User Reviews – Buffalo Springs NR

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 14 Reviews
Lee Cooper   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Sep 10, 2019

Email Lee Cooper  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Variety of landscapes

Linda   –  
China CN
Visited: June 2019 Reviewed: Jun 28, 2019

Email Linda  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

birds and other animals productive

Ankit Desai   –  
India IN
Visited: September 2015 Reviewed: Mar 25, 2019

Email Ankit Desai  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

Best place to see leopards and Dick-Dick! Birdlife is a abundant and variety of herbivores is excellent.

TR   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2018 Reviewed: Aug 11, 2018

Email TR  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

Many shorter roads where you could get close to game. Smaller park with much game.

Tobie Faith Gordon   –  
United States US
Visited: May 2018 Reviewed: Jun 8, 2018

Email Tobie Faith Gordon  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

Saw a secretary bird! And close up with Giraffe. But not too much else

Christopher J May   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2016 Reviewed: Apr 4, 2016

Email Christopher J May  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

Buffalo Springs was a day trip for me. While I didn't have as much time here as at some of the other locations I stayed at, it was still very enjoyable. Our group got closer to elephants in Buffalo Springs than in any of the other locations we visited and this offered the opportunity for some very dramatic images. Scenes along the river were also quite beautiful and different from others we had encountered anywhere else.

Ellinor Johansson   –  
Sweden SE
Visited: April 2015 Reviewed: Jul 1, 2015

Overall rating
5/5

I would highly recommend going to Buffalo Springs National Reserve! There were so many breathtaking moments during our long weekend there that it exceeded my expectations. Most notably, there were so many elephants in the park that at one point our car was in the middle of a very large herd (more than 100 elephants) walking past. It will be one of my best memories from all the national parks!
At another point, we came around a corner and saw a small family of elephants right next to the car. There were several baby elephants and one of them pretended to attack (it was playing, the mother remained calm - making noises, running towards the car with ears out). It was the cutest! We stayed with the family for some time and saw the baby elephants feeding, trying to throw dirt on themselves like the mothers etc.
The roads are not as good as in some other National Parks (ex Amboseli where you have proper flat roads) but I only appreciated that because it made it feel more natural. Even though we had a 4WD, there were some parts of the park where we could not drive and needed to turn back. In either case, I would recommend paying to go on a game drive. We did both (i.e. self-drive and game drive) and not only were we able to go to parts of the park that we could not go on our own, the experience was much better with a game drive as the driver was able to find spots and animals that we could not have found on our own.
Buffalo Springs actually does have a spring (not just a name) where you can go swimming. We brought towels from the hotel one evening and went for a swim - it was a nice experience and rather warm water. Even though I didn't try it, I would recommend going to the spring towards the evening since I assume that several game drives go past the spring during the day. When we were there we had it all for ourselves, could not even see a car around.
Several of the lodges are located along the river (recommended) which means that animals usually come very close to the lodge. Where we were staying, we could sit on our balcony and see several elephants walk past just a few meters away.

ninara Visited: December 2014 Reviewed: Apr 24, 2015

Overall rating
3/5

We had only a short look when we visited Samburu National Park.

Tom Vohya Visited: April 2014 Reviewed: Apr 25, 2014

Overall rating
5/5

You only pay one park entry fee for Buffalo Springs, Shaba and Samburu National Reserves, although they are separate parks. It's $70 for non-residents, Ksh1,200 for residents and Ksh500 for citizens
We drove around for 2 hours in the afternoon and saw 3 lions (1 about 10m away from us!) and a cheetah, as well as many giraffes

gazthelob   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2008 Reviewed: May 15, 2012

35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Just a fantastic time
Overall rating
5/5

We travelled to Kenya in 2008 and Buffalo Springs was the highlight ( along with the Mara) of the holiday. Wildlife sightings are superb in particular the Elephants.

Average User Rating

  • 4.6/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 10
  • 4 star 2
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review