Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 65
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 66 Reviews
Valérie   –  
Canada CA
Visited: December 2023 Reviewed: Dec 28, 2023

Email Valérie  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing experience!
5/5

We had a wonderful time in South Africa with Khalanga Safaris! We did a 6 days tour with Panorama route. Sadly, the weather wasn't on our side for the Panorama route but the safari was AMAZING! Our guide Donald was amazing at finding all the good spots for animal sighting, cooking us great meals, and answering all our questions. We did see all the Big Five and a lot more. Also, December is a good time of the year to see babies and we saw a lot!! Elephants, lions, hyenas, impalas, rhinos, etc.! We really enjoyed our trip, would 100% recommend!!

Gunnar   –  
Sweden SE
Visited: October 2023 Reviewed: Nov 5, 2023

Email Gunnar  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Excellent, personal, professional, attentive - a great experience
5/5

We spent three nights in Kruger Park with Khalanga Safaris. It was absolutely fantastic. We got wind, we got rain, we got sun. We enjoyed the different places, the food and the service. It was easy to book and the owners are very attentive and friendly! Thank you Johanna and Shoes!

We think we had the best guide in the entire park. Donald is outstanding. He always does the little extra. He tells you about the animals, he tells you about the plants and he shares personal stories. He drives the extra mile so that you really get out the maximum of your trip. Donald was a very safe driver and a good chef. Thank you so much Donald and Khalanga Safaris! Highly recommended!

Michael   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Aug 10, 2023

Email Michael  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Shoes knows how to do a real safari!
5/5

A safari of 5 unforgettable days. We have seen and done so much. From the Blyde canyon to almost every point of the Kruger Park. The big five is not difficult to find with Khalanga safaris. Shoes always knows how to find the beautiful spots for the sunsets!

At the end of the day shoes cooked for us, we got traditional south african dishes and were delicious. Certainly the breakfast was very extensive.

In summary, if you want to do a safari without worrying about safety, food, Big 5 then Khalanga Safaris is the best option!

Madhukar Baliga   –  
India IN
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 29, 2022

Email Madhukar Baliga  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Fascinating experience of the African bush with beautiful Panorama
5/5

We had organized a tailor-made 6-days 5 nights tour with Khalanga Safaris starting & ending from Johannesburg. The communication was handled over email and was professional. Their responses were prompt and the team was always in contact with us to ensure that the itinerary was exactly like we wanted. We also took suggestions from the Khalanga team for our trip planning which turned out to be very valuable. We also found the quotes from Khalanga Safaris to be the most reasonable among the few we selected.

Our trip included a 1-day Panorama route tour followed by full day safaris in Kruger along with a couple of SANParks tours (Bush-walk, Sunset drive, Night drive) and a shuttle back to Joburg.

Everything went perfectly as planned and we had a blast of a time in Kruger. Our guide in Kruger was Shoes and we chose a private open safari vehicle.

Shoes was highly knowledgeable about the various animals and birds and his guiding was top notch. His logistics skills were also were helpful in ensuring we got the best out of our safaris. He was very professional and his ethical methods of guiding impressed us a lot. He also had contacts throughout all the camps we visited and helped us in receiving any additional information and help that was required at the time.

We stayed in Lower Sabie, Crocodile Bridge and Letaba during our stay and were able to sight several animals including Lions, Elephants, Buffalo, Leopards, Baboons, Hyena, Wild Dogs, Honey badgers, Jackals, Mongoose, Waterbucks etc Also, not to mention the wide variety of birds, all of which Shoes was able to identify for us. His expertise of the locations also meant that we were able to visit some of the unique hides and lookouts within Kruger. We also had many interesting conversations about the bush and wildlife conservation with Shoes that intrigued and educated us.

In one of the lookouts we were able to spot 2-male lions which looked like a spec of dust in the scene. We were also lucky to spot 2 male Giraffes sparring, baby elephant drinking its mother's milk, a pair of mating lions. A few special memories, some of which we take with us and will always treasure, thanks to Khalanga and Shoes.

I would highly recommend Khalanga Safaris and Shoes for any of the Kruger Safaris or Panorama Tours. I wish Khalanga Safaris and Shoes all the best for their future and do wish we see them again soon.

Horatiu   –  
Romania RO
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 26, 2022

Email Horatiu  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Excellent private safari
5/5

We are a group of seven and we made a 5 days private safari with Khalanga.Our guide was Shoes and he was great.We have seen all the big five and much more.Everything was well organized and the price we paid was much better then other offers we had.We totally recommend Shoes and Khalanga safaris.

Kate   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2022 Reviewed: Jun 21, 2022

Email Kate  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Trip of a lifetime
5/5

If you're thinking of booking Khalanga Safaris, look no further. We had an absolutely wonderful time with Shoes as our guide. Johanna was extremely responsive and wonderful with handling logistics and we felt in very capable hands through the entire process.
We saw the big 5 (and more!) within 24 hours of arriving and the experience blew our expectations out of the park. Having Shoes as a guide is a completely unique experience in itself. Not only has he studied- he was born and raised in Kruger and his love and knowledge for conservation has been passed down from generation to generation. He has a rich knowledge base about all things Kruger - the wildlife, tribes, plant life, ecosystem, culture. If you are a birder, Shoes will impress you with his ability to find and ID hundreds of birds. As a vet student and conservationist myself, I can say that I (and the other scientists in my group) were extremely impressed with Shoes' knowledge, passion, and connection to the park. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Annet Krijgsman-Louter   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Sep 5, 2019

Email Annet Krijgsman-Louter  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Great gamedrive safari with excellent ranger!
5/5

A great service, nice people, they give you a full day safari and do everything for you to make it unfotgetable.
And that is what it was!!
Thank you for everything.
If you want to make a good trip, choose Khalanga Safaris.

Kim   –  
Australia AU
Visited: June 2019 Reviewed: Jul 10, 2019

Email Kim  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing !
5/5

We travelled as 1 x couple and 1x family of 4 thru Kruger for 4 nights with Shoes as our guide. From planning to the end of the trip we have received first class treatment . I know they can’t control the animals you see but we got Big 5 in one day and learnt so much . Shoes adapted each day to meet our families’ needs. He makes you feel v safe and is funny and engaging and I can’t wait to see him again . Could not fault . Thank goodness we found these guys. Oh and he’s a great cook ! Excellent braai dinner one night !

Jane   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: September 2018 Reviewed: Jun 12, 2019

Email Jane  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Back again for second time !!
5/5

We were fortunate to be able to book "Shoes" for a second private vehicle Kruger day trip in a month with another lot of overseas guests.
It is with piece of mind knowing that the level of service and commitment is outstanding. Our friend was so impressed with Shoes communication and knowledge. Shoes has the ability to know how long to sit at each sighting to ensure all guests are kept happy, and to maximise the "Bush" experience. With this knowledge and patience and positioning of his vehicle resulted in us being able to see a lion hunt and kill impala. Shoes was very accommodating with our requests. From start to finish of the day we could not fault.

Jane   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: August 2018 Reviewed: Jun 12, 2019

Email Jane  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

What a find !!!
5/5

Our private vehicle day trip in Kruger Park was 10/10. Shoes spoke very good English and we were able to understand the valuable knowledge that he was providing. The game viewer is in excellent condition. We were thrilled with our sightings and he was able to deliver the Big 5 in one day, which is extremely difficult. We will be using him again.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 65
  • 4 star 1
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Khalanga Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Khalanga Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions