Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 94
  • 4 star 3
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 98 Reviews
Colleen S.   –  
Australia AU
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jul 3, 2024

Email Colleen S.  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Thoughtfully crafted safari experience that provided amazing variety and took care of all the detail
5/5

From the time I contacted Silence and Oscar to inquire about their services, they communicated clearly and responded promptly, and provided information so as I could trust I was getting the experience I was looking for. Their service exceeded my expectations and my family of 5 had a once in a lifetime experience. We chose the Maun to Victoria Falls tour and each location was so special it was hard to choose our favourite. Our guide Francis was professional, knowledgeable and went the extra mile to provide just the right touch to our experience. He is such a kind soul with passion for his work and by the end of the tour, our family was very sad to say goodbye to him. He helped us feel comfortable, safe and helped us trouble shoot our onward journey through to the Midlands of Zimbabwe. He really saw what my family needed in this experience and took care of all the details for us. He was a joy to be around. The accomodation provided along the way was very nice, especially Elephant Sands and Chobe Safari Lodge. The game drives were amazing and we absolutely loved the Mokoro boat ride and walk in the Okavango delta. This company incorporates the community services into what they provide so that the people of the land also benefit from the tourism. Botswana was so beautiful and teaming with wildlife, especially elephants and giraffes and impalas so there was something to see every corner we took. I would highly recommend choosing this company and location if you are after an amazing African experience with a company you can trust to make it a very memorable trip! Thank you Francis!

Dr. Henry Kamagy   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jul 3, 2024

Email Dr. Henry Kamagy  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Superb and amazing
5/5

This was the best experience. The drivers were always timely, courteous and very professional. They made our entire tour an experience that is unforgettable. On our last day as we drove from Victoria falls to the airport, the Manager had the courtesy to request if we would pass by their offices so he personally appreciates us choosing them for our travels. Highly recommend Zambezi Expeditions anytime, any day. They are the absolute best

Washington Masveta   –  
Australia AU
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 29, 2024

Email Washington Masveta  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great!
5/5

The people at Zambezi Expedition were very friendly and helpful. Arranging our tour with them was a breeze, and their communication was on point. The tour itself was the day trip to Hwange from Victoria Falls, and we couldn’t have asked for better! The guide was knowledgeable, patient and went above and beyond to accommodate the needs of my family. We saw lions, dozens of elephants , giraffes , Zebras, wildebeest and a lot more smaller game. Highly recommend Zambezi Expeditions!

Lisa   –  
Australia AU
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 29, 2024

Email Lisa

I can’t say enough about Zambezi Expeditions! Highly recommended !
5/5

Our guide Frances took amazing care of us the whole trip. So professional and showed such an eye for detail. We learned so much from him because of the way he shared his knowledge with us. A trip of a lifetime that me and my family will remember forever! We now have a new saying “Think like Frances “ 😂. Thank you Zambezi Expeditions and thank you Frances ! Highly recommended 😉

Pietro   –  
Italy IT
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 8, 2024

Email Pietro  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

AMAZING 6 DAYS - ZIMBABWE/BOTSWANA
5/5

Oscar with his whole staff were really kind and helpful, they’ve programmed every step of the tour in the best way and the outcome was amazing! Thank you very much!

Vincent Lao   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: Jun 5, 2024

Email Vincent Lao  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Very accommodating to our needs, budget price with option to upgrade
5/5

Everything is good, they had accommodated to our every need. We were kept very busy and tired (in a good way ofcourse) during our 3 days tour, the tent provided is rather basic, but you can upgrade to a proper room by paying a bit more so that's not a big deal considering the price of the package.

David   –  
Malaysia MY
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: Jun 1, 2024

Email David  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Excellent Service
5/5

From the moment we got off of the plane at VFA airport we were looked after superbly by the team at Zambezi Expeditions. All of the team were friendly and helpful but I would particularly like to mention Silence and Nomvula in the office (very responsive to all enquiries) and Moses, Alpha and Felicitas who guided us on our various activities. Good value for money and I highly recommend them

Stephan Daus   –  
Norway NO
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 30, 2024

Email Stephan Daus  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

An amazing trip with lots of activities, great people and service
5/5

Note: The following may seem detailed, direct and at times harsh. Please focus on the positives, because we are generally very satisfied with the agency. This is an attempt to be honest in an attempt at continuous improvement, and also to offer advice to other travelers.

