Reviews

Average User Rating
4.8/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 56
  • 4 star 5
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 56 Reviews
Sarah Bekessy   –  
Australia AU
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Aug 12, 2023

Email Sarah Bekessy  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

unforgettable day
5/5

Such a professional and thoughtful business - even though my booking was so last minute. John was the most fantastic driver and had an incredible knack finding rare and unique animals. And he is a fun and engaging conversationalist! I really recommend a trip to Akagera... it was breathtaking and incredible
thank you!

KCT   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Jul 31, 2023

Email KCT  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Reliable, professional and responsive.
5/5

Mwaka Utanje promptly responded to my initial query, and quickly provided very a clear and detailed plan for my Gorilla Trek. Everything was very well organized and worked out exactly as planned. I also appreciated Mwaka's input and answers to my many questions through the planning stages of my trip, including accommodating special requests. The drivers/guides were also really excellent. Both Moses and Hamadi were punctual, very professional, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. Altogether, good value, utterly dependable, professional and well organized to the last detail. I will call on Makario Safaris and Mwaka Utanje in particular again.

Natalie   –  
Bermuda BM
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Jul 15, 2023

Email Natalie  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Godfrey worked very hard to show us as much as possible in Akagera within a very tight time frame.
5/5

I had exceptional service from the start which includes Mwaka Utanje who was very responsive and patient with a slow international wire transfer payment. Godfrey picked us up punctually at KCC at 5 am (he was there early) and was a great timekeeper the whole day, but did not have much of a chance to share his knowledge of the animals with us. We had stops for breakfast and lunch. Breakfast was delicious even if slightly slower than expected because we all wanted to enjoy a Rwandan coffee! Safari in Akagera was exceptional. We saw far more than I expected, but it felt a little rushed. We were covering so much territory in one day it was only when the pride of lions surrounded us (!) that we took time to sit and watch the animals for a good long time. Lake Ihema boat safari with Innocent was also very memorable. Car was in good condition and Godfrey drove very well on unexpectedly congested roads back into Kigali. I recommend Makario Safaris!

Tina Patel   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Oct 19, 2022

Email Tina Patel

Very personal service
5/5

A wonderful point to point experience with an amazing driver/guide
Lunch was a bit basic but it was delicious
Thank you

Judy B   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Jan 20, 2020

Email Judy B  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Our time in Rwanda trekking to the mountain gorillas and golden monkeys was absolutely amazing.
5/5

Our time in Rwanda was perfect from the moment we met Jean Marie at the airport upon arrival until he left us at the airport on our departure. My daughter and I fell in love with Rwanda and its beautiful people. Jean Marie was wonderful, such a kind and caring person. He is the perfect ambassador for Rwanda. Our time with the the gorillas was breathtaking. Everything was so organized. It is an experience we will always cherish. The tour exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed seeing some of Rwanda in the afternoons after our morning treks. We also enjoyed our visit with the golden monkeys. It was a fun way to end our visit. We highly recommend Makario Safaris. You provided my daughter and I with a vacation we will remember forever. Thank you!

David   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: January 2019 Reviewed: May 10, 2019

Email David

The best tour company in East Africa very honest people
5/5

Makario safari help me to recapture the whole love in Rwanda. Gorilla trekking and nyungwe forest.we enjoy our vacation that was professionally handled from our stay in Rwanda. Our tour driver was very accommodating, has great wealth of knowledge demeanor,made our trip transition smoothly, Mwaka was also available by phone and helped any last minutes question we had as well recommend some activities we could undertake along our route.
I highly recommend makario safari, for anyone seeking to travel in one of East Africa destination.

Jules   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Jan 11, 2024

Email Jules  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Incredible experience
5/5

Once in a lifetime experience trekking to see gorillas in Rwanda. Very well organised by Makario Safaris, my driver was excellent, a very safe driver and very happy to share his knowledge and insight on this fascinating country. He took me to a great restaurant for lunch and to a women’s collective to buy well-priced crafts and jewellery. I’d highly recommend Makario.

Monica   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Dec 1, 2023

Email Monica  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Great experience!
5/5

Makario Safaris took great care of us. From detailed and responsive preparation ahead of the trip to reliability and great planning while we were in Rwanda, I definitely recommend them! Our short 5-day trip to Rwanda was thoughtfully laid out, starting and ending with an understanding of historical/cultural context and incredible primate experiences in between! Our driver, Godfrey, was absolutely amazing - kind, reliable, friendly and put up with all my questions. Lodging was excellent, and everything went smoothly and as planned.
All in all, it was an incredible experience!!

Jeff   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Nov 28, 2023

Email Jeff  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Incredible Once-in-a-Lifetime Experience
5/5

We were picked up by Eric at our VRBO in Kigali and were driven 2 ½ hours to Volcanoes National Park. Eric was very knowledgeable, not only about the Gorilla Trek. We asked Eric all about Rwandan culture and the amazing scenery that we traversed, and we learned alot about Kigali and Rwanda during our trip.

When we arrived at Volcanoes National Park, Eric took care of all the details. All we had to do was drink our coffee and wait to be assigned to a group for orientation. We were assigned one of the easier hikes due to me being 70 years old and perhaps not in as good of physical shape as I once was! Eric then took us to the starting point of the hike where we met porters and our guide, Jolie, took us into the jungle.

I am glad that we had the easier hike! We started with a 30 minute hike through farming fields, but the hike changed as soon as we entered the Park. Our guide was joined by trackers with machetes who carved a path to our gorilla family that they had previously tracked. It was rainy season and during the next 45 minutes we quickly found ourselves in ankle-deep mud. We had taken the advice of using a porter for both my wife and I, and trust me if your guide recommends having a porter, do it!

Once we encountered the gorillas, it was magical. The gorillas are so close to you, even at one point a blackback gorilla reached out and put his hand on my wife! And we caught in on video which will be a highlight for ever. We saw a silverback, three blackbacks, many females and babies, and even twins which are very rare. 60 minutes flies by as you are captivated by what you are experiencing. The guides are with you, positioning you for your best viewing and even taking your picture "with" the gorillas.

After our hike back, our shoes were covered with mud. During our stop for lunch, Eric worked with the restaurant to clean our shoes and socks! Amazing service. Lunch was great and the service was even better.

If you are considering a Gorilla Trek, you cannot go wrong with Makario Safarios.

Martin Fatima Adertbetino   –  
Germany DE
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Nov 23, 2023

Email Martin Fatima Adertbetino  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

A Journey Beyond Expectations with Makario Safaris
5/5

I recently had the privilege of embarking on a safari adventure with Makario Safaris, and it was nothing short of extraordinary. From the moment I made the initial inquiry to the final farewell, every aspect of the journey was meticulously planned and executed with unparalleled precision. I recommend Makario Safaris as one of the top 5 tour operators in Rwanda.

Average User Rating
4.8/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 56
  • 4 star 5
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Makario Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Makario Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions