Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 89
  • 4 star 12
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 102 Reviews
Barbara   –  
United States US
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: Jun 3, 2024

Email Barbara  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Wonderful Safari experience!
5/5

They made it very easy to book our Safari to Aquila Game Reserve! It was great value for our money! We got notified about everything & even got a call the day before confirming our transfer time! Our transfer driver was wonderful & everything at Aquila Game was amazing! We were so happy we chose the Premier Lodge room. It was big with a view overlooking the Reserve and we saw numerous animals as we sat on our balcony! Each Game Drive was different & we saw the animals in different areas of the Reserve. Beautiful scenery while on our Drives! The wine & snacks midway through the evening drives was a nice touch! I was nervous about this booking & if it would live up to our expectations. But, it exceeded our expectations! Thank you for everything!

Melroy   –  
United Arab Emirates AE
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: Jun 2, 2024

Email Melroy

Excellent confirmation of booking and transparency of inclusion's.
5/5

Gems Of Africa responded with the information required with full clarity. Janine was assigned to us to get the information and booking was confirmed without much delay.
As promised our transfer to Gondwana was arranged and available.
Tom our tour guide and driver for the transfer was professional and kept us engaged during the transfers.
The Gondwana staff also mirrored the information that Gems of Africa had shared and our stay was without any problems.
The reserve also arranged our game drives and we are thankful to Janine and the Gems of Africa team for making our holiday memorable.

Nikolaos   –  
Greece GR
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 29, 2024

Email Nikolaos  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great guys
5/5

There suggested very nice to do and activities in South Africa and they arranged everything, we didn’t have to worry about anything!

Maureen Piper   –  
New Zealand NZ
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 29, 2024

Email Maureen Piper  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Reliable and communicative
5/5

We have just finished a two night stay on the Garden Route. I can only speak in superlatives about our experience. From the reservations consultant to the driver to the accommodation to the food to the staff, everything was wonderful and exceeded expectations. The breakfast was the best we have eaten anywhere in the world.

For other travellers: we were not given an option about the standard of our accommodation, so ended up in a luxury two bedroom villa, when we would have been just as happy in the cheaper option of a one bedroom villa on the same property, which also looked great. We were also incorrectly advised by the reservations consultant that we would have a 50% chance of seeing the big five, when the property only had the big four. These two issues did not affect our enjoyment of our stay, but it's important for transparency.

I would definitely use this tour operator again, but it's important to ask all the questions when booking.

Anja   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Mar 19, 2024

Email Anja  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Smooth!
5/5

Our group of friends embarked on an unforgettable Safari experience thanks to the exceptional service provided by Gems of Africa Safari & Tours. From the initial booking to accommodating our last-minute changes, they went above and beyond to ensure a seamless journey. We couldn't be happier with our experience and eagerly look forward to booking with them again in the future!

Stephanie P   –  
Australia AU
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Mar 17, 2024

Email Stephanie P  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Helpful, beuatiful lodgings and incredible safari experience!
5/5

Mdluli lodge were so helpful. The emails were prompt and let us know the details of the different options to help us decide. They even accomodated a last minute request to change departure time on the final day when we realised we needed to back in Joberg earlier

Th Lodge itself was beautiful. On both times we relaxed by the pool we so Bull Elephants casually walking past across the river beyond the fence! The tents were spacious, comfortable, and airconditioned.

Our safaris were both incredible. We went on the sunset drive the day we arrived. It was mainly elephants, local deer, and finished with a drink near a lake that was home to three hippopatami
Th next day we went deeper into Kreuger on the 10 hour all day game drive as we wanted to maximise our chances of seeing the big five. We were incredibly lucky and saw all big 5, two times over! 2 lepoards, 9 lions (across two prides), two groups of buffalo and rhino + countless elephants. Our guide was fun, skilled at in looking out for animals and always made sure we had enough food and water. Just a note, you need to let them know if you want to do the game drives a couple hour prior - so if youre arriving just before the 2pm-6pm Kreuger drive I recommend emailing them ahead of time to let them know

Overall I couldn't recommend Mdluli lodge more highly!

Mary   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 12, 2024

Email Mary  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great experience
5/5

We had a wonderful experience on our 3 day safari! The lodge was beautiful with amazing views and the staff was very friendly. The food was great. We had 4 rides (2 mornings and 2 Afternoons) that were 3 hours long! We saw so many magnificent animals up close and it was very exciting. Our guide was so knowledgeable about them and their habitats. Opportunity to learn about conservation efforts.

Rhys   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Mar 3, 2024

Email Rhys  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Fantastic customer service!
5/5

Andre, Janine and Lindo ensured that we had a great safari and really went the extra mile. I strongly recommend booking through Gems of Africa when booking your safari!

Dave Dunlop   –  
Spain ES
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Mar 1, 2024

Email Dave Dunlop  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Dave Dunlop and not that of SafariBookings.
Recent Visit
3/5

The lodge facilities were excellent as was the area surrounding the compex. Fabulous views from the hotel room and an excellent staff who were very helpfull with any requests. The safari was a big disappointment as there is no such thing as the guaranteed viewing of the big 5, there are no leopards. Very view animals to view, 3 giraffes visiable from 200 mtrs, 5 elephants,5 rhino, 1 lion and 3 lioness, 5 hippos, 3 eland and a handful of sprinboks was all that was seen during the 3 days. The animals all appeared be fed by the staff and appeared relatively tame, certainly not wild. The terrain they live in is not really their natural habitat as there is nothing for them to eat or hunt. It you want to see the animals in their natural habitat then go to Kruger or Chobe and see the animals in the real world.

Reply from Gems of Africa Safari and Tours
Reply from Gems of Africa Safari and Tours
Posted on Mar 6, 2024

Dear Mr Dunlop, Trust you are well and thank you very much for sharing your review.
We are very happy to hear that the staff and facilities at Aquila Private Game Reserve were great. Unfortunately, all the safari lodges near Cape Town, 7 in total, have all reintroduced wildlife where some of them once roamed and offer more of a taste of a safari experience near Cape Town if you don't have the time to travel to Kruger National Park. For a first time safari, Aquila Private Game Reserve is perfect but if you have been to Botswana or Kruger National Park before, I would not recommend it. I have personally been to Aquila Private Game Reserve a few times with my 8yr old and Husband and we love it with many guests coming back having enjoyed it. It really depends on the guests and their expectations. These private game reserves don't have the size to accommodate herds and herds of each type of species, and therefore provide a glimpse of these beautiful creatures. We hope to assist you in the future if you ever want to travel to Botswana, Zimbabwe or Kruger National Park. Kind Regards the Gems of Africa Safari & Tours Family

Margaret   –  
Australia AU
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 23, 2024

Email Margaret  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Gems of Africa was extremely thorough
5/5

We found all Gems of Africa very prompt with communication and was able to address all concerns. They were value for money and meticulous in their information. A great provider.

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 89
  • 4 star 12
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Gems of Africa Safari and Tours, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Gems of Africa Safari and Tours are subject to their terms & conditions