili one cannot stay hungry :) During the stay in Arusha we were accomodated in beautiful Nyumbani lodge where we got opportunity to relax and also get interesting information about Tanzania from the host Andrew. During the whole 11 days trip everything went smoothly and we were taken care of in terms of food, transport, accomodation and information on the next steps. Overall we would recommend African travel tour. Thank you for everything! We will never forget this trip.

Roland   –  
Austria AT
Visited: August 2017 Reviewed: Jun 26, 2018

Email Roland  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

well-organised safari experience
4/5

Abraham was very helpful in planning our trip. He planned an individual trip for us and met our wishes and ideas perfectly. The chosen accommodation were really nice and we were really happy. When we arrived in Tansania he picked us up from the airport and brought us to our first accomodation.
On our 7 day safari trip (including the climbing of Ol Doinyo Lengai) everything worked out well. We went to Tarangire, Lake Natron, Serengeti and Ngorongoro crater. Our driver Mashaka had a lot of knowledge about the nature and animals. He knew some outlying and not much frequented places and we were able to see animals without other masses. The only thing to criticise is the state of the safari jeep - no belt, no headrest and in general really old. Compared to the jeeps of other safari companys the jeep of african travel tour looked a bit shabby.
All in all we can really recommend african travel tour - outstanding service for an adequate price.

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 20
  • 4 star 2
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by African Travel Tour, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by African Travel Tour are subject to their terms & conditions