Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 70
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 70 Reviews
Marco   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 15, 2022

Email Marco  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Fantastic experience
5/5

Philomena and all the team of Savannah trekkers is very professional and prepared.
We are glad to had chosen their company to our travel.
All the Safari, from the first contact until the leaving at the airport, was great.
Philomena help us to decide the better itinerary for our needs and to find the better flight solutions.
During the Safari we had the luck to be driven by Paul, very experienced about Ngorongoro e Serengeti area. Thanks to him, in just 3 days we fully enjoyed the Safari and had the chance to watch all the 'big five' and a lot of other species.
I highly recommend this agency for the professionalism, good price, organisation and last but not least the kindness of this people. Thanks for all guys!
Hope to come back soon!

Joseph Aronsoe   –  
Denmark DK
Visited: June 2022 Reviewed: Sep 1, 2022

Email Joseph Aronsoe  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excelllent tour operator. Communication and service exceed our expectations. Highly recommended!
5/5

We booked a tailor made private tour (7 days) with African Savannah Trekkers. At a very affordable price. Philomena, the coordinator, was so helpful and reassuring. She did everything to meet our needs. We planned out the day by day, over several months. All details where professionally handled by Philomena, and we are so grateful for everything she did. She was able to answer all of our questions and concerns. It was amazing to visit beautiful Tanzania, The Serengeti plains, Ngorongoro Crater and Tanrangire National Park. The total tally of animals we saw on the whole trip: 25 lions, 4 Leopards, 4 Cheetas ... plus, Eland Deer, Dik-Dik, Thompson Gazelle, Turtles, Black faced monkeys, Striped Snake, Donkeys, Wilderbeast, Marabou Stork, Impalas, Hippoptamus, Giraffe, Warthogs, Buffalo, Crocodiles, Flamingo, Heart Beasts, Mongoose, Zebra, Topi, Jackal, Baboon, Elephant, Flamingos, Pelicans, Rock Herricks, Hyena, Ostrich, and too many bird species to name here, Weaver Birds, Starlings, Buzzards, Guinea Fowls, Falcons. We also saw the very elusive Serval. And fortunately, the icing on the cake - one White Rhino ! We were definitely pleased with our choices of parks, but two days (in stead of one) in Tarangire, would have been a better choice, just so much wildlife there. The whole trip was so memorable and just truly amazing. The safari is an unforgettable memory. It will stay in our hearts forever.

Andre   –  
Brazil BR
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 24, 2022

Email Andre  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Unforgettable trip
5/5

The company's service was excellent from the first contact by email. Philomena always clarified all doubts. We did a 4 day 3 night Safari and the service was impeccable. When we arrived at Kilimanjaro airport the day before the start of the Safari Philomena was already waiting for us and took us to the hotel in Arusha. During the Safari we visited Tarangire, Ngorongoro, Serengeti and Lake Manyara parks and managed to see the main animals. Our guide Horace was an excellent professional, very kind and made every effort so that we could see as many animals as possible. The accommodations during the Safari were excellent, all first class. I highlight the experience of having spent a night inside the Serengeti in an extremely luxurious cabin. I recommend the African Savannah Trekkers company for sure. And once again I would like to express my gratitude to Philomena and the guide Horace for providing a unique experience that will remain forever in our memories.

(automatic translation from Portuguese)

Annette A.   –  
Denmark DK
Visited: June 2022 Reviewed: Jul 20, 2022

Email Annette A.  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Philo and Paul are fair, reliable, highly professional and warm hearted.
5/5

