Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 90
  • 4 star 3
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 90 Reviews
Pietro   –  
Italy IT
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 8, 2024

Email Pietro  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

AMAZING 6 DAYS - ZIMBABWE/BOTSWANA
5/5

Oscar with his whole staff were really kind and helpful, they’ve programmed every step of the tour in the best way and the outcome was amazing! Thank you very much!

Vincent Lao   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: Jun 5, 2024

Email Vincent Lao  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Very accommodating to our needs, budget price with option to upgrade
5/5

Everything is good, they had accommodated to our every need. We were kept very busy and tired (in a good way ofcourse) during our 3 days tour, the tent provided is rather basic, but you can upgrade to a proper room by paying a bit more so that's not a big deal considering the price of the package.

David   –  
Malaysia MY
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: Jun 1, 2024

Email David  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Excellent Service
5/5

From the moment we got off of the plane at VFA airport we were looked after superbly by the team at Zambezi Expeditions. All of the team were friendly and helpful but I would particularly like to mention Silence and Nomvula in the office (very responsive to all enquiries) and Moses, Alpha and Felicitas who guided us on our various activities. Good value for money and I highly recommend them

Stephan Daus   –  
Norway NO
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 30, 2024

Email Stephan Daus  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

An amazing trip with lots of activities, great people and service
5/5

Note: The following may seem detailed, direct and at times harsh. Please focus on the positives, because we are generally very satisfied with the agency. This is an attempt to be honest in an attempt at continuous improvement, and also to offer advice to other travelers.

Communications
- Meeting at agency office was friendly, we met the manager, who was very communicative throughout the trip, with quick replies on WhatsApp.
- Guides are not always reminding us tourists of the obvious: Always bring warm clothes (sweater/jacket, thin gloves, pants, etc) for morning drives, it gets surprisingly cold in the backseat of a 4x4 at 80 km/h 06:30. Also, boat trips sometimes lack adequate shade, so always bring sunscreen and sunglasses. And of course, ALWAYS bring binoculars (~10x30).
- Our drivers do not seem to know whether they or someone else will be picking us up the next morning. It makes it seem a bit disorganized, and we never really know whether we should say goodbye and tip them or just wait and see.
- Dietary restrictions had not been communicated to the chef at the Okavango delta camp, so one breakfast had yoghurt cereals which one of us could not eat, but went fine.
- The agency arranged bungee jumping for me, which I strongly recommend trying. The company in charge of the bungee jump has plenty of people involved, they film the safety checks, it is a big company in Victoria Falls, and you feel a lot safer than you would think when you waiver any liabilities.

Activities
- All our guides were local of the specific areas and were very knowledgeable about animals and all kinds of birds. We observed (and got the names of) 35 land animals and 49 bird species!
- First boat trip in Victoria Falls is ok, probably great if you like a free bar and socializing. For non-drinkers enjoying tranquility it is not the highlight of the trip. The bar lacked various juices and non-alcoholic beverages. But main problem is not the organizers but perhaps other tourists with a different focus than ours. We would prefer to either have more nature-watching or some tasting session of local fruits, berries, drinks, foods, etc.
- In general Victoria Falls as a tourist destination risks becoming too touristy. The government should better control it so that it becomes sustainable. Too much garbage in the streets, poor lighting for walking around in the evening, endless souvenir shops and westernized restaurants lacking local culture.
- Trip around the falls was nice, though the guide is not strictly needed. I would instead suggest Zimbabwe increasing the entrance fees and use some of that money on improving Victoria Falls. The obligatory group of local dancers on arrival at the falls is perhaps for some people enjoyable, but awkward for our group as there is the usual expectation for tipping.
- Game drives and boat trips in Chobe were amazing – do not miss them. Our favorites were the boat trips as we got to see a queue of buffalos running in the swamp.
- Walking in the Okavango Delta was thrilling, especially after sitting a lot in the previous days. Our guide Top Dog is a local with excellent English and knowledge of the species and places to go.
- What we miss from this otherwise excellent trip are:
o A tasting session where we could try local fruits, berries, vegetables, etc and some information about them. It should be an optional activity for us food-adventurous tourists.
o Meerkats should be part of trip. Had we known beforehand that it was not, we would have tried to plan differently.

