​User Reviews – Mgahinga Gorilla NP

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 13 Reviews
Berth Simpson   –  
Sweden SE
Visited: January 2022 Reviewed: Aug 9, 2022

Email Berth Simpson  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

the mountain was so nice and the gorillas

Barbara Osmundson   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2019 Reviewed: Aug 13, 2019

Email Barbara Osmundson  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

The gorillas were certainly the highlight of our trip! The jungle scenery was breathtaking.

Nils   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: November 2018 Reviewed: Dec 25, 2018

Email Nils

Overall rating
5/5

We didn't visit the gorillas here but the Golden Monkeys. Although we were in the middle of a group of 40 to 60 animals it was quite difficult to get a good shot because these monkeys were very active and jumped and jumped around all the time. Nevertheless a very great experience!

Jasmine Oh   –  
Singapore SG
Visited: August 2018 Reviewed: Sep 18, 2018

Email Jasmine Oh  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

The weather is nice but the road need to be repaired. The 'free' massage up to our accommodation tired everyone out.

Ross   –  
Canada CA
Visited: August 2014 Reviewed: Jun 10, 2015

Email Ross  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

A great choice for independent travelers as park permits are much easier to obtain than Bwindi and saves you having to buy at a premium from a tour operator. Fewer tourists, a rugged camping spot, and several excellent (but challenging) hikes make Mgahinga a great choice for those looking to go slightly further afield.

RedCany0n Visited: September 2013 Reviewed: May 14, 2015

Overall rating
4/5

The golden monkeys were delightful, and the guides seemed to respect them and be very conservation minded.

Daniel and Janique   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: September 2014 Reviewed: May 6, 2015

Email Daniel and Janique  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Excellent, because of our meeting with the gorilla's and our stay in Lake Mutanda!

Kent MacElwee Visited: January 2014 Reviewed: Apr 21, 2015

Overall rating
5/5

Amazing hike, through volcano terrain, to try and locate the very rare Golden Monkeys. We found them, in amidst the bamboo forest.. really amazing..! Also, a must see, for fans or rare primates, volcano hikes, beautiful terrain.

TheFillip1976   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: July 2009 Reviewed: Aug 21, 2012

Email TheFillip1976  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

vulcano scenery. gorilla's not any more here. but hiking through maintains, or gally is good. Bamboo forrest, endemic wild life- plants.

roel   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: September 2008 Reviewed: Jan 3, 2012

Email roel  |  20-35 years of age

The smallest NP of Uganda, but great experience!
Overall rating
5/5

We stayed 2 days in nearby town Kisoro, before camping 3 days right outside the entrance to Mgahinga NP. Mgahinga is very small, but it stole my heart. We went tracking for Gorilla's, and without much fuss found a family of 3 juvenile males, 1 female with a 3 weeks old baby gorilla. Meeting these gentle giants was a once-in-a-lifetime experience! Though tracking was not cheap, I'd certainly recommend it in a small NP as Mgahinga. It has the advantage of less tourists, and a good chance of finding the gorilla's. The rangers were very nice, correct, informative.
In Mgahinga we also climbed the Sabinyo Vulcano (3647m) which has it's summit in three countries: Uganda, Rwanda and DRCongo. It was a steep climb (aprox. 5h) through eery alieneske vegetation, climbing ladders for the steepest parts and enjoying really breathtaking views. The descent was rather quick and enjoyable (aprox. 3h).

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 11
  • 4 star 2
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review