Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 57
  • 4 star 2
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 61 Reviews
Cielle van Vuuren   –  
Australia AU
Visited: December 2023 Reviewed: Dec 10, 2023

Email Cielle van Vuuren  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Professional, ensuring things ran smooth, kind and excellent
5/5

Me and my son just finished with an excellent 5 day 4 night tailored tour with Shipungo - the communication and service was punctual and professional. We had an amazing time at the magkadigkadi salt pans driven there by PH in a very comfortable and clean car. We were then taken to see the giant baobab and meerkats by Oneal. We enjoyed our stay at Gweta lodge. We then had a special night travelling by mokoro to camp in the delta. Our guide Heaven took us for an evening an early morning bushwalk . He was so knowledgeable about the delta flora and fauna and shared jokes and stories . Two wonderful ladies set up the campsite and helped Tour the chef cook up a delicious meal. Our last two nights we went with Kem , Tour and KG to camp in Maremi and this was incredible - KG and Tour set up a very comfortable campsite with shower and toilet and safari style dining tent. Kem went above and beyond to take us on game drives in the evening and early morning to maximise our time in a new and comfortable open safari vehicle. We saw two cheetahs , lions , jackal , wild dogs , hyenas , honey badgers, elephants, giraffes and antelope and spent some hours watching a leopard which was very special . Tour and KG supplied delicious food. For a private tailored trip to Magkadigkadi and the Delta that suited our available dates this was hands down the best value and an amazing experience. Thanks so much to all the staff at Shipungo.

SEBASTIAN und SABINE   –  
Germany DE
Visited: October 2018 Reviewed: Oct 26, 2018

Email SEBASTIAN und SABINE  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Beautyful Boat Trip in the Okawango Delta with an experienced guide
5/5

Good communication with guide and Touroperator.
Touroperator came for briefing and debriefing.
Very attentive and recomendable.

Stephan Daus   –  
Norway NO
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 30, 2024

Email Stephan Daus  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A surprisingly interesting trip with more animals than expected in a dry season
5/5

All the feedback can be summarized like this: Car, camp equipment, landscape/animals and guide named Voice are excellent. Food ok, shower not as promised but hygiene arrangements ok. Dry season makes it a bit harder to find animals there, but we still found plenty different species!

Detailed comments for the agency, and a few pieces of advice to other travellers:

Communications
- Guides are not always reminding us tourists of the obvious: Always bring warm clothes (sweater/jacket, thin gloves, pants, etc) for morning drives, it gets surprisingly cold in the backseat of a 4x4 at 80 km/h 06:30. Also, boat trips sometimes lack adequate shade, so always bring sunscreen and sunglasses. And of course, ALWAYS bring binoculars (~10x30).
- Dietary restrictions (lactose-free diet for one person) had not been communicated to the chef at the camp.

Activities
- Our guide Voice was excellent. He worked very hard driving us around (6+4 hrs on the second day!) trying to find us animals and birds to watch. It is dry season so we knew it would be difficult to find anything. We were happy to see more than we expected. Unfortunately, no big cats but that is not your fault. Voice (and Left) also knew a lot of bird species and animals which was very useful. For our entire stay in Botswana we observed (and got the names of) 35 land animals and 49 bird species. So we are very satisfied.
- We also enjoy talking to locals about culture, society, politics, and getting to know people. We felt on the first evening that the crew were a bit distant; not socializing much. The chef (Rap) and the camp manager (Left) had planned to eat by themselves. We heard that this is because some wealthy guests do not want to have to eat with the crew. However, in our European and East-Asian cultures this is very strange, so we invited them to join us. Still, they did not seem very talkative, nor felt comfortable talking about their families, society or even sports. The second evening they opened up much more and we felt more comfortable. It is okay if they are introvert and shy. And Voice might be tired after driving so much. But I really hope they have not received instructions from Shipungo to avoid talking with the guests. Experiencing Botswana is more than just the animals. Especially since many of the animals are shy, so it would be nice to have some “entertainment” in the evening, such as just learning about Botswana.

Accommodations and meals
- Camp is of very high quality, and we felt spoiled being treated well by three staff. Bush toilet was good, tent was good, beds were good.
- We were promised in writing and with pictures that there would be a simple shower, but there was not. Voice explained that it is very dry there so water access is limited. Although we understand the situation, and we actually feel it would have been unnecessary to bring 50 extra liters just for a couple of showers, we felt a bit misled given what we were promised. They did provide water basins with a few liters of water for cleaning ourselves, but we did not realized before we left that we could have taken the supplied smaller towels into the water to clean ourselves. For the future, it would be advisable to remind the guests of this opportunity. We just used the water for cleaning our hands… It should also be said that we did not get that sweaty – either we are int the shadow of the car, or at the camp during night. Minimal personal hygiene is more about the private parts, underarms, feet and hands. Having a better setup for this would have been nice.
- Meals were decent, but not very exciting. Zimbabwean and Botswanan tour operators should not underestimate local cuisine, as not all tourists want to eat European food when travelling to Africa. We got spaghetti, rice, pasta and salad as accessories to our meat. Pap would have been more natural. Some other kinds of vegetables and starches such as pap would have been more exciting. We got such local food in the Okavanga Delta camp (another trip) so it is possible.
- Also, we were promised according to the itinerary to have dessert on the second dinner as well, but we did not get it. Even if I could not eat some diary products, my wife could have eaten it. Though there was plenty of food in total.
- We also informed beforehand that we would prefer the vegetarian sausages but we only got meat.