Accommodations and meals
- Budget lodge/tenting is actually pretty good quality, and you usually get a clean toilet/shower. Tent beds are “proper” military grade beds with mattresses. Might get a bit cold at 04:00 in the morning so keep socks nearby. Otherwise quite warm.
- Victoria Falls (Shearwater Explorers Village): Very nice. Exceptionally clean in restroom/showers. Guards/staff walking by frequently, felt very safe. Was quiet at night. Breakfast ok and pool area nice.
- We recommend to try the Nyota Zimbabwean Cousine for some authentic, clean and family-based restaurant with a couple of cute cats.
- Kasane in Chobe (Kwalape Safari Lodge): Very disappointing. Needs new manager. 1) Dangerous small nails under bed frame that you might step on/touch. 2) Door to restroom cannot be closed without locked, and lock only on the outside! So can basically lock someone inside there. 3) First dinner at the lodge was disappointing and 4) waitress seemed to want us out of the restaurant as quickly as possible – even though there were empty tables. Bit too eager to take our plates, and did not seem to enjoy her job. 5) House cleaners too eager to make themselves present. Even on day of checkout (they should know) they drop by, wanting to clean when we are packing – then reminding us we are checking out… 6) Returning the towels for our deposit during our checkout took 35 min because the towel guy was late and receptionist did not have our USD 20. 7) Garbage in the otherwise nice gardens. 8) Faucet is inconvenient British style which makes it impossible to mix cold/hot water.
- Elephant Sands: The “tent” we got is huge, luxurious and has a nice view to the Elephants from a balcony. However, the water pumped to the Elephants is artificial, and you are guaranteed to see plenty of Elephants anyway on this trip. So try to arrange a trip to the place with meerkats instead of staying all day at the Sands, it gets a bit boring. Though interesting to observe the hierarchy among the Elephants contending for the little water available. Dinner was generally very nice except for the over-grilled steaks.
- Overstay in Maun at Audi Camp: Nice place.
- Okavango Delta camp: Bit small tent (2x2), could have been nicer with 3x3 for 2 people, but acceptable. Food made by Gee (woman) really good. Camp generally fine and organized. Bush toilet (seat + hole in ground) quite ok, but perhaps a bit too close to camp (not a big issue).
- Zimbabwean and Botswanan tour operators should not underestimate local cuisine, not all tourists want to eat European food when travelling to Africa.

Other experiences
- Garbage is a huge problem (everywhere in the world). It's sad when seeing it right outside (and sometimes inside) the parks. Local and central government must step up and fix this.
- Noise pollution is also becoming a problem. There are "constantly" helicopters flying around the Okavango Delta, too close to the ground, which disturbs people walking and the animals. The government should tax these helicopter flights more to reduce the number of flights, or force them to fly higher.
- We generally felt secure and safe in both countries. In particular in Botswana, we did not feel annoyed by anyone – everyone were so helpful and friendly. Also counting the days there after the trip.

Transportation
- Pickup from airport to the agency/hotel was on time, friendly and funny, and flexible enough to meet our request to drop by a local market.
- Drivers/guides MB and Francis were really nice, friendly and service-minded.
- Trip from Victoria Falls to Kasane/Chobe went nice. Vehicles are generally good, with the exception that there is often a safety belt malfunctioning. Road safety matters for many tourists. Air condition works well.
- Pickup from Kasane was 30 min late, with no notification, due to some border delay. Then some inefficient use of the time when withdrawing money/snacks-shopping. In general the agency needs a bit more effort on using the time wisely (African time can be cute but also frustrating for tourists).

Emma Hofmann   –  
United States US
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 29, 2024

Email Emma Hofmann  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Customized Safari Bostswana & Zimbabwe
5/5

We booked our 9 day tour after a lot of research with Zambezi tours HQ located in Victoria Falls. Oscar and Silence were very responsive to all our questions via email, whatapp text and phone calls. Our 9 days customized tour was beyond our expectations. Francis met us directly at the Maun airport (after long flights from CA to NY to to Johannesburg to Maun) and took us to our first night in Audi Camp. Restful night in Audi Camp we started our safari in Okavango Delta where we had a very knowledgeable guide (Jackie) who taught us the history, flora, and guided us to see elephants, hippos, giraffe, zebras, and too many birds to list. After a magical 2 days we were transported to Elephant Sands and spent 1night seeing up close and personal elephants from our lovely room overlooking the wildlife watering hole. Another 2 nights in Chobe National park with guided safari tours both on land and via the river we saw kudo, impalas, hippos, crocodiles, elephants and lions. And lastly we were transported to Victoria Falls Zimbabwe to finish the tour with seeing the 7th natural wonder of the world was breathtaking. I highly recommend Zambezi tours for their personalized service, responsiveness, the ability to customize your tour. Oscar (owner) was very helpful throughout the whole planning and everyone one of his staff (guides, drivers etc) were knowledgeable and excited to share their backgrounds and knowledge. THANK YOU for an amazing 9 days.

Willem Hadders   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 22, 2024

Email Willem Hadders  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great safari with excellent service.
5/5

Had a great experience with Zambezi Expedition Travel. Our 8 day safari starting in Victoria Falls and finishing in Maun was spectacular. A dream vacation.
Oscar, Silence and Francis took excellent care of us.
I can totally recommend this team. They made the dream safari for me and my dad come true.

