Average User Rating

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 272
  • 4 star 10
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 4

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 287 Reviews
Ralf und Andrea   –  
Germany DE
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jul 19, 2024

Email Ralf und Andrea  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Tanzania,trip of a lifetime

We booked our safari through Paradise & Wilderness, Shemeji Safari and had a very nice contact there.
All questions were answered and I had a very good feeling about booking my “trip of a lifetime” here.
Even after the booking, there was always someone there to help me if I had any questions.

We booked the 8-day tour starting in Arusha, Tarangire Park, Ngongoro Crater, Lake Manyara, Lake Natron and Serengeti.

We were picked up by Elias and Stanley, who briefed us.
Without exaggeration, they were fantastic guides who accompanied us the whole way and made the safari unforgettable for us with a lot of knowledge and friendliness.
Thank you Elias for the great information about the country and its people.

The lodges we stayed at were excellent and the friendliness of the staff and people in general was outstanding.

The Africa Safari Lodges were top and everything was just right for us.
All in all, a very clear recommendation for this company.

Dave Gunderson   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jul 19, 2024

Email Dave Gunderson

Wonderful safari experience

From the first communication with the office, I was supplied with. All the information necessary to design a 12 day safari in four of the parks in Tanzania. We were a family of 12 with three generations, from age 10 to 81. The tented camps were out in the bush but had character, were clean and comfortable with good food and most had swimming pools for all of us, especially appreciated after a long day on the bumpy, dusty, bad roads. We all had a great time and was a real adventure each day. The driver guides(Gaza and George) were great. It’s not a luxury tour, but the tents are well furnished, beds are comfortable, all the camps have great location, and the food was really good. You won’t be dissapointed

Nathalie V.   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jul 9, 2024

Email Nathalie V.  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Shemeji fulfilled my dream

This 14-day trip (12 days on safari) was all I expected and more.

From the first contact, I felt that my Shemeji representative understood what I wanted regarding budget, itinerary, lodgings, etc. She answered my gazillion questions in the best delays and gave me clear information. I did not feel pushed to upscale or spend more than my stated budget (which was not the case with other companies I contacted). The evening before the start of my safari, a Shemeji representative came to my lodge to welcome me and give me a briefing for the following days.

During the trip, I stayed at 7 different lodges and they were exactly as described - no bad surprise. All of them had all the amenities advertised; everything was very clean, bottled water was provided for toothbrushing, safes for valuables and mosquito nets were in place, and basic toiletries were provided. The food was good and plentiful. The teams, from the managers to the waiters and security guards, were excellent. They were attentive and cheerful and made you feel extremely welcome. As a 59-year-old female solo traveler, I felt safe in all places at all times. If you needed anything and it was in their power to make it happen, they would. Each lodge had its particular charm, from huge tents to circular Masaai-like rooms. The one in Ikoma has a particular place in my heart because, from my tent patio, I saw giraffes and zebras ambling by pretty close as well as a group of wildebeests running toward the North.

As far as wildlife viewing, it was absolutely fantastic. I had a great guide, Englebert, who not only knew the Serengeti inside out, could answer any question, drove efficiently and safely, had eyes like a hawk, found great places to view every animal but was also very educational on the ecosystems, the different types of wildlife conservation areas throughout Tanzania, and about life in Tanzania in general. He was pivotal in the success of my trip. My other local guides (Mto wa Mbu village, Masaai Boma village, Pololeti Game Reserve, and Ikoma Walking Safari) were also great. I learned a lot about farming, daily life, customs, and the flora through them.

As far as pricing goes, I feel like I received good value for my budget. I hope to be able to go back to Tanzania in a few years and will not hesitate to book again with Shemeji.

Valentin   –  
Germany DE
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 27, 2024

Email Valentin  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent Safari Experience

We booked nine days of Safari with Shemeji. The tour via Arusha NP, Tarangire NP, Lake Manyara, NCA and Serengeti was well thought out and we enjoyed the diverse sceneries that each park has to offer. Our guide, Sillo, has been amazing in tracking animals, particularly lions in Ndutu, and generally, he has demonstrated superb knowledge about the flora and fauna in every NP that we visited.