Very best Safari with African Savannah Trekkers
My son and I had our first Safari , 8 days in June 2022. Philomena had arranged it beautifully, according to our many detailed e-mail conversations. She was service minded and open to our requests, as well as patient with our many questions.
When we actually met with Philo in Tanzania, she impressed me with her high professionalism, integrity and sweet concern. Philo looked after us when we arrived in Arusha. She was in touch over the phone a few times during the actual Safari week. And she came to see us well off, on the day of our departure.
Safari gamedrives, accommodations, meals and lunch boxes were all very fine.
Especially our skilled driver and excellent guide, Paul, made the actual 8 day Safari an experience of a lifetime, for me.
Being an elderly person from Denmark , I was initially a bit apprehensive, about contacting and dealing with a local African provider of Safari, on the internet. However, I found both Philo and Paul most trustworthy. And I felt safe and taken care of from the very first day, when we landed at Kilimanjaro Airport.
Day 1 on the Safari Paul took us on a gamedrive to Tarangire National Park. Here we saw a lion couple, an elephant family with calfs close up, an old male elephant who took a nap, and several giraffes. As well as many Zebra herds alongside with Wildebeest and Gazelles. Plus a very, very old Baobab tree. In Tarangire we had the highest concentration of wildlife encounters, during the whole Safari.
We spent the night at Karatu Lodge, Marera Valley, which was booked as a middle range accommodation. To my standard it was luxurious. The staff was kind, and food was delicious. Our cottage was comfortable, with a beautiful view over a coffee plantation and the hills.
Day 2, on our way to Serengeti , we visited the arcaological museum at Olduvai Gorge. The site is the assumed cradle of Homo Sapiens. Very interesting, facinating and educational . We spent the night at Serengeti Heritage Luxury Tented Camp.
Day 3 - 5 we went to Serengeti National Park. Our gamedrives went through only part of Central Serengeti, but still covered a vast area. We stayed two nights at Serengeti Heritage Luxury Tented Camp. A very charming accommodation in midst of the Savannah, with a fine long distance view.
In the early mornings and in the evening, a Masai accompanied us to and fro, between the restaurant and our luxury tented shelter. He carried a tall stick and a torch. That was assuring, when darkness had fallen on the Savannah.
On the gamedrives in the Serengeti, we got many close up photos of elephants, giraffes, lions and cheetaes. As well as (to us) exotic birds.
All thanks to our highly experienced guide Paul. He managed to track the wildlife and position the vehicle. This way we got fine photos, even though our only photo equipment was a mobilephone. We even saw several leopards, at relatively short distance. Paul made every gamedrive a uniqe experience.
As a Safari guide Paul is really one in a million. He has huge knowledge of the local wildlife, and a fine sense of how to get near shy creatures. Any question from us about flora or fauna, that he might not have an immediate answer to, he would soon look up and clarify. Paul was allways attentative and in a good mood, during the whole trip.
Paul possesses a rare combination of professionalism and an ability to relate on a personal level. Without becoming private. I much appreciated his good company.
Day 6 - 8 in the morning we had gamedrive in Serengeti, and later the same day went to Ngorongoro Highlands.
We spent one night at Rhino Lodge. The accommodation and food was very good, and the staff friendly and helpfull. In the highlands it was rainy and a bit cold. So it was nice, when the staff lit a fireplace in our room, for the night. The next night we spent at Karatu Lodge, once again. Still very fine.
The last two days of the Safari we entered Ngorongoro Crater. You go down 600 meters into the caldera. Down and out of the morning mist, we saw lush greenery everywhere.
I was fascinated by driving around among the wildlife, with the crater walls / hills towering above, all around. There are several freshwater springs in the crater, which sustain wildlife. We saw elephant herds, giraffes and baboons on the slopes. On the crater floor we saw the now familar herds of horned and hoofed animals. Including hippoes in the swamps.
In the soda lake there were floks of flamingoes. We followed a lion couple close up. And we even saw a big Rhino at some distance. At that point we had ticked off, all of The Big Five 
I feel lucky, that we chose African Savannah Trekkers, amongst the many providers of Safari Tours. It was a privilege to meet Philo, and to spend time with Paul on the gamedrives. Asante sana !
I hope, that their boss shows them deserved appreciation, for their dedicated work in the team. They must be an invaluable contribution to the business firm.

Luca   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: June 2022 Reviewed: Jun 30, 2022

Email Luca  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Superb Safari tour with African Savannah Trekkers
5/5

African Savannah Trekkers is an excellent tour operator!

I always say that if we (travel community) keep being honest with the reviews we will all benefit from it.
That said, if this is your first Safari trip and you don't know anyone that could recommend you a tour operator (like us), I would strongly recommend you trust the great reviews of African S Trekkers like we did.

