User Reviews – Zambezi Region (Caprivi Strip)

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 15 Reviews
pjrinkel   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: October 2009 Reviewed: Aug 27, 2011

Email pjrinkel  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

There are some good spots to see animals, but there are better parks.

Betty v.Hoenning   –  
Italy IT
Visited: February 2009 Reviewed: Sep 4, 2011

Email Betty v.Hoenning  |  50-65 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

Poor area, but very interesting.Great wildlife experience.

Jofie Lamprecht   –  
Namibia NA
Visited: May 2011 Reviewed: Sep 7, 2011

Email Jofie Lamprecht  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

There is excellent wildlife viewing in the Caprivi, from Mhango in the west, all the way to access to the Chobe National Park in the east - there is plenty of parks, wildlife and amazing to budget accommodation to choose from.

bianca   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: November 2011 Reviewed: Nov 22, 2011

Email bianca  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

The Caprivi is very different from the rest of Namibia. It's marshes and great rivers full of hippos and crocodiles are surrounded by lush vegetation, which is home to a huge variety of birds too.

gsskimsing   –  
Australia AU
Visited: August 2009 Reviewed: Nov 27, 2011

Email gsskimsing  |  50-65 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

From what our guide told us, a lot of the wildlife had been hunted down during the Namibian War of Independence in the 70's and 80's. We saw far fewer wildlife than the other parks I visited. However, speaking to another tourist who had done a flyover above the Caprivi, she described it as a paradise with big herds of animals scattered over the bush.

camillaflaatten79 Visited: December 2010 Reviewed: Nov 29, 2011

Overall rating
5/5

Just an amazing view over a large river - exotic!

Mike Wanliss   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: December 2006 Reviewed: Jan 30, 2012

Email Mike Wanliss  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

The Zambezi Region has some good fishing and birding spots

Steve Visited: February 2007 Reviewed: Feb 11, 2012

Unparalleled beauty and excitement
Overall rating
5/5

My trip to the Zambezi Region was during my first visit to Africa and my first safari. The history and geography of the strip make it such an interesting and diverse place. Having a great guide helped a lot and I would definitely take another trip to the area!

~lustedtowander~   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2010 Reviewed: Feb 13, 2012

Email ~lustedtowander~  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

This area is usually witnessed as a drive-through experience, as the road through the Zambezi Region splits it in half. But it is worth an extended layover, as one can have an old fashioned river safari experience. No crowds here!

davisww Visited: January 2005 Reviewed: Apr 13, 2012

Overall rating
4/5

There is a lot of highway (beware of elephants on the road) to travel before you reach Katima Mulilo but camping next to the beautiful river is worth it.

Average User Rating

  • 4.3/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 7
  • 4 star 6
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review