Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 364
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 364 Reviews
Raju   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 27, 2024

Email Raju  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Marvelous
5/5

Good service,reliable and value for money,good communication and very
reliable tour operator.

Emma   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 21, 2024

Email Emma  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great tour
5/5

We were so happy to have booked our safari through African Big Cat Safaris. Their communication was great throughout, as was their choice of accommodation. Our driver Venance was knowledgeable and informative. He was also a good driver practically speaking - we visited at the end of rainy season, and he made sure our vehicle was well maintained and never got stuck in the mud.

We had a 6 day tour, which was perfectly paced. We managed to see so much wildlife, as well as learning about the Tanzanian culture through our time with Venance. We would not hesitate to recommend booking a tour with African Big Cat Safaris.

Yoonyeol   –  
South Korea KR
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 14, 2024

Email Yoonyeol  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Careful consideration to find the right time and place
5/5

This is my first safari and I'm not experienced enough to make a comparison with other tour operators as I only have information from the internet. Therefore, I wrote my subjective experiences and opinions.

First of all, the vehicle, I thought that A/C would be necessary because it was rather hot during the day, but the feature of the traveling was such that we often traveled with the windows and roof open, so A/C did not seem to be a very important factor.
The vehicle gets dirty easily as almost travel on off-road and mud, water area, but the driver(guide) washed the vehicle daily, in and outside, so we always used a clean vehicle.

Secondly, the experience of the driver (guide) seems to be important. The ability to spot animals on game drives and drive on rough roads is very important. Most of the time they share information about the animals' spot, but sometimes on the road we were able to find and show us animals that other guides had passed by, or safely navigate muddy roads to save time, giving us more time to see the animals.

Thirdly, I felt that the driver(guide)'s sociability and speech was also important - too little or too much talk can make the traveling boring or exhausting, and my guide was very good at explaining things in context at right time and was very knowledgeable about the animals and terrain, answering questions quickly.

Fourth, the more expensive hotels(lodges) definitely offer better service and facilities. The distance to travel and the circumstance can also be factors to evaluate, but if you just look at the facilities and services, the more expensive the better.

Everything I mentioned above exceeded my expectations, especially Mr. Elias, who was my guide and driver.
Also, Mr. Joshua, the tour consultant of Africa Big Cat Safaris, made the trip even more memorable by welcoming and farewells on arrival and departure.
I highly recommend both of them if you are looking for a tour operator.

Flora   –  
Canada CA
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: May 12, 2024

Email Flora  |  Experience level: first safari

Exceptional Team and Amazing Safari
5/5

We had an unforgettable safari and we’re so happy to have gone with African Big Cats!

Planning - The team sent us a clear itinerary, along with packing and prep tips. I appreciated all the information on their website as well, it was useful for general research and to compare options for our customization. Since it was our first safari, we had many questions, but Justice and Naomi were always timely and courteous with their responses, so I became comfortable asking about even the smallest concerns we had. When we were in Arusha, the managing director Emanuel came to meet us before and after the safari, for an overview and debrief. It was very professional and I felt that they truly cared about our experience.

Safari - We saw the Big 5, the “Ugly” 5 (though I found the warthogs pretty cute), and basically the entire cast of the Lion King and more. Most of all, I loved seeing all the baby animals! It was exciting to drive alongside herds of zebra and wildebeest, and it was amusing to see the big cats nap and play just like our house cats. The company can provide a pair of binoculars for the vehicle, but we found it nice to each bring our own (and we got an accessory to attach it to our phones for photos). The accommodations were all clean and enjoyable, and provided good food for every meal. For the add-on activities, the hot air balloon ride was a highlight for us, and the crater rim hike had beautiful views. At the end, we thought the itinerary was well planned, and the safari was really worth the value, considering everything that’s included.

Guide - I was very impressed with our guide, Venance! He’s exceptionally knowledgeable and experienced. He always seems to know exactly where the animals will move to, and how to move the vehicle to get the best views possible. He made every effort to find us what we wanted to see, and was considerate of our comfort and safety while driving. I also admired that he helped out other guides, like sharing details over the radio when he was the first to spot a rhino, and helping with repairs when we saw another safari group stuck in a broken down vehicle. We learned so much from him. I could even name all the different antelopes after the week :) Thank you Venance for making our trip so rewarding and fun!

Our experience was amazing from beginning to end. I highly recommend African Big Cats, and I’d definitely travel with them again if I’m ever back in Tanzania!