Other experiences
- Garbage is a huge problem (everywhere in the world). It gets sad when seeing it right outside (and sometimes inside) the parks. Local and central government must step up and fix this.
- Considering how important tourism is for the company and guides such as Voice, the government should disallow tourists travelling by themselves into the parks, or charge them much more than cars travelling with a guide. Those tourists leave very little money in the country, except for a small entrance fee.

Transportation
- Pickup was delayed 30 min, without us being informed. 20 min past we were informed by the hotel that they would be delayed 20 min… In the future, consider providing WhatsApp-contact information between guests and the crew for these things. Similar thing happened with another trip we went to (different company). And after picking us up, they went to collect water tanks and fuel, making us wait even further (collecting the water in the village near the park makes sense to do on the way, we are just referring to the water tanks). These kinds of delays indicate poor planning and lack of respect of the guests’ time. It would look better to arrange such things beforehand.
- Car has good quality seats.
- Much longer trip to the park than expected, but nothing to do about that. Bring an audio book.

Kieran McPherson   –  
Australia AU
Visited: May 2023 Reviewed: Jun 4, 2023

Email Kieran McPherson  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Fantastic, well organized, professional , knowledgeable and extremely friendly.
5/5

We originally booked this trip over three years ago pre covid and Mark from Shipungo kept in touch and updated during this time.
It has been well worth the wait it was an absolutely amazing experience. The four Shipungo staff that accompanied us were very knowledgeable helpful and fun. The food wasn’t good, it was amazing!
Would highly recommend Shipungo to anyone and would definitely use them again
Thank You Mark and your team.

An   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Dec 22, 2022

Email An  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very good daySafari in Moremi Botswana
5/5

A fullday tour incluse breakfast en lunch to Moremi wildlife , is was a good price !
The guide looks also “off-road” for the animals and that’s why we saw 3 male Lions en 1 female Lion en a lot of other animals. It was our best not self driven daytrip in the 5 weeks that we cross by 4x4 cars in Namibië en Botswana.

Tony & Marissa   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 30, 2022

Email Tony & Marissa  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Simply Amazing
5/5

My fiancée and I booked a two night, three day tour w/ Shipungo and were happy we did. Jack was an amazing tour guide. He had an intimate understanding of Moremi and its flora and fauna. He indulged my nascent interest in birding with patience, and had in-depth answers to all our questions. The support staff (Simon and KG) were talented, responsive, and kind. Simon was an excellent cook and went above and beyond with food presentation, flavoring, excellent portion sizes. We were never hungry nor thirsty. We saw 4 of the Big 5 and so many other animals. It was truly a visual buffet. Not sure we would've seen so much if it had not been for these gentlemen. If you go to Moremi, book with Shipungo and ask for Jack. And if you're a foodie, make sure to request Simon. We'd hire him to cater our wedding if we could.

John Hitchings   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Sep 5, 2019

Email John Hitchings  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Great operator, but much of the experience hinges on local guides, not the tour company.
5/5

Very responsive operator...we texted and figured out details over the weekend just before the safari. The pickup service was prompt and friendly, and the vehicle was comfortable. Meals were as expected for the price—basic but tasty. The tent was also as expected.

One thing to be aware of is that the “polers” and guide are part of the village community and they are assigned from a rotating list. Thus, as I understood, the boat operators and tour guides (who also help with camp requirements) can be hit-or-miss. Ours were very friendly and knew what they were doing (good empirical / local knowledge) but not stellar on technical knowledge and customer experience. The Shipungo staff was great, though. Overall it was an amazing experience.

Antoine Gilson   –  
France FR
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: Jul 15, 2024

Email Antoine Gilson  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Perfect
5/5

Awesome journey with Shipungo.
Very nice staff and professional. Well organised. We had a 10 days trip with.
I'will never forget it!
Many thanks to Kem, our guide. Thanks to him we saw a lot of animals and learnt many things.

Magdalena Darwaj   –  
Poland PL
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 30, 2024

Email Magdalena Darwaj

Exellent experience!
5/5

We had 2-days Safari in Mokotów. we are very satisfied! The entire team did a great job, they were helpful and caring and ensured safety. The guide Shadrach worked perfectly, he had a lot of knowledge about animals, he was able to spot them, I recomend Shadrach as a guide! And all staff was amazing! we will gladly recommend Shipungo!

Steve Perrins   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 23, 2024

Email Steve Perrins  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Fantastic experience
5/5

Spent 3 & 1/2 days wild camping in Moremi with Voice as our guide, very well assisted by Jonah, Left and KG in camp. It was cold at times so dress warm in the winter months. We all really enjoyed our time and felt very safe and well looked after. The food back in camp was very good too. Highly recommended if you’re looking for something a little different to the usual lodge experience. It was full on and tiring, so feel free to request a siesta more often if required.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 57
  • 4 star 2
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Shipungo Safari & Tours, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Shipungo Safari & Tours are subject to their terms & conditions