Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 17
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 17 Reviews
Barbara M.   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Jul 25, 2023

Email Barbara M.  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Wandering Thru made my dream come true!
5/5

Look no further if you are planning a safari to Africa!! The amazing, knowledgeable, friendly staff at Wandering Thru were great from my very first email to them. Ale responded immediately and she was so incredibly helpful in answering my numerous questions. Tayla filled in promptly when Ale was on safari and between the two of them (and some other wonderful people behind the scenes), we arranged my dream safari to the border of Kruger National Park in South Africa!! It was very easy on my part, and they did the rest! We booked fantastic Tristan to be our private guide throughout, and he was so very kind, friendly, informative, patient and down to earth! With Tristan's experience and expertise, along with the skills of our awesome guides & trackers at Nkorho and Ngala, we were graced with the presence of leopards, giraffe, rhinos, buffalos, zebra, hippos, elephants, lions, impala, kudu, nyala, a honey badger, hyenas, wild dogs and their pups and even the white lioness and her little white cub!!! From start to finish, I trusted Wandering Thru completely and they truly made my lifelong dream of going on safari come true!! If I could give them a million stars, I would! I recommend them to the highest possible degree and to the INCREDIBLE team at Wandering Thru, you have all of our deepest thanks, appreciation and gratitude!!!

Katy   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jun 7, 2023

Email Katy  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Knowledgeable and Very Helpful
5/5

I contacted Ale regarding a safari for my group of six. We decided on Botswana, going to The Great Tsau Hill in the Kalahari, and then the Okavango delta, and Nokanyana in Mababe. Since we were so close, we also asked her to add on Victoria Falls. It ended up being 11 days total. She made all the arrangements which included all the accommodations as well as the transfers between the camps. Ale gave us advice about the visas needed for Zambia and Zimbabwe. She was there to answer all our questions. Then, a few months before our trip, we were informed that the camp we were to go to in the Okavango Delta had a fire and was no longer available. Ale was able to book us at another camp quickly and with just a bit more cost. That camp was Nxamaseri, and I would highly recommend it!
We were met at the airport in Maun and taken to our helicopters for our flight to The Great Tsau Hill. The camp was rustic, but comfortable. Our guide, Chilli B, was great! We spent a day with the bushmen, and did a lot of birding. Our next flight was to a bush airstrip where we were met by our guide, Mr. P. We drove from the airstrip to the river, where we took a boat to our camp. Nxamaseri was great! If you like to fish, this is the camp for you. We didn't take part in the fishing, but we had twice daily boat safaris, and one day we went to Tsodilo, sacred hills with ancient drawings on the rocks. Very interesting, but bring your hiking shoes. As for the boat safaris, it was mostly birding and hippos in the water, but the birds were spectacular.
Our last camp in Botswana was Nokanyana in Mababe. Here we were met at the bush airstrip by our guide Chilli B again! Here, we had all the large animals that you expect to see on safari. We had breakfast in the bush. It was a great time.
We then traveled to Zambia to stay at Sussi & Chuma, a luxury camp, which was just what we needed after our 9 days in the bush. We spent the morning visiting Victoria Falls on both the Zambia and Zimbabwe sides. Bring a good raincoat or take what they offer. It was spectacular. We ended the trip with a short safari at the nearby reserve where we got to walk with rhino, completing the big five for us.
Everyone we encountered was friendly and knowledgeable. Of the six of us, I was the only one that had been on safari before. All my friends loved it.
I am in the process of booking another safari with Wandering Thru. I highly recommend them.

Alma   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: April 2023 Reviewed: Apr 23, 2023

Email Alma  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Wandering Thru just as wonderful on our second trip
5/5

This was our second safari trip with Wandering Thru in just under 9 months. For us, our sunshine comes from being in the bush, and this time it was another privately guided trip with Tristan at Jaci’s Sabi House. From this peaceful oasis set above a waterhole, we made our way out each day filled with anticipation for what might be around the corner. The drives were filled with the sights, sounds, and scents of the wild, time spent with the big and the small, spiriting us away from life’s preoccupations. These moments were enhanced with well timed nuggets of information, and laughter and fun were never far away as stories were told and shared, both on the drives and in the time in between as we relaxed back at Jaci’s. There were elephants aplenty, lions, and as always, it is so richly rewarding to put in the effort to track leopards, and then to be rewarded with a special sighting of Langa, the leopardess, and her new beau all to ourselves. Once again, this trip brought a little sunshine into our lives, and we can’t wait to do it all again in the future!

