Reviews

Average User Rating
4.7/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 58
  • 4 star 4
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 3
  • 1 star 1

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-4 of 4 Reviews
Emily   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2016 Reviewed: Aug 2, 2016

Email Emily  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Masai Mara trip (2 nights, 3 days)
4/5

I was picked up from my house in Nakuru and driven to meet the tour group in Naivasha. This was very convenient as I did not want to have to travel to Nairobi. Overall, the trip was very exciting and our driver made sure we saw as much as possible in the national park. However, I felt the driver could have been a bit more friendly. I do think that the experience really depends on your driver. Our tour group was a combination of people from all different safari companies which surprised me. Often we were not sure of the exact schedule. However, I did have a very enjoyable experience and highly recommend visiting the Mara.

Andre   –  
Australia AU
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 20, 2022

Email Andre

Meeting the Maasai and safari in Amboseli
4/5

Our full day trip to meet the Maasai and experience Amboseli National Park was nothing short of amazing and an experience we will never forget.

Our guide was knowledgeable, professional and had a great sense of humor. The Safari was spectacular. We saw a huge number of animals including lions, hippos, giraffes, hyenas, zebras and elephants. Lunch was at a lodge in the park which was a great african inspired venue serving good food.

The visit to meet the Maasai was really good. Entertaining as much as educational about the way they lived, their culture and how they treated disease and sickness. An experience that won't be forgotten. The downside, and Im being picky here was at the end when we were pushed heavily to purchase items they pretend are made by the Massai in the village at extremely expensive prices, when they are nothing more than mass produced souvenirs found at every airport throughout Africa. Otherwise, and extremely good day from start to finish.

Andre   –  
Australia AU
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 20, 2022

Email Andre  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Meeting the Maasai and safari in Amboseli
4/5

Our full day trip to meet the Maasai and experience Amboseli National Park was nothing short of amazing and an experience we will never forget.

Our guide was knowledgeable, professional and had a great sense of humor. The Safari was spectacular. We saw a huge number of animals including lions, hippos, giraffes, hyenas, zebras and elephants. Lunch was at a lodge in the park which was a great african inspired venue serving good food.

The visit to meet the Maasai was really good. Entertaining as much as educational about the way they lived, their culture and how they treated disease and sickness. An experience that won't be forgotten. The downside, and Im being picky here was at the end when we were pushed heavily to purchase items they pretend are made by the Massai in the village at extremely expensive prices, when they are nothing more than mass produced souvenirs found at every airport throughout Africa. Otherwise, and extremely good day from start to finish.

John   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Oct 28, 2023

Email John  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very good
4/5

My dealings with Kenya Bush Safaris were excellent from initial contact until after our safari had ended. Our driver turned up at the agreed time, drove us to the Masai Mara and we had 3 excellent game drives - one the afternoon we arrived (though our driver did a detour en route to the hotel when he spotted a herd of buffalo). Our driver was excellent. He was good company, knowledgable and wanted us to have the best safari experience we could. Kenya Bush Exhibitions also arranged a hot air balloon ride (at a cost cheaper than what the hotel was charging) which I would highly recommend.
My only criticism would be that on our last morning we wanted to see if we could see some giraffes in the wild as we didn't manage to see any previously. To be fair we did try but not for very long. Instead we were taken on an optional visit to a typical Masai village. We were stunned to be charged 3000KES (about £15) per person for the visit. The chief who greeted us said after the tour we would visit the gift shop and then invited to make a contribution to their education fund. As we were leaving Kenya the following morning we had very little Kenyan shillings left and even less when we left the village. They seemed very adept in extracting money from the tourists! We would have preferred our time looking for giraffes rather than going to the Masai village. In our opinion, as it was an optional visit, we should have been given the choice and certainly advised about the entrance fee. We felt put on the spot as once we had arrived we were committed to the visit.
That was the one issue we had on the whole tour and would not want anyone to think that it somehow ruined our experience. It didn't. We just felt we should have had the option of how we spent our last morning and what to expect should we have chose to visit the masai village.

Average User Rating
4.7/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 58
  • 4 star 4
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 3
  • 1 star 1
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Kenya Bush Expeditions, not SafariBookings