Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 15
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 15 Reviews
Pin-Shiuan Lin   –  
Taiwan TW
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 8, 2024

Email Pin-Shiuan Lin  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great organization and with the best guide!
5/5

Henry Sam has kindly organized everything for me, and I had an amazing experience and team with Johny Jackson in Maasai Mara! Johny knows everything, we had lots of fun even on road, and he’s really good at finding animals!
It took a bit more time on transfer than I expected, but it’s not that boring, the view and landscapes are beautiful! I would highly recommend Johny to be your tour guide! He’s the best!;)

Imara   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Mar 4, 2024

Email Imara  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Perfect experience
5/5

From the first contact to request a quote to the end of the tour, everything worked perfectly. All quotes were answered very quickly and the itinerary was tailored to our needs.
I didn't have to worry about a thing, I was contacted in advance by all the drivers for pick up, hotels and tents were extremely well located and comfortable. From the beginning to the end of the tour we were assisted at all times and felt very safe, comfortable and well looked after. I highly recommend their services and am very pleased.

Siôn   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: December 2023 Reviewed: Jan 5, 2024

Email Siôn  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

An amazing holiday.
5/5

From the start, Henry was flexible and accomodating. I asked for 3 quotes from different companies and Awuor gave us the best price by far.

We had been planning this trip for about a year, and the communication from the company was excellent.

The value for money on a 6 day safari and 5 day beach holiday was good. We swapped our beach resort from Mombasa to Diani and Henry was happy to sort that.

4 out of 5 of our hotels were excellent 1 was good.

Victor our tour guide was second to none. He was brilliant at being patient in finding the animals.

We would advise Awuor to reconsider it's route. Driving from park to park is part of a safari but we drove north to south an vice versa 3 times which felt unnecessary when we looked at a map of Kenya. This meant 3 days of 6 hours + drives before even going on a Game Drive.

Irregardles, as a honeymoon we couldn't have asked for better. It was truly an amazing holiday.

LV   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Dec 27, 2023

Email LV  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Henry Sam is amazing! Very helpful, informative and responsive.
5/5

The tour was excellent! Henry arranged everything and it was almost seamless. I would strongly recommend Awuor Escapades to everyone. Thanks Henry for making this tour memorable.

Leslie   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Nov 9, 2023

Email Leslie  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The whole trip was easy as the team was communicative and reliable.
5/5

My husband and I took a Safari with Awuor Escapades in August for our honeymoon. Everything was clear and easy to set up as the team was very responsive through email and WhatsApp. Everything was taken care of for us so e we didn’t need to worry about anything. We saw all the big 5, felt that we had an excellent trip. The most significant part of our safari was our guide, Philip O. He was a man of integrity, polite and respected the land, people and the animals. It was so nice seeing a man who relied on safaris for a living to still make sure we didn’t make the animals feel stressed and that no one fed the animals do they could be as natural as possible. The safari was amazing but I think the guide can really make or break the experience. We were very fortunate to be paired with Philip.

Bhushan   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Oct 1, 2023

Email Bhushan  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent Tour Company
5/5

We booked our safari tour with Awuor Escapades as they had availability of the dates that we wanted. It is very difficult to find the right safari but we are so happy we picked the right one. Our tour operator named Henry was very helpful. We had issues getting to Kenya as Saudia airlines messed it up. We came a day late in our safari tour but Henry managed to plan everything last minute for us. We really appreciated everything he did, from picking us up from the airport to dropping us off at Maasai Mara. As we missed a day of our safari tour , Henry managed to squeeze us in for a morning game drive which was not part of our itinerary.

Even though we were a day late , we felt that we made the most of it despite our circumstances,all thanks to our tour operator. We communicated with Henry a lot before our trip as it was our first safari , he reassured us and sent us a detailed plan of what we were going to do for our tour. If we needed help, he was there to answer all our questions. The service was excellent and highly recommend this tour company if you want to book a safari. If you are unsure about how many days and dates , please look through their other tours they will happily accommodate a day more or a day less.

We had amazing experience with our safari tour . It was our first time and we would definitely go again with the same tour company.

David   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Sep 22, 2023

Email David  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Perfection: A magical experience far exceeding our expectations!
5/5

Service, price, quality, responsiveness, and personal attention doesn't get any better!! The team at Awuor Escapades is highly professional and experienced...don't let their small size or "year founded" worry you. Many of the bigger agencies consider you just another number, but these guys truly care about your experience and know what they're doing. Just put your trust in their hands and relax.

Our family did a 7-day mid-range safari, beginning in Nairobi, and then traveling to the Maasai Mara, Lake Nakuru, Lake Naivasha, and then Amboseli before returning to Nairobi. There were 5 of us (me, my wife, and our three grown children), and while we had initially asked for a shared tour in order to cut down on cost, they upgraded ours to a private tour at no additional cost because we would be fully occupying a single vehicle any way. That, combined with the fact that their initial quote was less than what was advertised online--and their very prompt and personalized replies--put them ahead of all competitors and reassured me that they weren't just prioritizing profits. They care and will work with you. Even after we were in contract, I would fire off a 15-question email before bed, and the full response would be there for me in the morning.