We have been in contact with many tour operators but what really caught our attention were the detailed emails that we were receiving back from Philomena to our endless questions. She's been really professional and kindly replied to all our "first time" Safari organisers questions.
She allowed us plenty of time to decide without pushing us, and sent proof of received payments as soon as they've received the deposit and final payment.
We did the 4 days/3 nights tour, visiting Tarangire, Ngorogoro crater, Serengeti and Lake Manyara. The program has been exactly the one that had been previously discussed by emails, no unpleasant surprises.
Our guide, Eli, picked us up from the hotel with the classic 4x4 Safari Jeep (great vehicle condition, with openable roof, fridge, power sockets and a professional set of Pentax binoculars to be used by the clients).
Eli is such a nice guy!!! Very polite and friendly, speaks fluent English, he's an excellent tour guide and drives really safe. He provided lots of information both during the transfer to the parks and during the game drive. Mainly, he's been amazing on spotting animals, getting close to them and on keeping our car as far as possible from other vehicles, making possible for us to be the only vehicle in a huge safari area for many times, watching animals on our own and enjoying all the quiet of the nature (thanks Eliiii!!!).
I'm honestly saying that the tour went beyond expectations!
On day 1 we went to Tarangire for a long game drive and in the evening drove to Hhando Coffe L for night stay.
On the early morning of day 2 we descent Ngorogoro crater , stayed till the afternoon (plenty of time to visit Ngorogoro)and then drove to Serengeti park. The road to Serengeti was super nice and when we got there we had an evening of game drive.
Day 3, a long game drive in Serengeti park and in the evening back to Hhando Lodge.
Day 4 we had a game drive in Lake Manyara and back to Arusha.
The game drive time has been much more than what expected and we managed to see the big 5, once again thanks to Eli's knowledge of the park best sites.

The accomodations where also superb. Hhando coffe Lodge is located near the Ngorogoro gate. It's a beautiful bungalows resort with swimming pool. It's in new conditions and with a great interior design, everything works perfectly (like the hot water) and the bungalows have private terrace with excellent view over the jungle.
Serengeti Heritage Tent camp is also a little gem located inside the Serengeti Park. The individual tents are huge and the private bathroom very nice. Again, all working in perfect condition.
The outside lounge area overlooking the park It's very nice and we have enjoyed a drink around the outside fire watching the sunset.
Food was great and abundant in every meal, including the picnic packet lunch.

To answer some of the main faq you might have ( I had all these questions in my head when I was looking for a tour operator):

Yes. Once again, the game driving time will be plenty and your tour guide will allow you plenty of time to take photos.

Yes. They are 100% trustable and your payments will also be 100% safe (Tanzanian are great people and I wasn't really doubting, but it's legitimate to think about it)

Yes. The jeep is the same as every other tour operator, with the bonus that windows can be fully lowered, while I've seen other jeeps with half sliding windows only.

No. We had not unpleasant surprises, like extra fees or change of programme.

No. Even though the total cost was one of the best we found, this is absolutely a budget tour at all. We've had a professional experience and couldn't ask for more.


I would recommend you look no further and get in contact with them.
My suggestion, if you can, is to stretch for -at least- 1 more day as Serengeti is a huge park. Our 4 days tour has still been great and made a dream come true.
Philo, Eli and everyone at AST:thank you so much for making our first Safari tour a one to remember forever!!!
As promised , we will be back!


















Yuksel Y   –  
Turkey TR
Visited: May 2022 Reviewed: Jun 27, 2022

Email Yuksel Y  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Great experience with African Savannah Trekkers!
5/5

Great experience with African Savannah Trekkers! We spent 12 days in national parks and Zanzibar. It was great to have safari to Serengeti,Tarangire, Manyana lake and Ngorongoro crater. We could have a uniqe safari experience ; thanks to Philo and Elisante’s expertise. We had a chance to see wonderful animal sceneries including big 5. Elisante was knowledgeable about all aspects of the safari; he could find animals that many other guides could not.
Camps were comfortable and everyone was very friendly and helpful. Staying in the bush listening to animals in our tent was wonderful.
We spent 3 days in Zanzibar. The island is spectacular and the people was very kind and nice. Our hotel Langi Langi Beach Bungalows was very good. Rasta is an amazing chef and manager, Food was fantastic ! Philo arranged local tours (Safari Blue picnic, Stone town and Prison Island tours, Dolphine tour) which were really great!
We highly recommend African Savannah Trekkers. It is a great company to use in Tanzania. Thanks to Philo and the team..