Communications
- Meeting at agency office was friendly, we met the manager, who was very communicative throughout the trip, with quick replies on WhatsApp.
- Guides are not always reminding us tourists of the obvious: Always bring warm clothes (sweater/jacket, thin gloves, pants, etc) for morning drives, it gets surprisingly cold in the backseat of a 4x4 at 80 km/h 06:30. Also, boat trips sometimes lack adequate shade, so always bring sunscreen and sunglasses. And of course, ALWAYS bring binoculars (~10x30).
- Our drivers do not seem to know whether they or someone else will be picking us up the next morning. It makes it seem a bit disorganized, and we never really know whether we should say goodbye and tip them or just wait and see.
- Dietary restrictions had not been communicated to the chef at the Okavango delta camp, so one breakfast had yoghurt cereals which one of us could not eat, but went fine.
- The agency arranged bungee jumping for me, which I strongly recommend trying. The company in charge of the bungee jump has plenty of people involved, they film the safety checks, it is a big company in Victoria Falls, and you feel a lot safer than you would think when you waiver any liabilities.

Activities
- All our guides were local of the specific areas and were very knowledgeable about animals and all kinds of birds. We observed (and got the names of) 35 land animals and 49 bird species!
- First boat trip in Victoria Falls is ok, probably great if you like a free bar and socializing. For non-drinkers enjoying tranquility it is not the highlight of the trip. The bar lacked various juices and non-alcoholic beverages. But main problem is not the organizers but perhaps other tourists with a different focus than ours. We would prefer to either have more nature-watching or some tasting session of local fruits, berries, drinks, foods, etc.
- In general Victoria Falls as a tourist destination risks becoming too touristy. The government should better control it so that it becomes sustainable. Too much garbage in the streets, poor lighting for walking around in the evening, endless souvenir shops and westernized restaurants lacking local culture.
- Trip around the falls was nice, though the guide is not strictly needed. I would instead suggest Zimbabwe increasing the entrance fees and use some of that money on improving Victoria Falls. The obligatory group of local dancers on arrival at the falls is perhaps for some people enjoyable, but awkward for our group as there is the usual expectation for tipping.
- Game drives and boat trips in Chobe were amazing – do not miss them. Our favorites were the boat trips as we got to see a queue of buffalos running in the swamp.
- Walking in the Okavango Delta was thrilling, especially after sitting a lot in the previous days. Our guide Top Dog is a local with excellent English and knowledge of the species and places to go.
- What we miss from this otherwise excellent trip are:
o A tasting session where we could try local fruits, berries, vegetables, etc and some information about them. It should be an optional activity for us food-adventurous tourists.
o Meerkats should be part of trip. Had we known beforehand that it was not, we would have tried to plan differently.

Accommodations and meals
- Budget lodge/tenting is actually pretty good quality, and you usually get a clean toilet/shower. Tent beds are “proper” military grade beds with mattresses. Might get a bit cold at 04:00 in the morning so keep socks nearby. Otherwise quite warm.
- Victoria Falls (Shearwater Explorers Village): Very nice. Exceptionally clean in restroom/showers. Guards/staff walking by frequently, felt very safe. Was quiet at night. Breakfast ok and pool area nice.
- We recommend to try the Nyota Zimbabwean Cousine for some authentic, clean and family-based restaurant with a couple of cute cats.
- Kasane in Chobe (Kwalape Safari Lodge): Very disappointing. Needs new manager. 1) Dangerous small nails under bed frame that you might step on/touch. 2) Door to restroom cannot be closed without locked, and lock only on the outside! So can basically lock someone inside there. 3) First dinner at the lodge was disappointing and 4) waitress seemed to want us out of the restaurant as quickly as possible – even though there were empty tables. Bit too eager to take our plates, and did not seem to enjoy her job. 5) House cleaners too eager to make themselves present. Even on day of checkout (they should know) they drop by, wanting to clean when we are packing – then reminding us we are checking out… 6) Returning the towels for our deposit during our checkout took 35 min because the towel guy was late and receptionist did not have our USD 20. 7) Garbage in the otherwise nice gardens. 8) Faucet is inconvenient British style which makes it impossible to mix cold/hot water.
- Elephant Sands: The “tent” we got is huge, luxurious and has a nice view to the Elephants from a balcony. However, the water pumped to the Elephants is artificial, and you are guaranteed to see plenty of Elephants anyway on this trip. So try to arrange a trip to the place with meerkats instead of staying all day at the Sands, it gets a bit boring. Though interesting to observe the hierarchy among the Elephants contending for the little water available. Dinner was generally very nice except for the over-grilled steaks.
- Overstay in Maun at Audi Camp: Nice place.
- Okavango Delta camp: Bit small tent (2x2), could have been nicer with 3x3 for 2 people, but acceptable. Food made by Gee (woman) really good. Camp generally fine and organized. Bush toilet (seat + hole in ground) quite ok, but perhaps a bit too close to camp (not a big issue).
- Zimbabwean and Botswanan tour operators should not underestimate local cuisine, not all tourists want to eat European food when travelling to Africa.