Roula Antonopoulou   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 11, 2024

Email Roula Antonopoulou  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The Best.
5/5

Everyone we spoke to was extremely professional. From the people that corresponded with us through email to the people we met in person . Very good price for such an amazing experience. I highly recommend them as a company.

Obed our driver had superb knowledge of the animals and their natural habitat. We managed to see the Big Five in Ngorongoro Crater and follow the immigration in Serengeti National Park. He is the best. You will be lucky to have him on your Safari.

The places we stayed were unique and part of the experience. Thank you African Big Cats team for choosing them . :)

Overall an amazing experience supporting a local company. Me and my friend are already planning to return next year and embark on another Safari with the African Big Cats and Obed.

Bingjie   –  
China CN
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: May 6, 2024

Email Bingjie  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Perfect Safari
5/5

All things go perfect in our Safari

The guide is very friendly and professional

He can provide a detailed introduction to the habits of animals and take us to see many of them.
After communicating with others, we see much more animals than they do.

The preliminary communication is very informative
The price is reasonable, the itinerary is planned in great detail, and we have confirmed our preferences for accommodation and travel.
The Pre-Departure information they provide is also the most useful.

I am very satisfied with everything!

I highly recommend their guide Khalid.

zhang yong   –  
China CN
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 6, 2024

Email zhang yong  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Tanzania safari
5/5

amazing!!!!!I must say khalid is very professional,took us on a perfect journey。African Big Cats Safaris is your best choice!Serengeti didn't disappoint me

Joseph   –  
United States US
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 23, 2024

Email Joseph  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

African Safari
5/5

Breathtaking! Amazing!
Anyone thinking of a safari, think no more, wait no further. The experience is absolutely soul fulfilling ! My wife and I are world travelers and would not trade what we experienced here for any of our many other adventures. This was so remarkably fulfilling.
Thank you African Big Cats Safari!
We could not have asked for more. Every desire we had for our safari was expertly met. The lodges were beautiful and welcoming. The camps we stayed in were absolutely amazing, as were the people.
We could not believe such comfort could be had in the middle of the Serengeti! All of their staffs, both at ABC and the lodges and especially their camps were so welcoming. The hospitality was exceptional. We have never in our lives been treated so well. Well beyond expectations.
And even with all this done so well, we must say, our guide Endeni was the single most important part of this. All the planning, catering and care would be meaningless without a guide that can find game, educate and keep you safe.
Endeni’s knowledge is incredible, he educated and entertained us with it. We learned so much while our jaws dropped in wonderment! With Endeni we always felt safe and we always had adventure.
Thank you Endeni! You took such good care of us. You should make ABC very proud to have you.

And, yes, WE FOUND THE BIG 5! Even off season!

The pictures are amazing!! Only second to the memories.
We even saw a Calacal cat! What a rare find!
Book with African Big Cats Safari and bring a good camera and be prepared for a life edifying experience.

Cassandra   –  
Canada CA
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 13, 2024

Email Cassandra  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Fantastic family safari experience
5/5

We chose African Big cats because they had great communication before safari, answering all our questions. They also had a better price point than the other companies we were looking at.

We did an 8 day, 7 night safari and enjoyed our experience immensely. We have twin 9 year olds and they also enjoyed their experience and learned a lot. Our guide, Lodi, was excellent at finding us the animals we wanted to see and worked with the other guides to help locate the animals. We really appreciate the camaraderie amongst all the guides, helping each other with flat tires or pulling out people who got stuck. It's a great atmosphere.

Our lodges were all very well chosen and excellent places. Our favourite was the intimate camp zebra and seeing lion eyes in the dark as we sat by the campfire.

Thanks ABC and Lodi for the amazing safari experience.

Gabby   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 3, 2024

Email Gabby  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great experience!
5/5

ABC Safaris guides Imram and Elias guided myself and three friends up Kilimanjaro using the Machame route. All 4 of us summited and we really believe they helped us so much with our trek and ultimately reaching our goal of getting to the top. The entire team of guides, porters, chefs, and staff were respectful, caring, helpful, and went above and beyond to make our trek special and successful. The whole team worked with each of us to ensure that we were eating well, hydrating and carrying the right gear throughout the trek. The staff also helped us with figuring out storing our bags and renting our gear! We could not recommend ABC Safaris for a Kili trek more.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 364
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by African Big Cats Safaris, not SafariBookings