​User Reviews – Queen Elizabeth NP

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 100 Reviews
Sahara varny   –  
Ethiopia ET
Visited: November 2018 Reviewed: Feb 21, 2022

Email Sahara varny  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Bale Mountains Brilliant Tours
Overall rating
5/5

Abdisa was our trek leader when me and three friends went for a 4 day trek through Bale. It was my first time in Ethiopia and he made us feel welcome and was really helpful in getting us what we needed, preparing for our trek, pacing us in a comfortable way, and was full of useful information about the plants and animals we were exploring. His horsemen were also really helpful and kind in preparing our campsites and sharing with us traditional Ethiopian food. I highly recommend taking this trek.

Contact Abdisa here,
Phone

Shawn   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: December 2020 Reviewed: Oct 12, 2021

Email Shawn  |  under20 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Kobs in huge numbers and lions in Trees

Daniel Salgueiro   –  
Portugal PT
Visited: April 2021 Reviewed: Apr 4, 2021

Email Daniel Salgueiro  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing Experience
Overall rating
5/5

My expections were pretty high, since I have always heard amazing things about QENP. And I must say I was not disappointed.

The day started in the best possible way: Reaching the main road of the park, we spotted a Hyena. As we were moving towards the park entrance, we also spotted elephants and crocodiles near Katunguru bridge.

But when we reached Kasenyi plains... Thatºs when the magic started.
Large herds of Ugandan Kob and buffalos were easily spotted. Waterbucks are also common in this area. Warthogs and hippos are abundant in QENP.
I was expecting to see a larger variety of herbivores, but it seems the park is a bit limited when it comes to that - no giraffes, zebras, etc.
The main gold for the morning was not achived, tho: Tracking lions and leopards.

Then we moved to Mweya so we could have lunch. The dense vegetation didn't allow us to see more than a few waterbucks and some baboons, but when we reached Mweya Lodge - which is indeed a lovely place - we could see the elephants on the other side of the lake. Warthogs are also around.

As we decided that Ishasha should be postponed (it was about to rain and our guide called another guide to check the situation in that sector - no lions were spotted in the morning), we came to the conclusion that we should go back to Kasenyi plains to track the big cats.

We drove for almost an hour when we finally spotted them: A lioness, with four cubs. After driving around, we were lucky enough to spot a few more lions.
But the best was yet to come. The leopard. We spotted her on top of a tree, with a warthog in her mouth. She climbed down, and we stood near her for more than one hour and a half. We watched her drinking water, cleaning herself, resting, anyway, a true lifetime experience.

All in all, I must say it was one of the best days in my life. I truly recommend this experience and this park to anyone.

Zsolt Banyai   –  
Hungary HU
Visited: February 2021 Reviewed: Feb 22, 2021

Email Zsolt Banyai  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Kyambura Gorge is amazing!
Overall rating
4/5

If you assess the park purely on the game drives, then it was very disappointing. There are only a few species that we saw: elephants, hippos, warthogs, buffalos, waterbucks and Ugandan kobs. However there are some activities which are excellent, making this a worthwhile destination:
1. Lion and leopard tracking with big cat research scientists. Thanks to the tracking collars we located 2 beautiful male lions, then 3 females and finally a female leopard. Going off road (since we had a ranger with us) made it even more fun!
2. Boat trip on Kazinga Channel is a wonderful way of seeing hippos, elephants and buffalos, plus water birds. Loved it.
3. Finally, the Kyambura Gorge. This place alone is worth the visit to this park. Rainforest in the middle of the savanna. The most beautiful forest I have ever been to. If you are lucky, you might find chimpanzees as well (I did not), but even without them the place is extraordinarily beautiful. You can see monkeys, birds, and the river is full of hippos.
Please keep in mind that there are about 40,000 people living in the park, and about 80,000 around the borders, so sometimes it does not feel like that you are in a national park.

Sean   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: December 2020 Reviewed: Jan 10, 2021

Email Sean  |  under20 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Amazing classic safari lions are common as well as leopards
Overall rating
5/5

Amazing............. it was so good myaya is a must see place

Aidan   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2018 Reviewed: Sep 14, 2020

Email Aidan  |  under20 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

it was amazing

Davyth   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Mar 8, 2020

Email Davyth  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

classic safari destination with good variety of animals

Janice   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Feb 25, 2020

Email Janice  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Fantastic both for close up of wildlife and birdwatching

Richard   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: January 2019 Reviewed: Feb 19, 2020

Email Richard  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

The boat safari as well as a jeep safari enabled me to see so many birds and lots of other animals. Absolutely brilliant place and super guides too.

Daudi   –  
Uganda UG
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Jan 30, 2020

Email Daudi  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

Spotted hippos, elephants, lions, buffalo etc

Average User Rating

  • 4.2/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 44
  • 4 star 42
  • 3 star 10
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 2
Write a User Review