Joy kristine   –  
Oman OM
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 25, 2024

Email Joy kristine  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Fantastic!
5/5

Zambezi Expedition came across when I was searching for travel tours that can accomodate our African trip/adventure this month of April. Luckily, I was able to get in touch with Oscar who’s very accomodating and helpful even during the process of our Visa applications to Zimbabwe and Botswana even I haven’t completed the booking with them but he genuinely tried his best to help us with all the information that we need for the said trip. Our family trip went very smoothly and he gave us the best accomodation and experience. You can customize your trip and let him know about your budget as well and he won’t hesitate to help and give you good offers. Also, our tour guide in Zimbabwe, Francis was very informative and active during the entire trip. Zambezi Expedition deserves a 5-star overall rating! Thanks for making our African Safari unforgettable and memorable! God bless!

Alana   –  
Australia AU
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 18, 2024

Email Alana  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Well organised, well priced and professional
5/5

We had an amazing experience. All communication was clear and prompt. Our tours were great value for money and extremely enjoyable. Great for those travelling with children. Highly recommend.

Eva James   –  
Hong Kong HK
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 14, 2024

Email Eva James  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Good experience with helpful and friendly staff. Trip is well planned no hidden costs. Recommend.
5/5

This trip was an unforgettable experience. Everyone was friendly, enthusiastic, and helpful. All aspects of accommodation and food were properly arranged. It changed my view of Africa! It also broadened my horizons~

My friend and I were traveling to Africa for the first time, so we chose to join a local group to reduce the inconvenience of arranging accommodation and itinerary. After doing some research online, we decided to go to Vic falls, Chobe Park & ​​Okavango Delta to see the animals and scenery. Because the value was very affordable and it covered all the attractions we thought of, we chose this 9-day tour.

After the online quotation, we have been communicating with the travel agency through email and WhatsApp. At first, we were a little worried about buying cattle from another mountain without any guarantee, so we asked Oscar a lot of questions. He was very patient and answered quickly, ensuring that we understood the items covered by the package. He was also considerate of our concerns and allowed us to pay half of the package in advance. Make a deposit and pay the remainder after arrival.

Due to flight issues, we arrived at Vic Falls one day earlier than the scheduled start date of our 9-day tour. Oscar also proactively provided airport pick-up arrangements. As soon as we arrived, Francis was waiting for us at the airport. After we solved the network problem, he sent us to the lounge. He kept chatting with us on the way. He was very professional and polite. He also introduced us to the animals we encountered on the road and drove slowly for us to take pictures. Compared with the purposeful assistance of the orange-shirted staff at JNB when transferring flights, Francis' friendliness is even more highlighted. He took the initiative to help us drag our luggage and open the door along the way, which was very polite.

The 9-day itinerary was properly arranged. Francis is mainly responsible for our itinerary and transfers. There will be different guides for different guided tours and hunting activities. The guides all have enough knowledge to answer questions about relevant attractions and animals. The public is welcome to ask questions and has endless questions. , which has benefited us a lot. In addition to the itinerary, Francis will also take us to nearby restaurants and attractions. As long as we make a request, he will try his best to arrange it.

In terms of accommodation, since we chose the most affordable package, we didn’t have much expectations for the accommodation environment, but each Tented camp was generally clean and sanitary and met our expectations. The most surprising thing was the night at Elephant Sand. It was originally budget camping, and Oscar specially upgraded it to a lounge for us. The view in the room was really amazing. With floor-to-ceiling glass, you could see the sunrise and sunset with elephants while sitting on the bed. , Oscar also specially arranged for us to have dinner with members of another group to get to know each other. It was an unforgettable night. The two nights of Okavango Delta Budget Camping that we were most worried about at first had a good experience. As soon as we arrived at the camp site, the masters packed mattresses, pillows and sleeping bags for us. There was also an outdoor toilet space, and there were The chef prepared four meals for us, which was a very good package for camping.

The overall experience was really good, the itinerary and accommodation were well arranged, there were no hidden charges, the guides were very enthusiastic and chatty, and Francis felt more like our distant friend. Would definitely recommend this company.
If I have the chance to travel nearby next time, I will choose them again.

(automatic translation from Chinese)

Jack Soderberg   –  
Sweden SE
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 9, 2024

Email Jack Soderberg  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Smooth and Easy with fantastic guides
5/5

We enjoyed a fantastic tour in Chobe National Park, the guys at Zambesi tours had everything well organised and helped us with all border formalities. The guide in Chobe was extremely knowledgeable and fun to hang out with and the chef's food was delicious too. We just hope we can redo it sometime soon.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 90
  • 4 star 3
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Zambezi Expedition Travel and Tours, not SafariBookings