Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 198
  • 4 star 12
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 212 Reviews
Maren and Niklas   –  
Germany DE
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 14, 2024

Email Maren and Niklas  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Unforgettable experience and adventure
5/5

We had a really great time and safari trip with Wild Planet Safari. The whole trip was perfectly organized and we always felt safe and welcomed. Our guide Ryan had a huge knowledge of all animals that we saw at Kruger National Park. We also spent our eventings together while having a barbecue at the camp. The price of the tour is really fair and worth every cent of it. Bookings are highly recommended.

Chris & Donna Parkinson   –  
New Zealand NZ
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: Jun 8, 2024

Email Chris & Donna Parkinson  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very professional but laid back.
5/5

Thale handled our booking and replied promptly to all our questions and provided a clear itinerary for our private tour. Ryan picked us up from Hoedspruit Airport and we were straight into wild animal spotting as we drove to our first camp, Skukuza. Bungalow here was all we could want. Ryan then turned into a bbq chef and cooked a lovely dinner which we ate under the stars. Next day we did a slow animal spotting drive to the center of the park to spend two nights at Satara camp, the bungalow here was even better with a great bbq and outside dining area. Before sun rise he had us waiting at the camp gate to open, serving hot coffee as we waited. We spent the day zig zagging around the park spotting every imaginable wildlife, Lions, Zebras, Hyena, Giraffes, Wilder beast, elephant Hippos, Leopard with baby, crocodile and many birds to name just a few. What amazed us was Ryan would always spot the animals before we did and he was driving. I think if we had been driving we would have missed many of the animals. On the last day he drove us back to Hoedspruit where we caught a minibus to Johannesburg. This tour was without doubt the highlight of our holiday which had started with a cruise from Singapore to Capetown.

Ale   –  
Germany DE
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: Jun 5, 2024

Email Ale  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing safari with very professional staff!
5/5

My girlfriend and I took a 6 day safari and absolutely loved it. They were very patient with us asking a ton of questions during the booking process and once there, everything was perfectly planned.
We saw lot of animals, and our guide Chris was very knowledgable and had an eagle eye to spot animals. He made sure to find activities were friendly, and the safari itself was just amazing.
Chris and Hope were taking care of setting up the camp and cooking/grilling delicious South African food for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
For the last morning, we did the Panorama Route what was also a truly highlight of the trip.

We would definitely book again with Wild Planet Safari.

Tom Bailey   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: Jun 1, 2024

Email Tom Bailey  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Life changing
5/5

Wow! This holiday was life changing amazing. Would recommend this type of holiday to anyone, and above all, using Wild Planet Safari. First of all, from placing the reservation, they were incredible. I sent so many emails to Thale, and she responded very quickly and efficiently to all of them. Extremely helpful in everything we asked. Then the trip itself. We had Chris as the driver and guide, and Hope as the chef and support. Both were incredible. Chris clearly has so much experience, and thanks to him, we saw all the big 5, and so many more animals. His knowledge and vision was exceptional. Such a lovely character and person too. Hope, what a chef. We ate like kings, and this was varied from minute 1, through to the end. These guys were what made this holiday so special. We loved them looking after us for the 5 days, and couldn’t have asked for more. Thank you so much guys!!!

Sandy   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: May 31, 2024

Email Sandy  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Breathtaking
5/5

We enjoyed being on a private tour very much. We saw a wide variety of animals including lions up close! The camps we stayed at were clean and comfortable. The stores at the camps had a nice variety and were reasonably priced. Our guide Chris was fantastic he found a wide variety of wildlife. Hopson(hope I spelled his name correctly) did a fabulous job of cooking our meals. Over all the experience was pleasant and highly recommend doing the private tour allowing you to go at your pace!

Katie W.   –  
United States US
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 29, 2024

Email Katie W.  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Seamless safari experience with excellent wildlife viewing
5/5

Our group of four had a fantastic three-day trip with Wild Planet Safaris. Thale was incredibly helpful during the planning process and walked me through different options for how to best use our time in Kruger. She and Chris, our guide, also rolled with some last-minute communication and logistical changes regarding our pickup times and locations. Once we were on the road, Chris and Hopeson, our cook, took care of every detail. They checked us in and out of accommodations at rest camps (all very comfortable), cooked delicious meals, walked through plans for the next day each night at dinner, and set up a night drive and bush walk with KNP rangers. Chris took us on multiple game drives each day, and we had amazing sightings, including a leopard, lions, tons of elephants, giraffes, hippos, baby hyena, and many more. Chris is great at spotting even the smallest and hardest to see animals, like a puff adder on the side of the road. Having been on some earlier game drives (through a different company) with a slightly larger group, it was a lot of fun to travel around with just our small group. We really enjoyed Chris and Hopeson's company throughout the trip - thanks for making it an unforgettable one!

Christine   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 6, 2024

Email Christine  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Best Safari Guide and Trip
5/5

We just finished eight EPIC days with Wild Planet Safari. Every day was an incredible experience due to:

1. Superior planning of the company (great rest camp locations within Kruger park with access to exceptional wild life viewing). They were easy to work with to develop an customized itinerary.

2. Exceptional guide. Chris has eagle eyes to point out the smallest of chamelions, bee-eaters or king fishers ... as well as wildlife incredibly camoflauged (leopards and cheetahs). We sweat he whispers to the animals to bring them in so close they almost kissed the vehicle.