Particularly the areas, that were considered off season, because the migration was elsewhere, such as Ndutu and Pololeti, were breathtaking. They were teeming with life nonetheless and thanks to the lack of crowds we had them almost only for ourselves.

The Africa Safari hotels offer great service and food. Sometimes the chefs even cooked additional vegetarian food specifically for us to make sure that we get enough proteins. An absolute highlight for us was the Africa Safari South Serengeti Ndutu hotel where we could even spot wildlife right outside of our tent.

One stain on our trip was our car that broke down multiple times. Was that annoying? Yes, but it did not overshadow an otherwise flawless trip.

Thank you!

Alison   –  
Italy IT
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 23, 2024

Email Alison  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

All needs catered for from the initial booking to us leaving Zanzibar

Went with Shemeji safari. My contact .onica was always available by WhatsApp and made our holiday fantastic.We booked the 11 day budget best of Tanzania and Zanzibar Safari. Taking in Tarangire NP. Serengeti NP. Ngorongoro Highlands and crater finishing with Lake Myanara national park. Our guide and driver knew all the roads to take and afforded us some of the best game viewing there was ! All the accommodation was fantastic all the staff very attentive each camp had WiFi. So yes an excellent holiday.

frederic   –  
France FR
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 10, 2024

Email frederic  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

the tour was excellent

I must say that the organization of the tour was excellently well prepared by miréne , who was very attentive at all my requests and who provided us an excellent guide peter maley who gave us complete answers at all our questions about animals, massais ,vegetation,geological ,etc etc. providing also his own different books of wildlife if we wanted to deepen
best regards
frederic vieille

Ella   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Mar 22, 2024

Email Ella  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

He was absolutely exceptional and felt like family.

It was an awe-inspiring, life-altering journey. This is something everyone should experience at least once, and it doesn't have to break the bank. From the exhilarating game drives to the cozy tents we stayed in, every aspect was flawless. We felt entirely secure throughout, and our guide was always available for assistance. Witnessing the Big Five was truly transformative. We saw Lions, Zebras, elephants, giraffes, cheetahs, rhinos, buffalos, just to name a few.

Prisca   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 18, 2024

Email Prisca  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

From start to end a great experience

Booking with Shemeji Safari was made very easy and the contact with people was throughout very friendly.
On the safari itself, we were well looked after and the lodges were all very nice and in stunning locations. It was my first safari and if I went again, I would use them again.

Trevino   –  
China CN
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Nov 11, 2023

Email Trevino  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Trevino and not that of SafariBookings.
We believe we are trapped and treaded unfairly

We are 4 friends and booked our trip to Tanzania from 09/24 - 10/4. And we’ve planned our trip like more than half year ago, we are so looking forward to have an impressive and unforgettable trip. But it turned out that we are just trapped and treated unfairly:

1) Request are neglected
during the book,we have highlighted that we need twin room(2 beds in 1 room), and the company had confirmed the request in our itinerary in the email. But it turned out that the company just ignored the request and there are always only 1 bed in 1 room.

During the Serengeti safari, we can overcome the difficulty as there is only 1 night and with the help of receptionist, we finally have 2 beds in one room. Although 1 is king size the other is baby size.

But when we arrived at Zanzibar, there are straight 3 nights! And when we turn to receptionist, he confirmed that there is no request for the room and it cannot be arranged. At the time I called Mirene, our customer service representative from the company, she just said I NEVER request!!!

2) forgot to arrange activities with payment

We booked dolphin adventure and but there no one knows the schedule onsite.

We check with the reception desk, they let us ask the excursions and taxi office. And the office asked us to wait at the front desk today at 6 am….

We just wait at front desk today at 6 am as we are told, but there is no driver, the receptionist tried to call someone to help. And we are waiting half an hour. The driver finally showed up and took us to the North saying the staff forgot to arrange the adventure to us. And because it is too late, cannot take us to the south, which list in our itinerary, he can only take us to the north as it is closer.