Reply from Wandering Thru
Reply from Wandering Thru
Posted on May 3, 2023

Dear Alma,
Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time in the Sabi Sand and that all the leopard tracking efforts paid off!

Sonia   –  
Canada CA
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Dec 15, 2022

Email Sonia  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Helped plan and book our dream trip in Greater Kruger, South Africa - thank you!
5/5

We booked an 8 day, 7 night safari in South Africa with Wandering Thru with stays spread out across two lodges.
This was our first time going to Africa, and on a safari so we really didn't know where to start or how to book.

They were incredibly responsive, found us some lovely options to choose from, were very flexible with changes and our asks in selecting the 2 lodges we landed on as well as dates, and arranged for all transfers between airports and between the lodges for us.
Payment was easy to process, and they were in constant communication with us throughout the process.

Made it super easy, and designed the trip of our lifetime for us! Thank you so much Ale!!!!
Would recommend to anyone looking to do a safari for a first time or not! We will return.

Michelle   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 29, 2022

Email Michelle  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Top safari from Top Company
5/5

We wanted to extend our stay in South Africa and Wanderingthru had been highly recommended to us.
Ale was incredibly efficient and helpful whenever I had any queries.
We spent an amazing 4 nights at Tintswalo Safari Lodge in the Manyeleti Reserve.
Everything about the lodge was superb, from the staff, the food and accommodation.
Ryan our guide was so knowledgeable, friendly and professional. We learnt so much about these magnificent animals and birds.
We even saw a white lion !!!
It goes without saying that we wouldn’t hesitate in booking through Wanderingthru again !!

Reply from Wandering Thru
Reply from Wandering Thru
Posted on Dec 5, 2022

Dear Michelle,

Thank you so much for your review! Seems like Tintswalo treated you guys to some epic sightings. Look forward to planning your future safari

Leigh   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Nov 11, 2022

Email Leigh  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Wandering Thru makes it easy to plan an Amazing African Adventure!
5/5

I am usually an independent solo traveler, but the sheer number of choices – of locations and lodging – for an African safari was overwhelming even for me. For my first trip to Africa, I decided to take advantage of some local knowledge and expert guides to help me choose and plan the adventure. After a simple email message, the team at Wandering Thru put together a few options from which to choose and, after I chose the itinerary, they made all the arrangements, taking care of logistics in South Africa and Botswana. All I had to do is book my international and regional flights, let Wandering Thru know my arrival/departure times, and look forward to the experience. The journey was so amazing – relaxing yet exciting – that my first thought upon my return home was “I’m ready to go again.”

For part of my trip, I joined a preplanned privately guided safari with Tristan Dicks. The idea of a trip with Tristan or one of the other Wandering Thru private guides is what really convinced me to finally fulfill this bucket list experience. Check out Safari Live episodes from 2018 and 2019 on YouTube for examples of their guiding expertise. The time spent in the Sabi Sand Reserve was special not just for the intimacy of the wildlife sightings but also the time spent with a small group of wonderful safari goers and guides.

Since the long journey to Africa would hardly have been worth it for just a few days, I decided to add on a couple of other locations in Botswana – near Chobe National Park and the Okavango Delta. Even though these were not part of a planned Wandering Thru trip, the team at Wandering Thru made all the arrangements, from picking the lodges, suggesting the amount of time to spend at each, and coordinating all the logistics. The lodges, landscapes and wildlife sightings were all amazing.

I will definitely use Wandering Thru again for my next trip to Africa.