Monica   –  
Spain ES
Visited: May 2022 Reviewed: Jun 2, 2022

Email Monica  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excelente
5/5

The best experience of our life. From the first contact Philo did everything to make the trip to our liking and adapt it to our needs. He was in contact with us continuously before arrival. Once we arrived our driver Chambuzo was waiting for us. We have to say that he is the best driver out there. He knows absolutely all the parks, he did everything possible for us to see all the animals. He was attentive to us at all times and that everything was fine. We can only say THANK YOU. In relation to the excellent hotels, we cannot fault anything. The food and the rest all good. In short, everything is great, the best company to trust to be able to make this trip. Thanks for everything.

(automatic translation from Spanish)

Esther Fosters   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: March 2022 Reviewed: Apr 12, 2022

Email Esther Fosters  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

World-class national parks and experience!
5/5

My family and I had an awesome short trip in Tanzania, thanks to this tour operator that facilitated a big part of it. It was a joyous and memorable one.
The tour guide was polite and patient with us. He was quite knowledgeable, especially about where to take good photos of the view and animals. He identified and talked about every animal we spotted in detail.
It was a 5 night and 6-day safari that was full of fun and enjoyment! We got to visit the Serengeti,Ngorongoro,Manyara and Tarangire national park. The view of Lake Manyara national park was enchanting, as a photographer, I loved to witness the wildlife spectacles of the world.
The accommodation recommended was quite comfortable, top standard and affordable with a great view of the park!
Communication with this operator was great, they ensured we were 100% satisfied with the tailored itinerary and would advise accordingly when necessary.
The entire trip provided a good value for money. We appreciate the excellent service of this team and the experience we were lucky to have. Highly recommend travelers visiting Africa to book a safari with African Savannah Trekkers!

Aimee   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2022 Reviewed: Mar 24, 2022

Email Aimee  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

AMAZING!!
5/5

Amazing amazing amazing!!! The best experience that I will never ever forget.
From the moment that I arrived in Arusha everything was exceptional. African savannah safaris organised everything for me from airport transfers, tours, safaris and a beautiful home stay which was outstanding. Our guide “E” knew everything about the communities, animals, history, landscape’s and mountains around Tanzania. He was so knowledgeable and the kindest sweetest guy. We saw so many animals, including all of the big 5 which was insane! The lodges throughout our 3 night safari were stunning. I was not expecting them to be as beautiful as they were and the food was delicious!
Philomena was very helpful and answered any questions that we had and recommended accommodation for us. She even organised airport transfers when we arrived in Zanzibar 1 week later. She was excellent! Thank you philomena.
Everything about African savannah trekkers was out of this world. Book with these guys and you’ll have a trip like no other. Thank you so so so much for this amazing experience. I will be back :)

Raimondas   –  
Lithuania LT
Visited: January 2022 Reviewed: Feb 13, 2022

Email Raimondas  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A small company but very professional, flexible and very focusing to clients
5/5

An amazing trip to the Serengeti exceeded our expectations.
We are very pleased to have chosen this company for our planned 4 Day Safari in Tanzania. We searched for a private tour for 6 people, sent inquiries to several operators, but here we found the clearest and easiest communication to arrange and plan a tour that meets our budget and preferences. Philomena communicates very well answering all questions quickly, flexible and clearly, she delves into our situation for desires and gives great advice. And finally the taylor made itinerary and the trip itself was amazing, the experience really enjoyed our entire company. Our guide Elisante turned out to be a great person, educated and very respectable and responsible, as well as a highly experienced driver. We drove fast, funny and safe. Eli worked hard to find all the animals we wanted to observe. He managed to watch the Leopards very closely. Everything was great from start to finish. The accommodations recommended by Philomena were great as it could be (we chose a medium price level). Just maybe except for the last overnight in Arusha city the hotel was complicated.
However, in Safari we had a great time and good food and interesting accommodation . Thank you Philo and Eli! We will definitely recommend you to other travelers

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 70
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by African Savannah Trekkers, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by African Savannah Trekkers are subject to their terms & conditions