3) Payment change without notice
We are informed fully that the credit card payment rate is 2.5%, but when we pay it was updated to 3%. We find the balance is not right and reached out to the company and only when they told us that because the government changed the rate.

4) careless and time wasting
We have reported to the company on 10/1 and want to have a solution of the unhappiness, and till now 11/11 we don’t have the solution. And the reply just keep saying they are contacting accountant (don’t understand why need to contact the person) and asking the same question even though we have demonstrated exactly in the email of what we need and what happened.

the route of keeping letting us down in summary

A. the credit card payment rate rise from 2.5% to 3% without notice until we find the difference. And we accept it;
B. Full of lies: One of my friends reached out to Mirene to help know who is our pickup guy at airport. And Mirene replied she will contact me to confirm. And I never received her email so I have to write to her. And she wrote me back” she never got message from my friend” ( we have both WhatsApp and email record if you need). Again we accept it.
C. During the safari, the room is also only 1 bed. As you may know already. We accept it with the receptionist help.
When we back to Arusha, we immediately write back to Mirene that we are very happy with our arrangement as we want to know the time that pick up tomorrow! And of course, you may need to give credit to wild animals who help erase our unhappiness.
D. And finally our disappointment has reached to its ultimate level in Zanzibar when we step into our room. So I immediately write email to the company but they just keep pulling back and forth.

We truly want to know, the difficulty the company set for us is because we are Asian? or more specifically speaking, we are treated unfairly is because we are Chinese?

Reply from Shemeji Safari Tanzania
Reply from Shemeji Safari Tanzania
Posted on Nov 15, 2023

Dear Trevino,

Thank you for your feedback. We want to clarify the situation by discussing every point you mentioned in your review.

1)You have booked a Camping Budget Tent Safari with us, these tents are always equipped with two single beds. As we were not fully booked in the camps during the period you were on Safari, the managers in each camp upgraded you to a Comfort Tent. Our Comfort Tents are all furnished with a double bed and a single bed. We do not have baby-sized beds in our Tents. In Zanzibar, you were also upgraded from a Luxury Room to a Premium Room. In these rooms, there is also always a double bed and a single bed. Our customer service was available for you at all times and you confirmed that everything was to your satisfaction.

2) The dolphin tour was scheduled for 9 am in the morning, as was communicated in advance. However, you were already at the reception at 6 am. For your convenience, our team organized a transfer immediately and a driver was there to pick you up 30 minutes later. As it is impossible to know the exact whereabouts of the dolphin at the time of booking the location of the tour was changed. This is why your dolphin tour took place in the northern part of Zanzibar Island. After the tour, you also verbally told our customer service that the excursion was to your satisfaction.

3)When you made a credit card payment at the beginning of 2023, the payment provider surcharge was 2.5%. This credit card fee has since been increased to 3%, which was also communicated via the last invoice sent to you.

This Safari group contacted us via E-Mail multiple times. They blatantly asked for a 20% refund of the total itinerary price and blackmailed the company, threatening to publish negative reviews on major internet platforms unless we complied with their demands.

As a multinational company with a diverse workforce from more than 25 countries and 4 continents, we reject your accusation of racism in the strongest terms possible. In this testimonial, you also specifically mention our sales team member Mirene. She has been working for the company for several years and there has never been a complaint about her - neither internal nor external. Mirene is a beloved and valued colleague and we strongly disapprove of your criticism and personal attacks toward her.

For your reference, we gladly provide the positive evaluation form filled in by this Safari group.

Gabriella   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Nov 8, 2023

Email Gabriella  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Unforgettable and great Experience

We booked a 5 day Safari including Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Serengeti and Ngorongoro. Organisation was perfect. The lodges are very close to nature and really beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We saw a lot of animals and were compleately satisfied. We would recommend Shemeji Safari.

Average User Rating
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 272
  • 4 star 10
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 4
Write a Review


  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Shemeji Safari Tanzania, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Shemeji Safari Tanzania are subject to their terms & conditions