They had arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport, where we arrived very late. The next morning, the representative from the firm with whom we had been coordinating everything (Henry Sam) showed up personally to meet us at the hotel and ensure everything was in order. They had tailored a Nairobi package to our timeline since we had an extra day there at the beginning (Elephant Orphanage, Giraffe Center, Memorial Park, and a Maasai Market stop), and fully briefed our driver, resulting in a well-executed first day. The next morning we began our safari in earnest that would take us first to the Maasai Mara, and Henry showed up again, as did the company founder Charles Awuor himself. It felt nice to know that we were worth their time. They introduced us to the guide/driver who would be with us for the remainder of our tour (a different Charles), and he had over 20-years experience as a guide! We felt in very capable hands.

Every stop along the way was truly magical. We absolutely loved the mix of accommodations that collectively made it a mid-range: from tent camps (I mean, they're tents, but there are beds inside, and full bathroom!), to cozy cottages, to luxurious Sopa resorts (literally zebras walking past our luxury room's front door!). Everything was arranged according to our requests when we arrived at each (a room with 3 beds for our kids, and a separate room for us). We saw every animal that we hoped to see, and all up close (and some can be elusive, so much much credit to our guide Charles!) And we took care to be supportive of the local economies (something Awuor Escapades values...as opposed to extracting everything to Nairobi). The weather was perfect every day. We rode in a van with a pop-up roof, which I initially thought might be limiting, but it was a full-time 4WD, with tough tires, and we went to literally every single place those land cruisers went (to the meter)...only more comfortably.

We were equally well-taken care of on the way out, with our driver filling our time before our flight and driving us to the airport. I don't think I would've changed anything, because each place offered something unique. However, what I didn't realize at first was that you can totally customize any element of the tour when you are working out your quote at the beginning. I just assumed that the parks and accommodations listed were set as advertised, but if we wanted to stay at a different place for some reason at a certain park, or if we wanted to scratch one location and add another day to a different location, they can totally do that for you. The Awuor Escapades team is well connected and knows all the locations. Might be cost implications (up or down), but they'll work with you. And don't be afraid to ask for advice. They will give expert recommendations, and you can rest easy that they're not trying to take advantage of you.

This was a fantastic, unforgettable, truly magical experience that our whole family will cherish for a lifetime. If we ever return for another visit (there's ALWAYS more to see), we would be pleased to work with Awuor Escapades again!

Kenneth   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Sep 12, 2023

Email Kenneth  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Exellent
5/5

For the 5 day trip we had in Kenya covering Masai Mara,Lake Nakuru and Lake Naivasa,Henry Sam and Charles Awuor ensured that all our expectations were met as we requested and we had a lifetime wildlife experience, thanks for their prompt responses ,flexibility and kindness .

Awuor escapades is the best operator

Nikita   –  
Bahrain BH
Visited: July 2023 Reviewed: Aug 6, 2023

Email Nikita  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Awuor Escapades and Henry put in the maximum effort to ensure you have the best possible trip.
5/5

While browsing this website, I was quite unsure about booking with an agency that had only 5 reviews (as I am sure many of you are). Well, let me put your worries to rest and confirm that if you book with Awuor Escapades, you will have a good time.

I had a 7 day mid range Niarobi - Masai Mara - Nakuru - Naivasha - Hell's Gate - Amboseli trip where I travelled alone and joined a group of other people to save money. This review focuses on this particular experience.

From what I learnt during the trip is that these group tours involve a lot of planning and logistics as every person inside your Van can potentially have a different itinerary and managing these logistics is where the agency comes into play. I had 3 different groups over the course of my journey and Henry managed to coordinate all the switches without me having to worry whether my tour would be disrupted.

Initially, I have received 3 quotations from different tour operators but it was Henry's proactiveness and dedication that made me choose Awuor Escapades. He instantly messaged me on whatsapp and was ready to answer every question. Moreover, when some of my accommodations were overbooked, he was helpful with arranging upgrades to prevent the trip from being disrupted and I greatly enjoyed every single place that I stayed in. Additionally, when my hot air balloon ride was overbooked, Henry managed to secure a spot for me within a matter of hours as this was a highly important experience that I did not want to miss. Finally, when booking your Safari, you will have an option of a Land Cruiser or a Minibus. While the Land Cruiser is obviously good, I would like to mention that the minibus is not bad at all as it's completely 4 wheel equipped and results in less motion sickness because it drives slower and doesn't bounce as much as the Land Cruiser. Naturally, it also has a pop up roof and when you see the animals, nothing else in the world is going to matter.

Overall, I would like to say a big thank you to Awuor Escapades and Henry in particular. He has managed my trip through the ups and downs, and even when I was having certain problems, he tried his best to resolve them as soon as possible which showed his flexibility, problem solving skills and dedication to his clients.

P.S. If you have the option of choosing a driver, I would recommend a man named Stanley.

King   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: April 2023 Reviewed: Apr 13, 2023

Email King  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

EXCELLENT SERVICES
5/5

Our tour guide John was super! We saw all the animals we anticipated for and many more in our 3 day Maasai Mara tour, accommodation was wonderful and all the meals were great, we had a great time. We appreciate the tour planner Sam for his quality and kind service. We recommend Awuor Escapades to friends and any one looking forward to have a tour in Kenya.

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 15
  • 4 star 0
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Awuor Escapades, not SafariBookings