Other experiences
- Garbage is a huge problem (everywhere in the world). It's sad when seeing it right outside (and sometimes inside) the parks. Local and central government must step up and fix this.
- Noise pollution is also becoming a problem. There are "constantly" helicopters flying around the Okavango Delta, too close to the ground, which disturbs people walking and the animals. The government should tax these helicopter flights more to reduce the number of flights, or force them to fly higher.
- We generally felt secure and safe in both countries. In particular in Botswana, we did not feel annoyed by anyone – everyone were so helpful and friendly. Also counting the days there after the trip.

Transportation
- Pickup from airport to the agency/hotel was on time, friendly and funny, and flexible enough to meet our request to drop by a local market.
- Drivers/guides MB and Francis were really nice, friendly and service-minded.
- Trip from Victoria Falls to Kasane/Chobe went nice. Vehicles are generally good, with the exception that there is often a safety belt malfunctioning. Road safety matters for many tourists. Air condition works well.
- Pickup from Kasane was 30 min late, with no notification, due to some border delay. Then some inefficient use of the time when withdrawing money/snacks-shopping. In general the agency needs a bit more effort on using the time wisely (African time can be cute but also frustrating for tourists).

Emma Hofmann   –  
United States US
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 29, 2024

Email Emma Hofmann  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Customized Safari Bostswana & Zimbabwe
5/5

We booked our 9 day tour after a lot of research with Zambezi tours HQ located in Victoria Falls. Oscar and Silence were very responsive to all our questions via email, whatapp text and phone calls. Our 9 days customized tour was beyond our expectations. Francis met us directly at the Maun airport (after long flights from CA to NY to to Johannesburg to Maun) and took us to our first night in Audi Camp. Restful night in Audi Camp we started our safari in Okavango Delta where we had a very knowledgeable guide (Jackie) who taught us the history, flora, and guided us to see elephants, hippos, giraffe, zebras, and too many birds to list. After a magical 2 days we were transported to Elephant Sands and spent 1night seeing up close and personal elephants from our lovely room overlooking the wildlife watering hole. Another 2 nights in Chobe National park with guided safari tours both on land and via the river we saw kudo, impalas, hippos, crocodiles, elephants and lions. And lastly we were transported to Victoria Falls Zimbabwe to finish the tour with seeing the 7th natural wonder of the world was breathtaking. I highly recommend Zambezi tours for their personalized service, responsiveness, the ability to customize your tour. Oscar (owner) was very helpful throughout the whole planning and everyone one of his staff (guides, drivers etc) were knowledgeable and excited to share their backgrounds and knowledge. THANK YOU for an amazing 9 days.

Willem Hadders   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 22, 2024

Email Willem Hadders  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great safari with excellent service.
5/5

Had a great experience with Zambezi Expedition Travel. Our 8 day safari starting in Victoria Falls and finishing in Maun was spectacular. A dream vacation.
Oscar, Silence and Francis took excellent care of us.
I can totally recommend this team. They made the dream safari for me and my dad come true.

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 94
  • 4 star 3
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Zambezi Expedition Travel and Tours, not SafariBookings