Neeley   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 23, 2022

Email Neeley  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

WanderingThru always adds that Personal Touch
5/5

We Recently returned from our 2nd Adventure with WanderingThru. I can not say enough good things about this company. They are always so personable and willing to answer any questions you might have, going above and beyond helping you plan that perfect Safari. Their private guided safaris are above all others, providing an experienced personal guide, sharing their knowledge and love of the African Bush. Should you choose not to have a private guided Safari, they can book you with any Safari Lodge or accommodation of your choice, or give you numerous options to choose from. They always add that Personal Touch not found with many companies.
On this most recent Safari with WanderingThru, we saw 10 different Leopards, 2 Lions prides, African Wild Dogs ( on 3 separate occasions) and even a Pangolin!!!
Look no further, this is the company you should book with, I promise you will not be disappointed.

Alma   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Jul 30, 2022

Email Alma  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Family celebration in the bush with Wandering Thru
5/5

Wow! What a celebration! Our recent trip to Chitwa Chitwa with Wandering Thru was an unforgettable experience. Marking a special family occasion, the team went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our time in the bush. With Tristan as our private guide, we set out on each drive with high hopes and expectations. We were not disappointed! Whether it was sitting enjoying dwarf mongooses basking in the sun, green pigeons catching the morning light, sleepy leopards in trees, buffalos, ellies, so many hyenas or wild dogs charging through the bush, each drive had its own highlights. The sights and sounds of the bush came alive as Tristan generously shared his knowledge and experience with us. How awesome to see deeper or newfound appreciation of the bush develop amongst us. Back at the lodge we shared great hospitality, with special extras arranged to mark our celebration. Not forgetting all the laughs, chatting about leopards, conservation, photography tips and more. Thanks for making this occasion so memorable, and for making it possible for us to celebrate together in this wonderful location.

Helen   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Jul 18, 2022

Email Helen  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Magical
5/5

I could not have asked for a more amazing experience than I have had with WanderingThru. I originally booked the holiday 2 years ago but because of COVID I had to postpone due to travel restrictions. Ale was so understanding and helpful in getting me booked onto a later trip. Unfortunately due to something beyond everyone's control this also had to be rearranged. Ale regularly kept me fully up to date with what was happening which was very reassuring under the circumstances. She is so friendly and always responds to emails quickly should you have any questions or concerns. In fact we've emailed each other so much over the last 2 years, she feels like a pen pal

Shirley   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2022 Reviewed: Apr 20, 2022

Email Shirley  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Superb customer service from well-respected and knowledgeable staff!
5/5

I recently returned from a two week African safari with my two adult daughters - our first safari ever. Every aspect of this adventure exceeded my expectations and none of it would have been possible without the help of the staff at Wandering Thru! Going on a safari was a childhood dream of mine, and when I seriously considered taking the trip, I knew I needed a lot of help to figure out where to go, how to get there, how much it would cost, etc. Initially, I worked with Tayla to define my options. I told her what I wanted to achieve with this trip, and she helped me develop a fantastic itinerary! About four months before departure, the Omicron variant hit, and all kinds of testing requirements were put in place. Ale helped me to understand what the financial burden would have been so we realized changes might have to happen. About two months before departure, the decision was made to stick to two countries instead of going to three, and Tayla and Ale helped figure out alternatives that would not increase costs substantially. We had already purchased international and regional flight tickets and worried about finding open accommodations so close to departure. Everything was finalized (or so I thought!) a few weeks before departure. And then one of the regional flight providers was grounded! Throughout my trip, Tayla was there to add to our enjoyment and enrichment with her vast knowledge of African flora and fauna, while in the background, Ale was monitoring all the logistics issues. The day before our last regional flight, we had to make changes again, but the two of them took care of everything, even providing documentation for my travel insurance claim! Why should you use Wandering Thru? Excellent customer service, incredible knowledge about the different countries and what they would offer for safaris, a vast network and excellent reputation with the lodges and camps in different countries, experience as trained guides, professional photography backgrounds, and the friendliest people you will ever meet! Now that I have been bitten by the safari bug, I’ve already started creating a list of places I want to go to with the staff from Wandering Thru!

Reply from Wandering Thru
Reply from Wandering Thru
Posted on May 6, 2022

Thank so much for your kind words Shirley! It was a pleasure planning and hosting this trip for you, Sam and Kaia and we hope the Africa bug hasn't bitten too hard :)

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 17
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Wandering Thru, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Wandering Thru are subject to their terms & conditions