3. Outstanding logistics. Hob the cook ensured we had more deliscious food then was needed, including breakfasts on the road so we did not need to return to the rest camp at the end of each morning wildlife drive.

We highly recommend this company for lovely intimate safari experience. Far exceeded all of our expectations.

Fred   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 31, 2024

Email Fred  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Life Changing Experience Due to Tour Guide Chris
5/5

My partner and I enjoyed the 4 day safari in Kruger with Chris and Hopesol of Wild Planet Safari. Here are some takeaways:

1. We tented at two different campgrounds. For both Hopesol set up our tents and cots, sleeping bags and fan. The campgrounds had a fence around the exterior but we still were able to see jackals and honey badgers at night. They just added to the experience - no concerns.

2. Each day, Hopesol cooked different meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner over a fire. Delicious. Included were an English Breakfast, pancakes, fruit salads, steaks, sausage (including ostrich), lamb, chicken roast - basically more than you can eat and still be so satisfied. Hopesol was so friendly and really wanted to know how our tour was going and how to improve it. It's hard to express how much we enjoyed the four of us talking about the day and other life events while enjoying those meals at dusk.

3. Chris drove the open air jeep for several guided tours each day, morning, afternoon and early evening. Everything that any review has said about Chris being a superior guide, friendly, welcoming and funny merely approach the truth. He made our trip what I consider the best vacation/experience of my life. My partner really wanted to see as many birds as possible and Chris would stop and point them out as we crossed paths. In the end we were able to count 78 new birds! Amazing. He recommended getting an Animals of Kruger Park picture book of what we might see and it helped us keep track of what we encountered as well as looking for others to scout. In the end, Chris takes such pride in what he does and he told us he is meant to work in the bush - we could not have had a better guide.

4. Value for the money? You could not have a better experience on safari - we were able to be on our own with just Chris and Hopesol, without a group that would require us to be distracted by others needs, wants, ways. We also went on a night trip led by a Kruger ranger, on which about 20 people crowded onto a jeep. While we were able to see some nocturnal animals like huge owls, a civet, some honey badgers and also lions just lying on the road in front of us, the crowd of people was almost painful after being with just Chris on a guided tour. We also went on a a guided walk of eight in Kruger with two armed rangers; that was fun to experience the animals and so extensive land from a ground perspective. We did see zebra and wildebeests moving up close.

5. Just Go. Experience the vastness of Kruger. You will be so happy you did this. We still say, "I wish we were on safari right now."

Thanks, Wild Planet Safari. Thanks, Hopesol. Thanks, Chris. Chris, you have found something to do that makes others so happy. Not many people can say that.

Teresa Schmit   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Mar 12, 2024

Email Teresa Schmit  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

An amazing experience!
5/5

Thale was great staying in touch and coordinating all aspects of our tour. We thought we knew what to expect but the entire trip exceeded our expectations.
The transfers from/to Johannesburg worked great and gave us an opportunity to see a bit more of South Africa.
Upon arriving at Hazy View Eric quickly greeted us and we were off to explore. Quickly realizing we were not on a drive through zoo experience of just pointing out different animals. Eric would stop and allow us to observe the animal’s behavior. The buffalo herd moving across the riverbed, giraffes continually coming from the trees, hyena crunching bones while chasing off the young, lions waking as sun was rising, elephant bathing at the end of the day, rhinoceros quietly grazing, leopard relaxing in the tree, warthogs scurrying through the grass, moments forever etched in our memory. Seeing the Big 5 twice in a day was so much more than we could have ever asked for but seeing so many different species was extraordinary!
Eric is a remarkable guide, so knowledgeable about the wildlife, Park and culture but also a fantastic chef. The meals were plentiful and delicious, a great way to relax and recall all the magical moments of the day.
Staying in the rest camps was a huge bonus! It was extremely comfortable and clean all while staying in the surroundings during the entire safari.
After the excitement of the safari, the final day we enjoyed the panoramic route through Blyde River Canyon. The beautiful scenery was a relaxing way to wind down and see more of the beautiful country of South Africa.
We were a bit concerned about going in February, reading that it would be more difficult to see the animals as the grass is longer and the animals did not necessarily need to go to the watering holes. This was not an issue at all. The wildlife was plentiful, the weather was gorgeous, and the views were amazing.

Xevi   –  
Andorra AD
Visited: October 2023 Reviewed: Feb 22, 2024

Email Xevi

MARAVELLOUS
5/5

Everything goes fine from the beginning. Thale helped us in all the organisation, helping to decide the route and planing everything. Once we arrived Eric was the most amazing guide that I could imagine. Eric was a passionate bird lover, a very good driver, an amazing chef, an incredible storyteller in a summary the best guide we could imagine.
I recommend without and doubt the safari we did.
Wildplanet pick up us on the Tempo Airport in the early morning arriving to the Hoedspruit at mid-day entering the krugger park the same afternoon having our first game drive on the way to Satara rest camp, here we see many animals including one Leopard. We stay 2 nights in the satara rest camp. The only experince that we will not repeat is the nigh game. After the 2 nights we went to skukuza rest time for 1 night more.

I recommend the safari and I will repeat in the future.
Thanks to Thale and Eric

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 198
  • 4 star 12
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Wild Planet Safari, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Wild Planet Safari are subject to their terms & conditions